• sass Bwoy, Lucea Set fe Casino, Ah Suh

Fiesta completes expansion plan

2011-03-24 15:59:29 | (6 Comments)

An aerial view of the Grand Palladium Resort & Spa at Point in Lucea, Hanover. The hotel sits in a cove but spreads out along a penninsula-file photo.
    Janet Silvera, Senior Gleaner Writer

WESTERN BUREAU:

Spanish hotel chain, Fiesta has completed the preliminary plans for its US$500 million phase two expansion in Point, Hanover, having submitted plans to the Lucea Parish Council for approval earlier this week.

The plans call for an immediate 900 additional rooms with a further development of an 18-hole championship golf course and luxury housing development, Fiesta’s general manager, Dimitris Kosvogniannis told The Gleaner on Wednesday.

The housing project is part of the ongoing development on lands across the road from the resort and is for public and executive management, he said.

Fiesta currently operates two resorts in Hanover, the Grand Palladium and Lady Hamilton, both averaging over 1,000 rooms.

According to Kosvogiannis Fiesta will bring to [COLOR=blue ! important][COLOR=blue ! important]Jamaica[/COLOR][/COLOR], its luxury brand, The Royal Suites, which comes with butler service, swim-up pool, large living quarters and other luxury amenities.

“We anticipate creating employment for an additional 1,000 staff while the construction process will engage 2,000 to 3,000 workers. Fiesta has committed to using the latest technology and best materials in the development,” said Kosvogiannis.

As part of its ongoing commitment and faith in Jamaica, the chain has employed local architects Omari Wright and Ard Zuar of Zuar and Wright Limited to supervise the project, while local contractors present their proposals.

“This is a historic moment for us, and we are thankful to the Government of Jamaica and in particular the Office of the Prime Minister, the Ministry of Tourism and JAMPRO for their continuous support and cooperation in this endeavor. We are grateful for our owners’ support and their resilience as well as their ongoing desire to invest in Jamaica’s economy and growth,” said the general manager.

With casino gambling one of the main goals on their agenda, last October The Gleaner reported that the resort had hopes of injecting economic fortunes into the parish once dubbed ‘Cinderella’.

The hotel’s ambitious casino proposal is now under consideration by the government.

Part of the expansion includes over 250 Royal Suites which is Fiesta’s top product. Each suite comes with room service, 24-hour butler service, swim-up patios and other special amenities.

The Fiesta resorts remain the single largest hotel project in Jamaica that has had the biggest economic impact in that region, being placed in an area that over the years was plagued with unemployment, closure of several factories and migration.

Then Kosvogiannis noted that both foreign and domestic investors are looking for an environment that encourages them, while stimulating the economy. “We believe casinos provide such opportunity for Jamaica.”

According to him a casino for the Hanover/Westmoreland area will allow an otherwise rural and primarily agricultural community to flourish.

The casino, he added will bring with it the contemplated construction of a Marina to allow docking for mega yachts that attracts high end clientele.

“It is expected that it will attract “high rollers” who will undoubtedly contribute to Jamaica’s GDP, said the resort’s general manager.

He said: “As we understand the thresholds laid out by the government we are certainly one of the hotels that qualify in meeting same.

Accordingly he is suggesting that although other developers have expressed interest, they may be the only ones that have placed “earnest money” (money a buyer deposits in good faith in anticipation of a real estate sale) with verifiable guarantees and ability to proceed.

To this end, he is convinced the casino will attract additional visitors to the island who otherwise would spend their money on other islands. It is our mission to implant Jamaica as the only destination in the Caribbean. The casino is one of the vehicles to accomplish such an objective,” said the general manager.

janet.silvera@gleanerjm.com

Related Stories - Computer Generated. • Traffic plan for Cross Roads
    Cabinet approves plans for completion of Mount Rosser bypass
    Road safety authorities to meet today
    Taxi operators to meet over downtown Kingston security
    JTA Central Executive condemns Ministry

Source: The Gleaner/Power 106 News
    Send your images, videos and updates to gireports@gleanerjm.com
    Click here to Comment | Print Version | More News
    Latest News Articles
    Government to respond to wage claim next week
    8 councillors plead guilty to corruption charge
    Findings rejected in Shanique Myrie case
    Manatt-Dudus enquiry could cost $ 78 million
    JUTC rolls out new accessible buses
    Corporal Neil Brown is Lasco top cop
    Sugar recommendations to cost Jamaica $100 million
    Tree cutting puts tourism at risk
    Jamaica's rice demand will be met - Guyana
    Regulatory body to review electricity costing method

