• The Father of Tribalism bemoans Tribalism

Failure!
    Published: Thursday | March 24, 20110 Comments

NEWLY INSTALLED chancellor of the University of Technology (UTech) Edward Seaga has bemoaned the failure of Jamaica's political system, which he believes has led to the creation of a failed state.

"When there is too much politics in politics, politics cannot do what politics should do in helping the process of development to develop," he noted during his installation and conferment ceremony at the college recently

He listed a myriad of shortfalls: "failure for over 20 years to achieve meaningful economic growth, failure to control national indebtedness, failure to create a nation of first-class citizens and failure to rectify a dysfunctional education system," he asserted, contending that as a nation, Jamaica needs less, not more politics.

Seaga stated that, as a consequence, after almost 50 years Jamaica has failed to become a functional nation, pointing to the root cause as the failure to create a literate society.

"Seventy per cent of those who enter primary schools cannot cope with primary education because of illiteracy. Sixty per cent of those who enter secondary schools cannot cope with secondary education because of illiteracy," noted Seaga.

Inability to cope

At the same time, he indicated that illiteracy has also delivered a blow to between 60 and 70 per cent of secondary-school graduates, resulting in their inability to cope with the economy or the society.

"This scenario is the same as it was before independence. We have made little gain, although there has been much effort by education ministers and educational leaders to promote improvement in literacy," noted Seaga.

The newly installed chancellor, who was also conferred with an honorary Doctor of Letters, believes education offers the best hope for the country in which he said the sectoral productive resources are diminishing.

"Mining has virtually maximised its growth, tourism has virtually maximised the availability of beaches which can be developed, manufacturing has contracted from a contribution of 19 per cent of GDP some 40 years ago to seven per cent today, and agriculture remains underdeveloped," noted Seaga.

why doesn't he speak about his role in the political process? did tribalism just "appear"?

seaga had a driver's seat and needs to tell us what happened, how and why?

Yeah. I thought this was ultra ironic when I read it.

The Father of Tribalism....?

ah suh ?

The Father of Tribalism....?

ah suh ?
          Maudib, are you alive? Did Dorothy knock you how?

mi alive and well ! how yuh stay

Mi alive too but me withdraw my sympathy for Dorothy, she too lie.

dat is di problem wid he said she said..

Well he spoke of 50 years of lack of progress

...50 years Jamaica has failed to become a functional nation, pointing to the root cause as the failure to create a literate society.

Seaga - Published: Thursday | March 24, 2011
                  He had a huge part in shaping that failure of which he spoke.

joke and maybe he could tell us of the Shower Posse's role in the attempted assassination of Bob Marley. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gS9ToHJSlJQ

At some point we have to say enough and move on. I know that what happened in the 80s was terrible and an embarassment to JA. I think the time has come for all Jakans to say let's build a national agenda.

We can point fingers all we want (and yes Eddie may have a hand in Ja's present dilema) but he is making some serious points; especially on education. I don't think most on this more understand what will happen to Ja twenty years down (if the island continues with the post slavery/colonial system).

what happened in the 80s ?

lol !

70s and 90s is where Jamaica was raped and left for dead by PNP Govt policy...

The facts are indisputable... Di Iranian guy seh di holocaust nevah happen.. yuh not alone...

LoL