Brown Man Time Nice !

• Brown Man Time Nice !

"Government today April 6 signed a $543 million agreement with telecommunications companies LIME (Cable and Wireless) and FLOW (Columbus Communications) to build out a high-speed island-wide broadband network.

The signing is a major step towards bringing affordable and consistently high quality Internet delivery to all secondary schools, post offices and public libraries in Jamaica. Under the terms of the agreement, the providers will be held to the agreed standard of 99.9% availability; and high speed transmission of 100 megabits per second on the backbone."

Dat is a Highway we can believe in...

Ben Ja is going to deliver fibre optic lines to maroon town, Garlands, Niagra, Moco, Endeavour, Roehampton, hopeton, Orange, Springfield (and this is just St.James well ex cluding moco) in eighteen months!! for how much again? Is that USD or JAD?

Granted the above plan ; if put in practice would raise the cxc scores to astronomical levels. Students could use the web to get top knotch teaching in maths and science ( I seriously suspect that this is what the affluent schools in Kgn are doing)

Students in areas outside of kgn would not have to worry about lack of teachers for math and science.
    Election is near though hence anything is game. This is why I believe that education should be taken out of politics and treated as national security.

It's just a logical continuation of the E-Learning initiative funded by the long distance cess...nuff money park up inna dat fund from wedday

Jamaica has to be geared to the CXC exam syllabus yes...but the larger picture is to develop real world competence in applied technology through distance education to the school age cohort and others left behind in formal schooling.

That means a national plan to develop the appropriate learning/teaching modules and industry collaboration tied to the Vision 2030 development goals...now that the schools have basic IT infrastructure and growing broadband connectivity.

Digital Yard mi seh

On the tertiary front JA would need to increase its phd depth in math just to take advantage of MIT's opencourse in physics (granted this is just sophomore year course). Well serious understanding of vector calculus (especially Green and stoke's theorem) to grasp the professor.

The talk of vocational schools is one thing but a solid theoretical foundation in the science of what's out there today is more than necessary (or else you will still be a consumer/ operator and not a designer/builder).

I think Ja should concentrate on computer science (it's cheap and more effective given the state of Ja's economy).

Seeing what's going on in Japan there will be a spike in robotics and artificial intelligence ( I say Ja should be geared towards providing the AI software).

Mi ah deal wid di base... the primary and secondary level where the core problem of underperformance resides an di ongly level wi cyan start fix dat... except that I advocate strong linkages between the tertiary and the lower levels as in Digital Yard

As to the importance of robotics...which drives multiple areas of engineering/construction, electronics and software development among others...wi neva need fi si Japan fi site up dat.... dat start deal wid areddy

Is juss fi more people site up di rake an execute... rite now wi ah try get UTECH fi tek up di franchise fi run di US FIRST robotics program inna Jamaica... run it dehsuh.. so dat people nuh need fi spen FX guh foreign fi deal wid it proppa
          Last edited by Don1; April 7, 2011, 02:55 PM.

I once knocked dr. henry wilson on early childhood education (because I assumed all jakans were on top of this) I must recant now given what I now know of Ja's pre school and kindergarten system. Boss heavy emphasis should be placed on early childhood education.

again! deal with the software and leave the hardware alone. Did you read engineer Lewis story? They came back with different specs for the transformers, we can only speculate but it may have been reverse engineered in the far east hence a cheaper price. (lewis never even thought he would need a corporate lawyer)

Boss the world out there is filled with trickery. Paymaster was a good example of Ja's agility with software. Take the road of software.

I would say concentrate on the AI (and embedded ssytems) for the robots.

my ting is fi try give people the tools...not to tell dem whey fi duh wid it

Mi nah try limit nuh one an tell dem seh dem cyaan duh hardware... fi dem wizzy fi wuk out dat...nuh mi

Maybe you want Vaz fi run the cut then. Him set up the primary age school them inna him constituency long time getting funding from private and government fi do it long time.

Smart man!

no.. i don't particularly wish Vaz to do anything.

