Ahhhh,

Ever hear about self interest?

Which party does more for the Caribbean? This was pointed out to me by a Manley man! Intellectually we may like the Dems more, but dem do more damage to us. The Reps shell out more to us cause dem know we nuh like dem!
    Sarry...mi nuh buy dat deh bag ah goods.... mi nuh know who tell yuh dat but dem myopic bad bout Republican duh nutten fi Caribbean. Dat is both a craven and misguided opinion ... in my opinion

The JLP/Republican alliance was indeed about self interest....but that was back in the 1970s when the (Republican) Nixon/Ford then the (Democrat) Carter administrations were allied with the JLP in fighting Cuba.... using the CIA and their destabilization of the Cuba-friendly Manley govt...eventually installing the JLP in 1980 on a platform of terrorist violence and economic sabotage....

As to Republicans "doing more" for the Caribbean...that is a mirage

Yes Reagan lined up Seaga and others in the CBI ...but again Reagan's interest was only to limit Cuban influence... as soon as dat likkle Cold War matter dun ...the so called "doing more" via the CBI evaporated...effectively lasting less than a decade... what took over from that was the so called "Washington Consensus" where dem demand seh wi haffi open markets to dem products and dem nah buy none ah fiwi more dan suh.

When the Republican Bushes came into power...what did they deliver to the Caribbean? ...just disrespect by ignoring the region or demanding more market access. Drop Drawers Clinton was di said ting... ignore wi same way

Suh yuh useful to Babylon ongly as far as dem calculate dem owna benefits... wen dem benefit dun dem drap yuh fasta dan Clinton drap im BVDs.... wedda dem is Republican ar Democrat...ah suh di ting set fi iva

However I love the irony of JLP supporters constantly condemning and complaining about the Republican party and their leaders... when their own favoured tribe is so publicly & privately aligned with it... with nary a whisper about that from said supporters... a delicious irony..
    Last edited by Don1; April 28, 2011, 07:56 AM.

Suh yuh useful to Babylon ongly as far as dem calculate dem owna benefits... wen dem benefit dun dem drap yuh fasta dan Clinton drap im BVDs.... wedda dem is Republican ar Democrat...ah suh di ting set fi iva
      Maybe one day we will really understand that and we will be so much better for it.... I would also add it no matter if the superpower is England, USA or China in the future.

"Whats In It For Me"... thats all that matters ultimately. Strangers bearing gifts in the form of aid, stadiums or anything else is just a smoke screen.

Dats Y U haffi smarter dan dem and stay light pon U toe so U can dance.

Who yuh a call craven, is one deggeh deggeh chicken leg mi tek outta di Kentucky bucket!!! MDYADWL

Yep.

LOL

Maybe one day we will really understand that and we will be so much better for it.... I would also add it no matter if the superpower is England, USA or China in the future.

"Whats In It For Me"... thats all that matters ultimately. Strangers bearing gifts in the form of aid, stadiums or anything else is just a smoke screen.
                true dat..

China wussa... if/wen dem deh pon tap... all bets are off as to wha dem wudda duh

Wait.. di CIA install di JLP..

All dis time mi did tink one election did run !

Nothing more lame than 30 year old propaganda... di household 'training' did strang !

After Seaga play hardball with Rockerfeller and Roillins, dat deh alliance call off. The 2 Rs wanted fi cherry pick everything fi demselves. Den Seaga go declare himself Social Democrat and profess State Capitalism.

There has not been a shred of alliance evidence in decades. Indeed, it was Portia using Dubya as reference in the last election.

Mi done tell yuh long time seh is Daddy Bush invite Mikal at US expense to come to Washington and chat after the 1980 election defeat. Is big time PNP (Manley) people tell mi dem things yah, so yuh can stay deh.

Clinton sweet mout everyone, but what did he deliver for us? The only time we see him is recently when he come to deliver chat and collect a bag of money as appearance fee! Hell, Hilary did more just by stopping by on her Haitian jaunt. Go read Micheal Moore's book and see how bad Bill was for Black People in America, despite the rhetoric.

So as mi seh, we likely to get more from the Reps who KNOW wi nuh like dem and them extremism, but the question is can we hold our noses while we accept the cash? And BTW, the REPs of today are orders of magnitude more comical than yesteryear. Palin and Tea Party are the lunatics tekking over the asylum and the DEM are themselves completly disfunctional. America in a mess.

Objectively, I think Obama has made some colossal blunders as president which will lead to him being a one-term president unless the Republicans put forward a totally incompetent or clownish candidate like Trump. However, for the "right" nominee (a sensible and moderately right of center white man) Trump will end up solidifying the hard right of the party, including the racist elements (and in my opinion, the "birther" issue is a racial issue) without tarnishing the main candidate. That done, the main dude can focus on the three things that will be tough for Obama to get out from under:

1) government debt and the deficit 2) the economy - gas prices will be a factor and 3) Obamacare.