Your Comments
    Echo 6 Items

Admin

Edit My Profile

Follow

Moderation

General Settings

Admin Notices

Get this for your site

Echo Blog

Echo on Twitter

Help

yarsdouth@aol.com
    Lets hope that the parish council insist on upgrading public facilities in the area, such as access roads, beautification, Sewerage, sidewalks etc..... lets not raid the TEF for this type of stuff, also please make sure that energy efficiency is given priority ,a demand for the use of solar energy for 30 % of needs must be made mandatory for any development of this sort.
    5 days ago, 5:41:56 PM
    – Flag – Like – Reply – Delete – Edit – Moderate
    Liked by

2 Guests

Manatt, manatt, they shout!! We say JOBS, JOBS JOBS, AND MORE Bruce.
    5 days ago, 5:42:53 PM
    Liked by

james hill
    wow,you think these boneheads,would work on some infrastructure first,like beautifying the little town like lucea,i drove through that little shack of a town few years ago with some foreign friends, on way to negril..man was i embarassed,what a people dem nasty and dont care..not the lucea people ..but the,folks who benefit from jamaica tourism to the tune of billions,plus the fakes jamaica call politicians..by the way i notice ,japan had a little piece of jamaica in buildings etc..spain now has a piece...hhhhh..wondering if i as a blackman,could go into those countries and try to own a piece there..interesting..
    5 days ago, 7:48:16 PM

lexy
    great, i hope this goes through and provides thousands of jamaicans with employment!
    5 days ago, 9:45:55 PM

warrior
    despite everyting, bruce is the best person out of all of them to lead the country right now, portia has no clue how to run a country. The fact is, we are making some headway with the jlp, corruption is down and crime is down and we're getting in some investments, dont stop the progress!
    5 days ago, 10:02:05 PM

MAISIE
    THIS IS GOOD! MORE JOBS FOR PEOPLE IN HANOVER.
    2 days ago, 8:52:54 AM

Social Networking by Echo

Leave a comment
    @Controls

Use my avatar from...

No avatar

My computer

My Google Profile

My Twitter Account

My FriendFeed Account

My Yahoo! Account

Gravatar email

Login

Login with:

My Google Profile

My Twitter Account

My FriendFeed Account

My Yahoo! Account

My Blogger Account

My JS-Kit Account

My Haloscan Account

My OpenID

Share with:

This Page

My Google Friends

My Twitter Followers

My FriendFeed Followers

My Yahoo! Friends

This Page

Add images

Follow

Good fi Lucea. Been to that hotel and they need to do some work on some of the structure. Also the entertainment need some upgrade. Hopefully it will work out fi them.

yeah a time fi the Casino now. More jobs for Hanover, this hotel already provides a decent amount of jobs.

The contractors went and employee non experienced or certified Trades Persons.

I suspected they were gonna use the old pier for the Marina, old so the 4 acres that was going for $700, 000 by the Tanks was purchased for the Marina, and to think I ask Karl fi check him Friends(Mo, Gamma) and purchase the property for a marina, next time mi deh check Lazie maudib.

But I am thinking how are they going to handle the sewerage? They did a poor job in the first phase, also JPS and their blinking supply, NWC may have to put in additional holding tanks by Great River, also the property acroos the Highway needs to be dress back so vehicles leaving and entering have ease of flow as it is an accident waiting to happen.

BTW an Elegant corridor is suppose to stretch to Miskito Cove.

I hope the government hold them to good standard but you know how Jamaica run still. Lucea need to feed a little bit more offa the hotel still but I guess with the place that the Melville them building and the doplin cove next door it will get more guests outa the hotels.

Mi still nuh convince bout the road from Mobay to Lucea. Still take a little time for such a short distance.

"that the Melville them building" ah who dat, what is that Melville ting, it nuh deh pon mi radar, gimme torry.

Mi breddren a guh du a big ting uppa Great valley, mi can't seh more now, but it will compliment the runnings on the coast well.

Another scoope, some man outta DC got part a Miskito cove fi some big things.

The run from Mo bay to Lucea, with the Bogue road make over, that should solve that deh rubber necking, now Hopwell, some bredda up deh cause the bypass round Hopwell not to take place, and the mere fact that Sandy Bay people walk inna the road still, is a problem, nuh badda talk bout Lucea and traffic, dem have no clue inna the planning.

That section of Tryall, is a 50 zone, even though no one walks on the road, talk bout power.

Melville them own Chukka Cove. Them have a little thing down a Lucea too. Not far from the Hotel.

Oh Dem, a big thing that man, ah coworker once told me they have the best Horseback riding, so I ask how come, the bredda seh all the others take you into jungle, but this one takes you up in the mountains(Cascade) and what a view.

I will check out Dolphin Cove next month, check for photos on www.lucea-online.com, click on Tourism, and explore.

yeah I wanted to go Dolphin cove but a little bit too expensive fi mi. 80 dollars a person and when a 4 a you that a nuff money. May when the recession over.