Thanks

like it or not he is miles ahead putting in place technology and basic infrastructure in his constituency, from using CDF to reaching out to international Aid agencies and private sector.

has nothing to do with me

How unnuh ease hard so? It's all about ego (same thing with football) Was any lesson learnt from Lewis and the transformers?

At present Ja is struggling with the issue of energy (to the point where NannyP was thinking nuclear). How will a population of 2.7 mil hold down cost to supply nation (US) of 300 million, not factoring in Europe and S.America. Anything Ja attempt on the hardware side Mexico can do it cheaper (do you forget that they have oil) Oh you are going to partner with them (then comes the tears when you are left with a bag of wind).

You don't understand the info age. Info on a flash drive changed political leadership in N.Africa Look at the paymaster debacle. The software turned out to worth millions hence courthouse. Look what Apple did to lala? Bought it out for millions and dumped the whole corp in the trash. Amazon found a work around and a court battle with apple is now looming (apple won't win this, they have to go in the trenches and compete). Paymaster should have been handled the way apple did lalas (hey Microsoft does it all the time ; where do you think those compression apps and other nifty stuff comes from).

In short a source code worth millions can be carried on a DVD. Go ahead make your hardware. Do you realize that google is just a software? It's a code, a search engine (a smart one though). How much is google worth again? Nuff said.

Maybe you want Vaz fi run the cut then. Him set up the primary age school them inna him constituency long time getting funding from private and government fi do it long time.
                            Maybe we need a Vaz in East Portland Anyway, Rhodd has seen the EXIT sign.............

WINDSOR CASTLE ALL AGE SCHOOL CELEBRATES NEW ENRICHMENT ROOM

May 6th 2010 - WINDSOR CASTLE ALL AGE SCHOOL CELEBRATES NEW ENRICHMENT ROOM

WINDSOR CASTLE ALL AGE SCHOOL CELEBRATES NEW ENRICHMENT ROOM
                              Resource Centre converted into the Enrichment Centre Initiative
                              Kingston, Jamaica – 06 May 2010: The Windsor Castle All Age School, in Portland, proudly opened the newly converted Resource Centre and welcomed the Dorothy Richards Enrichment Centre on May 6, 2010.

Refurbished and equipped by Digicel Foundation, the school and community are happy that their students and children will benefit from the new Enrichment Centre. “We are elated to know that Digicel so quickly came onboard to give their 100% and we intend to use it to the utmost development of our students,” stated Mr. Colquhoun Harvey, Principal of the Windsor Castle All Age School.

“Digicel Foundation is always on the look-out for those projects that have enthusiastic support and drivers behind them. The team at Windsor Castle is really excited and ready to work with those students that they have found it challenging to get on stream,” commented Major General Robert Neish, Executive Director of Digicel Foundation. “

“The previous Resource Centre served a large population of students who were reading below their grade levels; 50% below grade, 35% at grade level and 15% above grade level,” explained Principal Harvey. “Windsor Castle All Age School is a major receiving school for low-performing students and so we quickly realized that the number of students, utilizing the Centre, had doubled in a short period of time. We quickly sought to address this need for more direct-focus equipment and interactive software, to tackle the problem and accommodate the increase,” he said.

The Windsor Castle All Age School is a shift system school catering to 520 students, in a co-ed form. The school received assistance from a funding organization to convert a classroom into a Resource Centre as well as equip it. In addition to catering to the various cohorts of students, the Centre is used to train teachers from other schools such as Mount Pleasant All Age, Long Road All Age, Devon Pen All Age, Epsom All Age, Jobs Hill All Age and neighbouring community members and others.
                              The teachers, assigned to the room, do a pull-out programme, as per the Enrichment Centre Initiative.
                              There are two teachers assigned to the Centre full-time. They conduct on-going assessment and monitoring which keeps track of the students’ improvement rates. There is also a Reading Coordinator who keeps a detailed record of each student.

The Centre is also used for workshops by the Ministry of Education, in training of teachers in literacy, numeracy and technology.