• Cruise ship arrival leaves Falmouth buzzing

Cruise ship arrival leaves Falmouth buzzing

2011-03-22 16:55:13 | (0 Comments)

The world’s largest cruise , Royal Caribbean’s ‘Oasis of the Seas’ - Contributed
    The town centre of Falmouth came alive as the tourist destination officially welcomed the world’s largest cruise liner, Royal Caribbean’s ‘Oasis of the Seas’.

The highly anticipated ship has a combined carrying capacity of over 9000 passengers and crew members aboard.

The town was buzzing with activities as the visitors aboard the ‘Oasis of The Seas’ were exposed to the “Falmouth Experience”, which incorporated Jamaican entertainment, art, craft, exquisite cuisine and cultural performances.

Lenworth Tracey, Deputy General Manager, Economic Development and Corporate Relations, at the Urban Development Corporation (UDC), says cruise arrivals have already begun to enhance the economy of Falmouth and is expected to have wider national impact.

“Falmouth is fast taking its place as a key link in the build out of the tourist product offering of Jamaica and will be a solid complement to the existing port facilities in Ocho and Montego Bay,” said Tracey.

“The people of Falmouth are already reaping returns. From hotel owners to fruit vendors, both large and micro businesses are benefiting,” he added.

He further added that in an attempt to ensure that development happens in a sustainable way, specialised training programmes have been fashioned by organisations such as Heart Trust NTA and the Tourism Product Development Company (TPDCO) to guide and enhance the offerings of business and service providers to ensure the visitors enjoy a first rate product.

Tracey noted that the UDC and other collaborating partners have started the process, but it will continue to provide urban planning support.

However, he said plans to facilitate the development of the historic town started last year when the UDC was mandated by Prime Minister Bruce Golding to spearhead and adopt a multiagency collaborative approach to redevelop the area.

Excitement heralds the arrival of Oasis of the Seas

The mega cruise liner Oasis of the Seas at Falmouth Pier on Tuesday, (Gleaner photo).

The mega cruise liner Oasis of the Seas docked in Falmouth, Trelawny Tuesday morning, creating one of the important moments for the old Georgian town.
    There were screams and shouts from excited spectators as the Oasis of the Seas’s docked at the Falmouth Cruise Terminal about 8:00 a.m. on Tuesday.
    The 16 story vessel, said to be the largest in the world, with the more than 7,000 passengers and crew, towered over the small town.
    Hundreds of passenger disembarked the vessel and explored the historic town.
    Commemorative guide books were handed out to the visitors who showed key interest in the various sites, with some walking nearly a mile to view the parish church.
    Richard Fain, the Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Royal Caribbean Cruises Limited, in his greeting, said Jamaica has delivered the wow factor.

Exile had asked you in a previous thread about the disposal of wastes from floating cities such as the Oasis. You did not answer. I myself would like to know what measures are in place.

You can then speak to me about the thousands that come and go in the AIs on the island. Where will all these watse go and what measures are in place (in terms of compliance with enviromental standards). Last but not least who will pay for all these burden on the municipalities of the island. Taxpayers? Thanks.

Why don't you write the Development Group in Falmouth, Jamaica Port Authority and the JTB, go to horses man.

don't know too much bout the shiit business and don't pretend too

Good question but wrong person. It would be curious to know.

So when the ship use to come in their dozens in Mobay you didn't wonder about that?

Oh my, I forgot there is big business in that kind of ********, and then turn around and produce manure, oh ********.

Originally posted by TDowl View Post
              Why don't you write the Development Group in Falmouth, Jamaica Port Authority and the JTB, go to horses man.

Good Ansa -

mi neva know that Sass is stationed "on the ground in Falmouth"

[quote=Assasin;283015]
                So when the ship use to come in their dozens in Mobay you didn't wonder about that?[/quote]

Not a good answer at all. Sass is known to have close contacts in the Tourism business and has been advocating cruise ship stopovers as a panacea to our lack of real Tourism development. He also seems to have close contacts in Falmouth.

Mobay is irrelevant to his question and you know that. My initial unanswered question was just to highlight some of the 'baggage' that tourism and especially cruise liners bring to small coastal communities aka Falmouth. Can you use your contacts and find out if there are any STPs for ship wastes or if Royal Caribbean uses the 3 mile limit to dump....??

How is it unfair? When two ships docked in Mobay, you don't have the same concern? The fact is if the Pier in Mobay was enlarged and the tourist was coming off in Mobay or it was build by Nanny P, Jawge would have no such concern.

I don't have any contact in Falmouth. A few people in the tourism industry who were my classmate in industry and co-workers, a few managers and people associated with JTB. I also studied in this area for a while.

What I know is this is positive and a big oppurtunity for Falmouth. In these articles there is no talk of the employment and the economic upturn that it brings. Yesterday the Major said ever registered taxi driver was occupied. The tours etc. in Trelawny are jumping for joy. Sam Safari outside of Falmouth is now going to be reopen and upgraded.

These article also don't talk about the ruin and abondonment in Falmouth. The Port gives Falmouth something to Rally around

Yes it comes with negitive but guess what the people are coming off the ship and if they didn't come to Jamaica they would find some other port to call. Why do people think this will this will affect land base tourism? People sometimes go on cruises and like destinations and go back there. I don't think it will affect our land base tourism and as a matter of fact look for more hotels going up in Trelawny to complement the port.

3 mile or 12 mile limit?
                        Isnt the economic line 200m and the absolute sovereignty line 12 miles. Foreign navies cant enter the 12 mile line without permission.

Exile say you are the man, so can I get a cruise liner job for a friend in Jamaica sah? du mi deh beg yuh Boss.

Meantime here is a website on Trelawny - http://www.falmouthja.net/forum/forum.asp?FORUM_ID=28

Not talking EEZ.

That's all they do; throw in irrelevant arguments to distract from the main topic. I knew I distinctly said "floating cities" they don't understand the magnitude of these boats and what comes with it.

I think in the long run they may end up as the concord.