Wanted: A Few Good Brown Men for the J.L.P.

• Wanted: A Few Good Brown Men for the J.L.P.

Vacancies:

President of the JLP and Prime Minister of Jamaica

Minister of Justice and Attorney General

Reason: Incumbents no longer have the moral authority to hold those posts

LOL. Vybez Kartel step-up.

Originally posted by Rudi View Post
      LOL!!

R U sexist? And colourist?
        Brown man pack up PNP too. Golding and Bunting ah wha?

Ronnie, and Liza also come to mind.

Mi juss kall it like mi seeit... ah juss reality

Apart from the obvious optics of the situation...the JLP party orientation is well known

Mi nah ignore (like some) di various 800 lb gorillas in di room

Originally posted by Rudi View Post
            who say him nuh start already LMAO

baay cherry gardens man him start spar wid enuh

Willi...Willi... WILLI!

" Bunting Liza also come to mind."

which party most of the white/high brown Jamaicans support after the 70s

BE HONEST

ONLY rich people in jamaica that support PNP a only matalon n maybe a few others

So no WOMAN to replace any of them? LoL

Matalon, Minister Pringle (tourism) was WHITE in the 1990s, and many of the PNP are "brown" by Jamaican standards...and NOTHING is wrong with that either.

Yes, many shifted to the JLP, but the PNP is the original high-brown party...or maybe you too young to know that? Mark Golding will be the next "white" minister whenever the PNP returns. Who is white in the current JLP setup?

Mo Mo Mo Mo!

Do the math and you will see that the public face of both parties are NOT very different colourwise. True, maybe more of the uptown verandah set currently support the JLP, but this has changed from the past and will likely change again in the future...it is happening already when people like Lisa and Mark lining up behind the orange.

The way some talk here you would think that a bare lilly white people a wear green and bare jet black people a wear orange. Nutten nuh guh suh.

Melhado dem ah wah? Danny Williams was Minister under who? Steeuuups.

Could you lend me your Blue soap?

mi overstand what u saying WILLIE

but the fact is that most of that type of people NOW support the labour party

even though before independence(according to the elders) they supported NORMAN mostly

but even though thr was economic growth during the 60s it went mostly to the TOP ie white/high brown n not to the blacks

michael manly saw this unequal distribution, promised(as part of his election campaign) the blacks more equality n that led to the policies of the 70s, which helped alot of people go to university feel more proud to be black etc

n this never sit well with most of that class of people, n thats why u have most of them supporting the labour party now

when I have the time I will finish what I started

note I am just 20 years old n I am just relating what sum elders told me, so u maybe can correct me where u think I maybe went wrong

Matalon, Minister Pringle (tourism) was WHITE in the 1990s, and many of the PNP are "brown" by Jamaican standards...and NOTHING is wrong with that either.

Yes, many shifted to the JLP, but the PNP is the original high-brown party...or maybe you too young to know that? Mark Golding will be the next "white" minister whenever the PNP returns. Who is white in the current JLP setup?
                            You are correct on all points... on a strict optical basis.

However the issue is more profound than just optics. The JLP (whether for better or worse is subject to opinion) has traditionally allied itself and IDENTIFIED with the interests of the economic elites... who happen to be pale in most instances. This is so regardless of the complexion of the party leadership. The JLP interest in the maintenance of the society's status quo reflects that party's comfort with the class system... Whether that is for better or worse is up to individual judgement.

The PNP from its inception has been interested in change... including change in the class system. Change would threaten the beneficiaries of the class system. Unfortunately their methods have often been counterproductive... both through incompetence/naivete and the fact that the Class Empire strikes back when its interest is threatened... as seen in the 1970s.

So regardless of the PNP leadership pigmentation the DNA of the tribe is to be somewhat against the Brown Man Time system... again whether that's good, bad or indifferent is an individual judgement.

it was the perceived socialist threat of the 70's and 80's ...... those with 'assets" feared that it would be taken from them and redistributed under a socialist/communist regime.

this is less true now than it was then and despite the fact that "comrade" is thrown around all the other rhetoric has faded away. dem naw drive lada and nivas ..... mercedes/prados/audis etc.

the jlp itself does not seem as right wing as it was under seaga during the 70's and 80's....

animal farm comes to mind ... we cannot tell the pigs from the humans.