Seventh-day Adventist pastor calls for hanging of murderers

• Seventh-day Adventist pastor calls for hanging of murderers

One well-known religious leader believes that persons who continue to murder on a habitual basis, should be prepared to give up their lives on the gallows.

In the dispensation of biblical law, the commandment given by God to Moses was that 'whoso sheddeth man's blood, by man shall his blood be shed'.

Pastor Glen Samuels, president of the West Jamaica Conference of Seventh-day Adventist Churches, remains resolute that career murderers must be prepared to have their lives forfeited as well.

"I believe the justice system must ensure that all trials are just and fair but, where we have persons who continue to murder people, I believe we ought to take a second look at our reluctance in dealing with capital punishment," he said.

Pastor Samuels was delivering a sermon at the first in a series of a 21-day reconciliation service of the International Conference on Restorative Justice, held at the West Jamaica Conference Centre in Montego Bay on the weekend.

However, for nearly two decades, the Jamaican govern-ment has been procrastinating in relation to hanging, apparently due to international pressure.

President of the Cornwall Bar Association, attorney-at-law Clayton Morgan, says as far as he knows, a specific reason has not been arrived at as to why hanging has not been reinstated.

Death sentence still legal

"Hanging is perfectly lawful. The death sentence is still legal. There is absolutely nothing in the world that is preventing hanging. There are several men on death row who can be hanged tomorrow because they have lost their appeals," he explained. "I believe that the Pratt and Morgan ruling might be playing a role, in that the Privy Council had ruled that it is inhumane to hang a man after he has been in custody for an inordinate period."

Referring to the U.S., which he suggested portrays strong democracy and the upholding of human rights, Pastor Samuels noted that the death penalty remains in effect in some states in that country.

"Where we have people who are guilty of repeat murders, the Government should not continue to feed them at the expense of taxpayers," Pastor Samuels said. "I am all for social reconstruction and giving someone a second chance where murder was not premeditated, and there has been no previous conviction."

He added: "We have people who are continuing without fear and conscience to murder at will, I am saying that the matter of capital punishment must be put on the table. Locking them away is not a deterrent. We are producing a generation of murderers."

Chairperson of the Independent Jamaica Council on Human Rights, attorney-at-law Arlene Harrison-Henry, said that, since the body's inception in 1968, its position has always been for the abolition of hanging.

"Scientific evidence has consistently failed to find convincing evidence that the death penalty deters crime more effectively than any other punishment," she said.

RE: Seventh-day Adventist pastor calls for hanging of murderers

I think in Jamaica these pastors are given too much attention. Sickko, when yuh come cross dah bredda yah, tell him say first, the authorities have to catch the murderers, then they have to be found guilty before the hanging can come into play. How many murderers are actually apprehended, much less brought before the courts?

Dem yah pastor get militant now boy.