• Jamaica response to Bdos

Ministry of Foreign Affairs & Foreign Trade
    Press Release
    Public Relations and Media Affairs Unit
    21 Dominica Drive, Kingston 5, Jamaica W. I.
    Tel: (876)926-4220; Fax: (876)926-7390; e-mail: informja@cwjamaica.com

STATEMENT ISSUED BY THE HONOURABLE DR. KENNETH BAUGH
    DEPUTY PRIME MINISTER & MINISTER OF FOREIGN AFFAIRS AND FOREIGN TRADE
    on the
    SHANIQUE MYRIE CASE

(MFA&FT, Kingston: April 6, 2011)
    On March 23, 2011, Ms Shanique Myrie lodged a formal complaint with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade, in which she reported abusive and degrading treatment meted out to her at the hands of Border Services Officers at the Grantley Adams International Airport, on 14 March, 2011. My statement to Parliament on 29 March, 2011, conveyed the outrage which all Jamaicans felt about the alleged abuse and the firm intention of the Government of Jamaica that a comprehensive investigation be undertaken.
    To this end, a Jamaican Delegation comprised of High Commissioner Sharon Saunders (based in Port of Spain); the CEO of the Passport, Citizenship and Immigration Agency; Crown Counsel in the Attorney General’s Chambers (with expertise in human rights law) and the Deputy Superintendent of Police in the Organized Crimes Unit of the Jamaica Constabulary Force (JCF), was dispatched to Barbados on 30 March to carry out preliminary investigations. On arrival, High Commissioner Saunders, who headed Jamaica’s delegation, met with a Barbadian delegation, led by Senator the Honourable Maxine McClean, Minister of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade, including a Minister of State and a Parliamentary Secretary, both from the Office of the Prime Minister.
    At that meeting, the Barbadian delegation re-affirmed the information contained in the Press Release issued by the Barbados Government Information Service (BGIS) on March 26, that Miss Myrie’s allegations were unfounded. The High Commissioner was advised that the Barbadian Prime Minister had met all officers who were involved in the case and he was satisfied that the matter was addressed thoroughly and conclusively.
    High Commissioner Saunders referred to a statement made to the Barbadian media by the Parliamentary Secretary in the Office of the Prime Minister, with responsibility for Immigration, linking Ms. Myrie to human trafficking occurring between Jamaica and Barbados. He had claimed that the Authorities were aware of this trafficking. The Barbadian Foreign Minister did not agree that the statement was meant to imply human trafficking in the internationally-accepted definition of the term. Notwithstanding, this erroneous statement to the media must be withdrawn.
    The Barbadian delegation stressed that there was no discrimination or prejudice against Jamaicans, but the laws of the land would always be observed. They emphasised that anecdotal reports do not constitute evidence of abuse, discrimination or prejudice.
    However, subsequent meetings between the full Jamaican delegation and high officials of the Barbadian delegation, a tour of the detention facilities at the Grantley Adams International Airport and a well-attended meeting with the Jamaican community in Barbados, led the delegation to the unanimous conclusion that there are widespread perceptions of negative attitudes towards Jamaicans and that Miss Myrie’s report was deserving of the fullest investigation.
    The delegation made a full report to the Honourable Prime Minister Bruce Golding and myself on 4 April, 2011. We accept its conclusion. Furthermore, the Government of Jamaica considers the Press Release of the BGIS, issued on 26 March, to be an unacceptable response to the formal communication from Jamaica. The Government of Jamaica will be vigorously pursuing this matter. Indeed, details of the delegation’s report were shared with Miss Myrie’s Attorneys-at-Law, to assist them in determining how best to proceed on her behalf, as the alleged degrading cavity search was illegal.
    Clearly, due process can only be served when Miss Myrie is afforded the opportunity to identify the persons who interrogated her.
    The Minister of Foreign Affairs of Barbados has already indicated that she would welcome a visit from Miss Myrie to Barbados, for the purpose of pursuing further investigations.
    Consultations are ongoing on the course of action which should be pursued. Above all, it must be clearly understood that the Government of Jamaica takes very seriously its responsibility to protect and defend the rights of its citizens. Miss Myrie’s case will be pursued on its own merit and so will other cases which have been reported to my Ministry.
    Bilaterally and regionally, Jamaica and CARICOM partners must frankly confront any unacceptable intra-regional attitude and action which undermine the very fabric of Community. It is not an overstatement to say that the entire CARICOM project could be injured by a refusal to deal with these matters with the frankness and honesty worthy of a Community where mutual trust and respect are essential to the achievement of the objectives of the region.
    ###
    Ann-Margaret Lim
    564-4241
    936-0950
    April 6,

Barbados Does Not Really Need Us

Whether we care to admit it or not, we (Jamaicans) need Barbados more than Barbadians need us! If every Jamaican should stop going there, the gap would immediately – instantaneously – filled by Guyanese (in particular) and other Caribbean nationals!

Already Barbados has a serious influx problem with Guyanese of every strata who are desperate to improve their standard of living. This, certainly, is no excuse for treating Jamaicans as poorly as has been happening for many years (or Guyanese for that matter, who have been treated much worse in Barbados than Jamaicans have been).

