Jamaica Loves Roads.. Schools not So Much

• Jamaica Loves Roads.. Schools not So Much

.... Education cyaan nyam... But fixing roads can win elections and help tribalists eat a food

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...ead/lead9.html

.... Education cyaan nyam... But fixing roads can win elections and help tribalists eat a food

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...ead/lead9.html
    So what about the safety of the road users? When unuh drive pon the road from Browns Town to Alexandria then unuh can talk.

Safety?? Your thinking is myopic.

With excellent education Jamaica's safety, security and prosperity will be assured.

Nothing wrong with fixing roads, of course that must be done.... except if it's via a US$400m re-election slush fund financed by debt.

It's so easy for politicians to countenance this massive debt for roads...but SO HARD to convince them over the past 50 years to find money for a proper system of education... to the point of a Min of Education having to beg for alms

Jamaica has screwed up priorities...none more stark and stupid than our disregard for proper education for ALL....

We demand fine roads for nice vehicles we don't make, burning fuel we can't afford.... but nuhbaddy demand fine schools for all pickney

Jamaica has one of the highest road densities in the world... along with one of the highest densities of ignorance and illiteracy in the region

.. Yuh look like yuh buy into dat Matrix

Safety?? Your thinking is myopic.

With excellent education Jamaica's safety, security and prosperity will be assured.

Nothing wrong with fixing roads, of course that must be done.... except if it's via a US$400m re-election slush fund financed by debt.

It's so easy for politicians to countenance this massive debt for roads...but SO HARD to convince them over the past 50 years to find money for a proper system of education... to the point of a Min of Education having to beg for alms

Jamaica has screwed up priorities...none more stark and stupid than our disregard for proper education for ALL....

We demand fine roads for nice vehicles we don't make, burning fuel we can't afford.... but nuhbaddy demand fine schools for all pickney

Jamaica has one of the highest road densities in the world... along with one of the highest densities of ignorance and illiteracy in the region

.. Yuh look like yuh buy into dat Matrix
        Come off it Don1. Y'all always use education to prop up a weak argument. When MAnley killed the lottery in the 70s what was your reaction? Time unuh learn fi walk and chew gum same time. PPL bitch and complain how the road bad, then bitch and complain when it must be fixed.

True the roads will only benefit those that are making huge profits in the service industry (not to mention not paying for the municipalities).

The sad part is that because of our poor education system; we have to seek expertise from abroad to construct the system of highways. I'm sure cuba doesn't have such a problem (and they are practicing communists).

Lottery??

Is this a joke?

Guess not... you're just at sea on the issue

Happy sailing

Lottery??

Is this a joke?

Guess not... you're just at sea on the issue

Happy sailing
              Oh ... ppl either playing dumb or don't know ... and since you act like you know it all .... then.

Suh wait, the people seeking an education, nuh have to use the roads to go to school etc.

Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
                  Suh wait, the people seeking an education, nuh have to use the roads to go to school etc.

Apparently not! Dem can tek shortcut!

thanks for the compliment

Another joke... right? please say yes

Wait.. yuh nuh like Highway again ?

lol ! Woiee !

The highway at least was capital construction opening virgin territory for development...not patching roads on a vast crash program

AND

The highway is self sustaining with cost recovery via tolling... the patched roads will no doubt need more patching in 2 years to be funded by more debt

Fundamentally different constructs with the crash patch program being waaaay suboptimal...repairs are necessary but should be scaled back imho...but elections are near and govts are suboptimal including this set

...Even so if the choice was between the nice highway and 100 modern schools with well trained & well paid teachers...that's a no-brainer for me

Education mi seh... ALL previous regimes have failed on this issue
                          Last edited by Don1; May 4, 2011, 10:10 AM.

so when the people of Portland inna Rio Grande get cut off and can't attend school maybe we can buy them WIFI. Often times you hear of how the bad road affect the productivity and farmers.

You also hear how the new highways will bring growth. How much productive time you loose when it takes one and a half hours to travel 4 Miles from Forth George St. Mary to Annotto Bay?

a guess you don't know bad roads.

I know bad schools though... they're all over Portland and other parishes.

The calamitous national consequences of the bad or non-existent schools are far more severe than bad roads...but get far less attention

Most Jamaicans are so myopic that they don't see the obvious... unnu cyan say inna dat deh club...mi nah jine dat