Jamaica Loves Roads.. Schools not So Much

Those bad schools are not all over Portland. Yes we have problems with school so who is saying not to fix them?

We can fix them all but that don't mean we shouldn't maintain our roads, I think you are beem myopic as you accuse others of been. Should we fix Education and not the roads?

Advise that you re-read my posts...this time with more attention so you have a better chance of understanding my position. Your questions to me reflect a fundamental misunderstanding. I stated that bad roads should be repaired but an election related crash program to the tune of US$400m in new debt was sub optimal decision making with scarce funds.

I assume you know the state of roads in that Parish..... do you know the state of education?

What is the literacy rate in Portland...do you know? What's the numeracy rate?

What is the computer literacy situation? What is the level of access of students to computers? What if anything do they do with these machines?

How many Portlanders have tertiary education? What are the tertiary options in the parish? Is it Passley Gardens....or whatever that college is called now? Is that it?

How many workers in Portland have professional certification?

With the level of education in Portland can that parish produce anything trade-able other than low level service jobs in tourism (where profits are exported abroad) ...and bananas or coconuts?

Would you like to see Portland move up the economic value chain? How and when can that occur?
      If you would like to see that move...you wouldn't stop bawling for a HUGE investment in education...instead you're easily sidetracked by election related handouts and gimmickry

Then again...so are most Jamaicans... which helps to explain why we continue it the shiit pit
      Last edited by Don1; May 4, 2011, 02:02 PM.

Sass, you see how many times bus drivers and taxi men strike to protest the condition of the roadways. And they always do it when the students are sitting their External exams, thus depriving them of getting to do it.

The 14 people of the Rio Grande area who lost their lives (because of the deplorable condition of the roadway) wished they had GOOD ROADS, to help them along as they made their living, toiling as FARMERS, so we could eat!

I give up... unnu stuck inna pothole an cyaan si ova it

It takes Cash to Care...

Manley and PJ closed that door...

Highway is self sustaining ??!!

lol !! woiee !

Which Highway dat ?

Yuh is a real comedian wid yuh PNP gymnastics.. stap try defend di indefensible..

suh nuh dat dem ah try duh.. fix all di potholes ?

I think Assasin's roads were fixed many more times than they needed to have been. Other entities may have been sacrificed.

You make every sense in the world on this matter!

Something tells me they will remain farmers, so we can eat, and continue with a very difficult life for a very long time.

Actually not.. one has nothing to do with the other.

The JDIP program is long needed and neccessary.. not sure why he is bringing it up in the context of Education ? Different Ministry dat..

stop ask for the impossible.

This is the fact. When I went to High school I had to travel 20 odd miles to either Titchifeld or St.Mary's high. Now within 5 miles in either direction there is Annotto Bay and Buff Bay(which is one the best new high schools).

I don't know how much school is needed in Portland but what I know is Buff Bay is 40 miles from Kingston and if you have proper roadway it could take less than one hour to travel to Kingston where most of the Colleges are. Currently as it I know from my area we may have one of the highest college grad rate in Jamaica. I am certain that rate is higher than the US town I currently live in.

Now in Portland the major bridge Rio Grande bridge washed away a few years ago cutting of Port Antonio. The Bridge was build in 1891 and is a one lane bridge. Rafting on the Rio Grande which one of the big attraction became almost impossible because of the road. Reach Falls also was not very reachable. Non Such cave and other attractions have closed for the same reason. Trucks can no longer go to get people goods, instead they have to use donkey or carry it on their heads.

I know that West Portland all the primary schools have access to technology and labs. You choose not to hear because it is Vaz constituency, but just recently my brethren ask a principal what he could donate, he was thinking in line of computer and she took him to the computer lab and he was very impressed. Not to say there are not problems in Education and we should address it but if we have better roads it will also help us to be more productive.

Also not everything wrong with education is monetarily, we could throw the money at education and still end up been dunce. What happen to the 15 billion transformation program that we had??? What did it achieve?
                          I

what roads are those?

up to last year you were the one complaining about road and mashing up your vechile.

I remember years ago if you were willing to pay a bit more tax for education, do you?

trsut mi, you won't get it.

LOL! Diffrant ministry?? ...said govament...said taxpayer