• BTW Sickko

I will look into this further but as far as I recall the history:

Tacky was the leader of of our most famous/infamous slave revolt in Jamaica's history in 1760, and this was known as Tacky's rebellion. He was a coromantee slave who was a chief before he was brought to Jamaica. They went into Port Maria early one morning and started their carnage by killing the storekeeper and making off with guns/muskets powder and bullets. Shortly afterwards hundreads of other slaves joined Tacky in the revolt. However, a house-slave by the name of Esher whose plantation had been attacked, slipped away and warned the other plantation owners. The alarm was quickly dispatched to the authorities who were able to gather up enough militia to brace the attacks. In fact, to bolster their defence the authorities brought in the Scott's Hall Maroons to help fight Tacky and his men. A Maroon sharpshooter by the name of Davy chased down Tacky and shot him while running.
    "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

RE: BTW Sickko

Farmah (1/24/2007)I will look into this further but as far as I recall the history:

Tacky was the leader of of our most famous/infamous slave revolt in Jamaica's history in 1760, and this was known as Tacky's rebellion. He was a coromantee slave who was a chief before he was brought to Jamaica. They went into Port Maria early one morning and started their carnage by killing the storekeeper and making of with guns/muskets powder and bullets. Shortly afterwards hundrads of other slaves joined Tacky in the revolt. However, a house-slave by the name of Esher who plantation had been attacked slipped away and warned the other plantation owners. The alarm was quickly dispatched to the authorities who were able to gather up enough militia to brace the attacks. In fact, to bolster their defence the authorities brought in the Scott's Hall Maroons to help fight Tacky and his men. A Maroon sharpshooter by the name of Davy chased down Tacky and shot him while running.
    We had a very spirited debate about Maroons on this forum some time ago. Some were saying that they should not be held in high esteem since they teamed up with the British. And here we have it that Tacky was shot by a Maroon. sigh

I think I remember that debate (sometime in 2003 I believe). Jawge gave some useful insights into Nanny et al.

But as history has shown, we have been at times our own worst enemy!
      "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Nanny is a myth...live with it