All in less dan 4 years ?!

Guh look up the definition of Global Recession.. di last one dat even come close was probably before yuh puppa born..

Ah whoofa fault di PNP Vampiyah dem nuh leave nutting fi a rainy day.. scratch dat Tsunami.. except a Mountain of debt dem rack up during di times of Global Economic Boom !!

I understand your sympathies but don't get profound...
    Last edited by Muadib; April 15, 2011, 06:55 PM.

did the latin american economy grow last year?(i know its region)

and arnt we apart of that region

this recession excuse is not a good one anymore

AND u always go round the question dem mi ask

WHY MUADID why

answer dem

what upswing?

d people dem pan d ground nah feel it, yuh nuh see 21 percet adem deh pan d poverty list

n dis recession excuse nah hold wata anymore, find a new one

mi always hear unuh a praise obama duh like him dont blame who did deh before unuh

a unuh work fi run d country(by winning d election) knowing d state it was in suh dont complain now just fix it

yuh can read.. yuh unnastan wheh yuh Friend Omar position di country before di Recession lick ?

Look like yuh lick yuh head... gwaan mek Don1 tun yuh innah eediat...

parents neva mind d interest rate dem get pan dem BONDs inna d 90s doh

but seriously, yuh not suppose to blame what happen before

and u said sumthings wah gwaan inna d country like

upswing if I laaf

WHAT UPSWING?

also dem increase income tax to 45% n mek mi fada dem affi find ways roun it

but seriously tek off yuh green shades d people dem pan d ground level nah feel r see waht u a see

unuh d JLP people loose touch wid d common man(mi not necessarily one but)

but as a leader u fi serve all are atleast be aware of them feelings(how u think PJ win 4 elections)

cuz people dem in d streets see d JLP as sum rich man party(granting waivers to butch stewart big sun neva help unuh)

wah mi a say unuh need fi link wid d base(u see wah happen with the gas thing d odda day)

u might be supprise mi n my family a die hard laborite from d 30s

mi just luv play wid enuh

but look pan it not from a narrow but broad perspective

Complain ?

lol !

Yuh ask a question and yuh get an ansah.. juss because yuh nuh like di facts ah nuh my fault !

The reason the country has been slower to recover from the Global Recession is because yuh party nevah leave di country in a shape to recover from a cold much less.. is yeoman efforts from Drivah and Team why di place nuh mash up completely.. now.. the appropriate response from the likes of you is "Thank You"

Now stap di yapping !

no tell me bout this so called "up swing in jamaica"

tell me nuh

bwoy u really livin in a dream bout "brown man time now"

and "how things are so much better"

tell that to as mi see infinite time already d 21% of people on d poverty list

tell them

The real question is...whee would we all be now if the PNP won the last election.

Think hard and deep on that one!

Sure, this JLP Govt aint the bees knees, but the overall management is far better. The ongly problem is that we need even more than what they have to offer. We need a quantum leap in the quality of leadership we have readily available in Jakan politics.

The real question is...whee would we all be now if the PNP won the last election.

Think hard and deep on that one!

Sure, this JLP Govt aint the bees knees, but the overall management is far better. The ongly problem is that we need even more than what they have to offer. We need a quantum leap in the quality of leadership we have readily available in Jakan politics.

STOP THE CROP

bout "where would be now if the PNP won d last"

mi nuh psychic suh mi cyaa know dat

mi ask sum question n mek sum argument

answer dem

including, what upswing is now taking place in jamaica despite have 15 quarters of economic decline n 21% people now in poverty

n stop giving that tired recession excuse cuz that cant be it all cuz other country are recovering

and by the way how u come to that conclusion bout "better quality of leadership"

wah mek u say so

wen mi ask unuh question u and Mr M always a bring up sum odda stuff instead of answering the QUESTIONs DIRECTLY

why

Freefall ah still happen in most of Europe. Spain on the Brink now.

Germany ah look fi pull outta di Euro and the US dollar gone to pot. Man a talk bout junking it as the world's reserve currency.
                        true dat... but our neighbours have mostly recovered...no?

Not saying that the JLP is doing a bad job... as they were left wid a basket to carry wata in di recession but... let's put the performance in perspective...good & bad

what neighbours recovered?

