Mother arrested for daughter's pregnancy

• Mother arrested for daughter's pregnancy

What is wrong with a mother giving birthcontrol to her daughter if she suspects that the child is sexually active? I guess I must be neo-fashion because I see nothing wrong in doing so; especially in a culture like Yard where you cannot tell some shottas to leave you pickey alone!

Granted, counseling and good lecturing is the way to go but the environment of most inner-cities lends to early involvement into seaxual activity. The court is right in prosecuting the baby-father but wrong in berating the mother who clearly sought and provided preventive measures.

Any opinions?

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...IVES_BIRTH.asp
    "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

RE: Mother arrested for daughter's pregnancy

Damn if you do ... damn if you don't.

[quote]Farmah (1/24/2007)What is wrong with a mother giving birthcontrol to her daughter if she suspects that the child is sexually active? I guess I must be neo-fashion because I see nothing wrong in doing so; especially in a culture like Yard where you cannot tell some shottas to leave you pickey alone!

Granted, counseling and good lecturing is the way to go but the environment of most inner-cities lends to early involvement into seaxual activity. The court is right in prosecuting the baby-father but wrong in berating the mother who clearly sought and provided preventive measures.

Any opinions?

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/html/20070123T220000-0500_118269_OBS_MOTHER_ARRESTED_AFTER_DAUGHTER____ __GIVES_BIRTH.asp[/quote]

Farmah......I agree with you regarding the birth control. If the kid is sexually active then you have the duty to educate her about std's and prevention. So I have no problem with the mother there.

What I would have problem with is if the mother knew that her daughter was beingraped bypedophiles and did not bring charges against them. That is child abuse and she deserves to be charged for that. - T.K.

It could be seen as a 2-edged sword because (a) If you don't provide the birthcontrol then you are being negligent and the child will most likley end up pregnant and/or catching a sexually transmitted disease. (b) If you provide the birthcontrol some may view this as your giving permission for your daughter to have sex.

My view isthat you cannot chaperone and escort your daughter 24/7. Hence, give her the talk but also give her the contraceptive. Kids won't necessarily listen. As you can see from this case, the child got pregnant inspite of the mother providing birthcontrol.

The judge wrong fi shame di mumma!
        "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Yes T.K. I agree that the mother can be charged in those circumstances, in a law-abiding society. However, in some communities across Jamaica the mother could be at risk for making such report because nuff shottas run di cut. There was a report some months ago of a womanin De La Vega City, Spanish Town who had to grab her two daughters and moved out in the middle of the night because a Don told her he was coming for them.

It nuh pretty my yute!

This case is not new, I've been following it since last year. It is my belief that the mother was prostituting the daughter

Prostitution is a new angle to the story but if that is really so, then the mother should be duly prosecuted. However, if the child was operating as a prostetute how comes the man claims to be guilty of fathering the baby? Hmmmmnnnn!!

Do you realize how widespread the culture of mothers prostituting their daughters to dons, taxi drivers etc. fi get money is?