• One Liad lauds Vaz: He who doesn't take NO for an answer

.... not even from school pickney

Every Gov't Needs A Vaz, Says PM
    Published: Wednesday | April 13, 2011

Prime Minister Bruce Golding has reiterated his backing of his outspoken and often controversial minister with responsibility for information and technology, Daryl Vaz.

According to Golding, Vaz is the type of Cabinet minister needed in every government.

"Every government, no matter how powerful or how humble that country may be, needs a Daryl Vaz," Golding said at a recent fund-raiser for the West Portland member of parliament.

"I am fortunate that my Government has one ... . I have never had to remind him to do anything. He is somebody you don't have to put any fire behind. You don't have to hurry him up.

"He's a go-getter, and there are so many problems I have simply passed on to him and he has dealt with them," Golding told the gathering.

"He offends people sometimes because he's so determined to get things done, but that is what leadership is all about," Golding declared in reference to Vaz's brash style which has landed him in hot water several times.

Golding argued that the leadership of the Government rests not only with him as the prime minister, but with the people who work with him and "who provide strong leadership in the areas they have been assigned".

In his response at the US$500 per person fund-raiser, Vaz expressed his commitment to the continued upliftment of West Portland.

He said the money raised would go towards improving the living conditions of his constituents.

I am not talking about his past or character but we need more MPs who are working as hard as Vaz for their constituencies.

DITTO. AMEN. What he has achieved in West Portland, none of the East Portland MP's have collectively made any effort or strides!

You speak about what you wish...so do I

If Jamaica had MPs who were productive, people like Vaz and Desmond wouldn't be able to get into office. Unfortunately we just have a bunch of folks who like to drink rum togther.

One would expect mothers to be particularly supportive of this type of high achiever

Bravo if you're in that category

Bobby Montique also do very well. He took primarily a PNP constituency base on his service to the area and have done a lot in that area.

He may not be a great guy but he works.

mi nah stop you. Why you think mi a try take away your free speech?

Has Bruce not yet packed his bags and left?

What nonsense!:
                  "He offends people sometimes because he's so determined to get things done, but that is what leadership is all about," Golding declared in reference to Vaz's brash style which has landed him in hot water several times.

Good job, Sass!

By the way, can you tell what is happening with the new bus terminus downtown? Thanks in advance!

Good job, Sass!

By the way, can you tell what is happening with the new bus terminus downtown? Thanks in advance!
                      Why don't you get in the Escalade and go see first hand what is happening downtown What, yuh want a body guard to go there, call yuh fren Daryl

Great. That being the case in response to my post u don't need to say what you do or do not want to talk about.... it's irrelevant

Has Bruce not yet packed his bags and left?

What nonsense!:
                          I guess standing firm is also what leadership is about

This is happening in front of the eyes of so many learned people (and nothing is said). I always touted on this board that in Ja; the clothes, euipment, buildings (some) may look 20th and 21st century but the system and mentality is four hundred years back in time.

Isn't the above a classic case of feudalism? Why is it that the state can't allocate resources for its people? Yet taxpayers money should bail out here there and everywhere. The wealthy Laords and Barons that can raise enough money via their connections will keep their Fiefdom.

I keep preaching that most if not all Jakans should walk around with a dictionary but noooooooooo, ye mock and throw insults. I walk with mine (to look up words and understand its meaning and power).

Don't badmind di Baron dem and dem fiefdom!