Our Jamaican leaders have failed to provide a healthy economic environment for the citizenry, and added to this is the emergence on to the world stage of a culture (dancehall and its various interpretations, ganja culture, etc.) which is seen as problematic and threatening. The coarsening of attitudes and practices by too many Jamaicans have merely driven another nail in the blasted coffin.

For what does Jamaica need Barbados pray tell?

The fact is that Caricom needs Jamaica's consumer market... Jamaica has very little to lose by de-coupling itself from the Caribbean... TT included

Even going it alone in cricket might yield better results
      Last edited by Don1; April 14, 2011, 01:11 PM.

until the guyanese situation spilss over like it di in this case and then whither?

unlike you, i think that if barbados is forward looking it will see that it could pose a problem down the line. it is interesting, when if an incident like this was committed in jamaica or even the case involving the british actress would it be brushed off so lightly?

barbados might think they do not need us NOW but that might not always be the case.

Easy Question

Maybe we need to ask that question of the many Jamaicans who continue to reside in Barbados, and St Lucia, and elsewhere despite the cold treatment in many cases

It is not coincidental that remittances account for a significant portion of Jamaica’s annual earnings.

Gamma, my point was....

barbados might think they do not need us NOW but that might not always be the case.
            Gamma, I am not saying you are incorrect. My point was simply that the role that Jamaicans play in Barbados can – and would – be filled by Guyanese and other regional people. So, in that case, Barbados does not really need Jamaicans as there are many others from other places who could easily fill the various slots available in that comparatively well-off country.

I Agree Partially

The fact is that Caricom needs Jamaica's consumer market... Jamaica has very little to lose by de-coupling itself from the Caribbean... TT included

Even going it alone in cricket might yield better results
              Interestingly, I have always suggested in discussions elsewhere, and in past posts on this forum, that Jamaica should seriously consider withdrawing from CARICOM. It is therefore not surprising that I agree with you that we should probably withdraw from WI cricket.

I also agree that Jamaica’s market is vital (although not every CARICOM member state produces for export. The Bahamas, for example, does not have an export industry but, rather, relies on offshore banking and tourism to keep its economy going).

The crucial point you are missing is Jamaica’s unemployment situation and the vital role that migration has played, for decades, in providing needed cash and goods (remittances) as well as acting as a vital safety valve against imploding social unrest.

and my point is they will eventually begin to treat those people that way too...they currently do that with guyanese .... i know that because for years i have seen and heard of this.

i see it in the BVI too where "down island people" are looked down at. as long as you come to their country to work that issue will be there. if it is not jamaicans it is someone else. trust me on that!

You are not too familiar with the remittance market I see. Jamaica receives over US$2B in remittances... if Jamaica receives .01% of that from the countries you mention I would be shocked.

Additionally this is NOT a zero sum game...de-coupling from the Caribbean doesn't mean cutting relations...it means de-emphasizing them... and people who choose to remit money from those countries will still do so..

For an example of de-coupling withdrawing from certain elements of the Caricom arrangements that don't suit Jamaica right now could be considered... just as the Bahamas has chosen to do with the so called "common economic space"... dem nuh inna dat but dem still inna "Caricom".... Jamaica could and should analyse the cost/benefit equation of that...instead of blindly following a historically prescribed path

The market Jamaica could take advantage of through special arrangements with the US & Canada...is the US$90B or so Jamaican- American and Jamaica-Canadian market.... that's 3 times the size of Caricom where we sell very little
                  Last edited by Don1; April 14, 2011, 01:33 PM.

I don't miss that point of migration and don't advocate that people don't go to those countries

The point is that as an entity Caricom is FAR more dependent on Jamaica (as the largest consumer market) for viability ..than Jamaica is dependent on Caricom... notwithstanding the relatively moderate amount of Jamaican people who find a living there

just as england does with the EU

touche...dem ave dem owna currency & central bank etc

Unfortunately I've never seen any government or institution in Jamaica do any serious analysis of Caricom and in fact how Jamaica should generally orient its economy in terms of trading relationships going forward... which is one reason there so much ignorance written about the subject...perhaps including what I write..LOL

Pretty pathetic

Barbados do need us more than we need them even if its just to get access to our market.

U acting like Jamaicans ongle go deh to look fi menial jobs.

One of the problem smaller countries like Bdos have wid the free movement of workers in the caricom agreement is that larger countries like Ja will send more academically qulaified people after some of the jobs that nationals would usually fill without any competition.

Can u please name me a Bajan multinational company? Or any organization that seriously consider investing in Barbados.

Barbados still have a very immature trade market as they still peg their currency to the US dollar and other currencies, just like China.

If Barbados was to compete on the open market and allow their currency to float like the Jamaican dollar, their economy would collapse the next day. The low demand for their currency on the international market would adversely affect their dollar, which would cause rapid depreciation.
                          As Jamaicans we know what are the consequences of that.

We also have more tertiary educated people than all the islands combined.
                          I personally know of Jamaican professionals who were hired in Bdos, from Ja because of their expertise.

The barbaric treatment of Caricom nationals is a sign of their immature enforcement policies on all front.

Dem too insecure when dem si yardies...Yardies rule everytime

Any whe we go we run tings.
                          Six days I work for my children, on the seventh day they work for me.
                          Mitty

You wre doing well until the last two sentences. Just my opinion.

Historian boss, yuh really nuh want mi inna dis arguement....."ganja culture", the same one being legalised in america and taught in some academic institutions?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.