Most of the caribbean islands are bawling. Only Trinidad who didn't have a deep recession really growing. Tourism down in almost all of the islands.

Originally posted by Skeng D View Post

stop giving that tired recession excuse cuz that cant be it all cuz other country are recovering
                            Most other countries had a stronger underlying economy, stronger fiscal situation and more tools at their disposal to counter the impact of the global recession. So Jamaica is naturally going to be behind most other countries.

you can look for yourself.

Without IDB, and IMF, no bauxite, remittance, and no civil service freeze and the dollar still devaluating where would we be?

With Air Jamaica and sugar inna the mix can you imagine???

Perhaps you should base your opinions on facts

what neighbours recovered?

Most of the caribbean islands are bawling. Only Trinidad who didn't have a deep recession really growing. Tourism down in almost all of the islands.
                                NEWS

World Bank: Caribbean, Latin America weathered recession well

CMC
                                Friday, April 15, 2011

WASHINGTON DC, USA (CMC) — The World Bank says Latin America and the Caribbean region "decisively outperformed" many others during the recent recession with a decline in growth smaller than that of the middle-income country average and with a rebound that was "swifter and stronger".
                                In a new report, entitled Latin America and the Caribbean's Success Put to the Test, the Washington-based financial institution said that the region's growth of about six per cent last year exceeded the growth rate of Eastern Europe and Central Asia and the rate of high-income countries by more than three percentage points.
                                It said several South American countries have registered a "remarkably vigorous recovery," with growth rates that exceeded 7.5 percent last year.
                                In contrast, the bank said economic activity in many countries in Central America and the Caribbean, particularly the English-speaking nations of the Caribbean, expanded at rates in the one to three per cent range.
                                It, however, said that negative growth rates were registered for very few countries in the region, notably Jamaica (-0.1 per cent), Venezuela (-1.4 per cent), and Haiti (-8.5 per cent).
                                As a whole, the World Bank forecast the region's Gross Domestic Product (GDP) to be in the four to five per cent range in 2011, a rate similar to that expected of the East Asian Tigers.
                                It said inflation rates this year are also expected to remain below two digits at around 6 to 7 per cent.
                                The report, prepared for the World Bank and International Monetary Fund (IMF) meeting later this year, also explored in greater detail the nature of the recovery in regional countries in contrast with past performance and that of other middle-income countries.
                                It said top among those differences are a strong public and private consumption, noting that aggregate domestic demand has outpaced GDP in the post-crisis, just as net exports have been declining.
                                But the bank warned that the region's "vigorous and exemplary" recovery does not necessarily mean smooth sailing ahead, stating that external and internal risks "loom large, and those countries recovering more robustly face conflicting policy challenges."
                                Externally, it said the region's prospects are dependent on the pace of recovery in advanced economies and the surge in commodity prices.
                                The bank said the recent natural and nuclear disaster in Japan and the implications from the political turmoil in the Middle East and North Africa "portend less favorable economic conditions".
                                "Internally, faced with the combined challenges of inflation, local currency appreciation, and the prospects of economic overheating, central bankers struggle to find the right balance to keep, for instance, interest rates high enough to check inflation but not too high to attract speculative foreign capital," it said.
                                Augusto de la Torre, the World Bank's chief economist for Latin America and the Caribbean, said "these complexities raise the premium on skillful policy.
                                "Contrary to popular perception, the quality of macro-financial policy is being more subtly and perhaps more severely tested in the midst of the current buoyant juncture," he said.
                                De la Torre said the current policy mix seems to be "unduly burdening monetary policy, with insufficient help from the fiscal side".
                                Particularly in countries experiencing a major commodity windfall, he said stepping up fiscal savings, without endangering social programmes, will be "essential to rebuild the buffers that helped the region successfully manage the crisis".
                                The report said that achieving the right balance of policies is essential, although not sufficient, to improving long-term growth prospects.
                                "For countries in the region, such prospects remain elusive and, in fact, would be unthinkable had the region not achieved the macroeconomic stability that now seems a given, as well as important in-roads against second-to-none inequality," it said.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz1JiBz4u87