• Nastiness

Nastiness! - NSWMA boss laments lack of respect for litter law
    Lack of civic pride irks Gordon-Webley
    BY PATRICK FOSTER Observer writer fosterp@jamaicaobserver.com

NATIONAL Solid Waste Management Authority (NSWMA) Executive Director Joan Gordon-Webley yesterday knocked what she suggested was a widespread lack of civic pride in the country which was creating severe problems for her department in its effort to collect solid waste and maintain cleanliness across the island.

"There is a total lack of respect for the country's litter law," Gordon-Webley told journalists at the weekly Observer Monday Exchange meeting held at the newspaper's Beechwood Avenue headquarters.
    Joan Gordon-Webley, executive director of the National Solid Waste Management Authority, displays photos of garbage strewn along roads in the island as she laments the lack of civic pride among Jamaicans. She was addressing Observer reporters and editors at the newspaper’s weekly Monday Exchange yesterday. (Photo: Naphtali Junior)

#slideshowtoggler, #slideshowtoggler a, #slideshowtoggler img {filter:none !important;zoom:normal !important}
    1/1

"We are having severe problems and it has to do with the way the public is disposing of solid waste," Gordon-Webley said, adding that things would not improve until everyone took responsibility for what they were doing.
    "This a cry for help to every single woman, man, and child in Jamaica. We are using far too much money to clean the solid waste because of our practices," she emphasised.
    The NSWMA head complained that householders, as well as owners of business establishments, were equally guilty of inappropriate disposal of garbage, placing a burden on solid waste collectors and operational costs.
    "We have to have men moving around in gloves picking up these things," she commented.
    According to Gordon-Webley, over the last two weeks, for instance, the NSWMA collected garbage from the soft shoulder of the main road from Negril in Westmoreland to Falmouth in Trelawny, enough to fill 9,000 bags.
    "We are in a serious problem when it comes to solid waste," she declared. "A lot of this has to do with persons who drive and throw garbage through the window of the vehicles.
    "We have people who are just packing up vehicles with solid waste and they drive along the road and throw them out of the vehicles," Gordon-Webley complained.
    Displaying photos of garbage strewn along the roadways, Gordon-Webley said that was what the NSWMA had to contend with daily.
    "This is what we are encountering on the sidewalks of Jamaica," she said.
    Urinating in public spaces has also posed problems for the agency, which has the task of cleaning up after the act.
    "Let us think of the health situation," Gordon-Webley cautioned. "We have to speak to our menfolk who continue to stand in full view of everybody [urinating] on the sidewalk.
    "Here is this gentleman, penis in hand, on the side of the road... it is disgusting. We cannot continue like that," she said.
    "We have a scenario where we are washing the streets of Falmouth, we are disinfecting them and as soon as we wash and disinfect, the men come and urinate on the walls," she added.
    Gordon-Webley explained that NSWMA workers washed the town's streets in the wee hours of the morning but by afternoon it is again reeking with the stench of urine.
    "When that sun hits it, it is just something else," she declared.
    In addition, Gordon-Webley charged that despite the existence of sanitary facilities at the Mandela Park in Half-Way-Tree, St Andrew, people are repeatedly defecating on the grounds of the park at nights.
    "I cringe when I see what is happening," said an obviously annoyed Gordon-Webley.
    She told the Observer Monday Exchange that the fine for such acts is a maximum $2,000, but said that the Courts rarely charged perpetrators that amount.
    According to Gordon-Webley, fines normally ranged from $300 to $400.
    "When these people come to the court... these people should be charged the maximum," Gordon-Webley contended. "I am sending out a plea to the magistrates."
    She also issued a warning that the NSWMA plans to deal with litterbugs. "As of now, we are going to prosecute left, right, and centre," she said.
    "So far this year we have issued over 700 tickets. If you think 700 was a lot, you haven't seen anything yet," Gordon-Webley added.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz1LKsvHb39

Talk it Joan! We are a nasty people!

I'm disappointed..

With that title I thought this was addressing certain recent posts

Rbzsc fi learn an start fine dem...LOL

Sorry Karl couldn't resist

Wrong Mosiah! We have BECOME a nasty people! It was never like that!
        Unnu want civic pride when man skull a bore everyday? Gyal pickney a get rape? Baby same ting? People a starve?? No wuk, no food. Civic pride??? LOL. Whoeee.

The ghetto-zation of the country where wrong is right and anything gwaan. People too damn nasty and dem lack pride.

I stand corrected.

And good points! The least of our problems is our civic pride.