• Willi this one is for you..

News

Spanish Town excited about train service

2011-04-12 17:28:47 | (4 Comments)

Workmen paint one of the trains. photos by Norman Grindley/Chief Photographer
    Rasbert Turner, Gleaner Writer

It was an exciting time for a number of persons, who witnessed the Jamaica [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]Railway[/COLOR][/COLOR] Corporation's first set of coaches rolling into Spanish Town this afternoon.

"I never believe sey I woulda live to see passenger train come back a Spanish Town. I can remember when mi used to [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]travel[/COLOR][/COLOR] pon it," Millicent Campbell, 65, a St. Catherine resident said.

Campbell was one of many who turned out to view the train's coach, which was parked at the refurbished Spanish Town station.

"I have never driven on a train. Therefore, it will be of some historical benefit to me, " Michelle Raymond, 17, said.

Meanwhile, Barry Bonitto, chairman of the Jamaica Railway said, the train would assist with the movement of passengers from Spanish Town to Linstead.

"We intend to start operations from Spanish Town to Linstead within a month. We are going to have a test run from May Pen to Linstead on Saturday, with the Transport Minister and others," Bonitto said.

He noted, a total of 68 passengers can be seated in each of the six coaches.

According to Bonitto, 40 individuals will gain direct employment as brakesmen, ticketing agents and engineers, when the train restarts, " Bonitto reasoned.

Many people said they were looking forward to see how the train will improve [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]travelling[/COLOR][/COLOR] for the public.

Meanwhile, a number of taxi operators on the Linstead to Spanish Town route, have expressed concern about the new development.

The [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]train [COLOR=blue !important]services[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR] started in Jamaica in 1845, and underwent several changes before coming to a halt in 1992.

This is right on so many levels.

Website Please?

Does anyone know the website of the train service? Does the train from May Pen to Linstead stop in Portmore?

Seems the train would get more riders if the route were extended north to Ocho Rios.

The trad. passenger rail service of the JRC (Jamaica Railway Corporation) went from Kgn to Mobay via the South Coast. There was another line that ran to Port Antonio, but i think that was via St Catherine (Bog Walk?).

Portmore is between Span Town and Kingston (which is barred from happening by the Highway 2000). The 2 Portmore stops are Grange Lane (actually still Spanish Town/ close to Bernard Lodge) and Gregory Park.

The trad. passenger rail service of the JRC (Jamaica Railway Corporation) went from Kgn to Mobay via the South Coast. There was another line that ran to Port Antonio, but i think that was via St Catherine (Bog Walk?).

Portmore is between Span Town and Kingston (which is barred from happening by the Highway 2000). The 2 Portmore stops are Grange Lane (actually still Spanish Town/ close to Bernard Lodge) and Gregory Park.

Yep - the Port Antonio line went via Bog Walk, up into the hills of St. Mary - Highgate; Annotto Bay etc. I loved that ride

Let's see if it turns out to be more than a nice publicity stunt...or at worse a black green & gold elephant

Rail is cheaper if run regularly. Asphalt repair is prohibitive.

It's cheaper IF people use it

I'm willing to predict that people will not use it in the numbers required to make it viable.... if it continues it will be massively subsidized imho...and accrue big actual losses

The govt may absorb the subsidy in order to claim a Pyhrric PR victory however

Just my opinion

worst

Then they need to be incentivated!

a euphemism for subsidized....money talks... BS rides on trains

The rail service use to be great...back in the day...there was a service especially for Clarendon College students called the 'Kalamazoo" (or something like that) between May and Chapelton and possibly further up in Gamma Country....my sister used to take it.
                        My first experience was on the'diesel' from May Pen to Suttons (upper Clarendon) with my Uncle who then made me walk about 5 miles (I was about 6 or 7) much to my mothers chagrin. There was also a train which used to transport farmers produce form upper Clarendon (when we had Agriculture) and also Bananas from Balaclava and those places.
                        I use to take the 'diesel' (usually two coaches) fr May Pen to Spanish Town for school - in 20 minutes....minubus back then was about 35-40 minutes with the crazy drivers with 30 to a van. It was an experience seeing different views of the country...most pleasant...seeing the mist rise from the sugarcane fields in the Inswood area...seeing crocs dive for cover when passing over small bridges....
                        Also took the train to KIN...as a youth...and the JOS (called Chi-chi back then because the sound of the airbrakes I guess) had a Terminus right there in the Train station....yes I reminisce....it was an experience...to see people of all walks...train preachers...conductors...framers. market vendors...the train was slower an many stops...hard wooden seats..and wooden panels...I really enjoyed those experiences.

Exile!

And breath fresh crisp air . My diesel experience was the KIN to Portie line on a Sunday!

Tax di taxi!

lol... but dem wi juss raise fares...peeple aggo vex an govament cyaan afford dem fi vex more... election ah come