Personally, I am very disappointed in Obama. He was elected at a time when his motivational capabilities could have given the country the confidence to pull out of the recession faster, however, he focused on healthcare which most people saw (and still see) as secondary to job creation. The sad truth is that this has not been a jobless recovery, it's just that the jobs are now offshore.

I do some independent consulting work for a $30M tech company with 290 employees, 90 of which are in India. In 2007 they were at 230 people; they laid off 80 in 2008-2009 and since rehired 50 people in the US including contractors but also since Jan 2010 have opened up an office in India with close to 100 people. Despite almost 25% growth in their headcount, their payroll is less than it was in 2007. That's not Obama's fault, but that is the situation we now face.

As far as I can tell, there have been no initiatives or programs providing incentives to small businesses to keep jobs on shore which is where he needs them if he is to be re-elected. To put this in perspective, the DOW is today close to 12,800 which is only about 1200-1600 points off the crash of 2008. There is a recovery, but no American jobs have come with it and unfortunately, he will take the blame for that, just like he would have taken the credit had it gone the other way.

Still, there is no other party better at shooting themselves in the foot than the Republicans, and as been pointed out, Obama ain't no eediat, so we will see. Still too early to say.

I agree with some of what you say but your figures are misleading.

The Dow dipped below 7000 in early 2009, so that is quite a recovery overall, in fact pushing close to a 80% rise in the index. Also, the US job reports have shown that jobs have been created in the last 12 months or so. Not enough by a long shot but it has been going in the right direction.

Obamas problem is that the US simply has been living above thier means for far too long and the bill is now due. The US standard of living has to be adjusted to compensate for this.

Nonethless I think he has about a 50-50 chance of getting re-elected. I totally agree that gas prices and the govt debt are the big problems he faces, but I don't think Obamacare is as big a deal one way or the other.It has not been popular but its not a disaster either, split down party lines more or less.

There is a reason you don't see Republican candidates banging down the door to get into the race. They know it won't be easy to beat the Obama political machine, especially since they will have to spend a lot just to win the Republican nomination first.

I'm probably the only person who is more impressed with Obama the president than Obama the candidate. He has been dealt a VERY difficult hand and still is in with a fighting chance. There are some things that have disapointed me but I thought he was over-selling what he could accomplish as a candidate anyway so my expectations were not as high as many of his supporters.

trump had to go to military school because he was an even WORSE student. what he is hinting at here is that obama was an affirmative action beneficiary ... which, if true, PROVES that given a chance.......smaddy finish the sentence ...

Nuh Fordham Trump guh...after that a Wharton MBA.

The one who SHOULD have been challenged was Dubya. How the hell that dumbo guh Yale and then Harvard MBA. Talk bout nepotism!

You are on point about those 3 being on top of everyone's mind...but the shall all prove winners for Obama.

Jobs - ...those offshore jobs will never return unless COL retreats to the point where salaries...costs associated with salaries decrease to match those in the Indias and like countries.

It means production costs have to decrease - We need to be even more efficient...and that emphasis on new jobs streams/new industries the President stresses is not joke...is right on the money.

There has also got to be greater penetration on deliver of services in overseas markets.

Even more money has to be ploughed into revitalizing the infrastructure.

Obamacre is loved by the vast majority of Americans. Every poll suggests that as fact. Where people have a concern is how efficient will be the implementation.

...btw - We should also not over look that one result of full implementation
                              of Obamacare is growth in jobs in the health services and other allied businesses. As more and more people make use of the services offered = increased numbers of patients, we shall see corresponding growth in demand for the practitioners, technicians, service providers and manufacturers. There will also be the corresponding increase in demand for increased supply of raw materials and thus increased demand for
                              those suppliers allied service providers.

--- The Republicans call for smaller government has all those who work for the various governments - city, county, state and federal, their immediate and extended families and acquaintances and those whose businesses
                              depend on the government as appreciable (2% and above)
                              purchaser of their goods and services. No hard evidence/no stats...but I am thinking that combined number runs somewhere in the region of 90+% of the people(?).

Fact is I do not know anyone who does not in someway depend on government services - jobs, purchaser, service provider - where there would not be appreciable hurt if the government is squeezed as the Republicans are suggesting.

I think the more the Tea Party and the Republicans scream about shrinking government and putting additional direct strain on the individual and families the more improved Obama's chances are.

Sorry Willi have to agree with Don 1. It is for all countries - me first, me second, me third to infinity.

Those of us who believe any other sovereign country does anything to help another without there being self-interest is living in denial.

...it could be for them even good PR. If there is no gain dwag nyam di nedda wan suppa!