• Balance Mosiah Balance and send your brethren go count

Falmouth Cruise Ship Pier booked till yearend

2011-03-17 17:18:52 | (0 Comments)

President and Chief Executive Officer of the Port Authority of Jamaica Noel Hylton, has indicated that the Falmouth cruise ship pier is fully booked for the rest of the year.

Hylton says that since the port started receiving calls some six weeks ago, some 30,000 passengers have arrived at the terminal.

He adds that the port has received several mega vessels such as ‘Voyager of the Seas’ and ‘Freedom of the Seas’.

The Falmouth Cruise Ship Pier is slated to be officially opened on March 22, and will receive the maiden call to port of the world’s largest cruise ship, the ‘Oasis of the Seas’, with 6,000 passengers and some 2,000 crew members.

The President and CEO of the Port Authority has addressed concerns about the impact of the new terminal on the ports at Montego Bay in St. James and Ocho Rios in St. Ann.

Hylton points out that because of its strategic location, the Falmouth port has the potential to enhance economic life in Ocho Rios and Montego Bay, as it will allow cruise passengers to easily access attractions in these resort areas.

He has also sought to assure that Ocho Rios and Montego Bay will not be neglected noting that as soon as the facilities at Falmouth are completed, attention will be turned to reorganising the Ocho Rios and Montego Bay ports.

Assasin, once again the Falmouth pier is not completed. I said earlier... it's like living in a house that is not finished. It does not look good, nor are all the comforts in place. It is in use because it is functional.

Maybe to the local folks this transformation is sufficient; but compared to other similar pier, Falmouth is presently work in progress.

Returning customers make up the major % of any successful business. I am sure that if a survey is none--where the cruise ship passengers are asked: would you return to that destination? Based on the current appearance the answer would be a resounding NO!

LAST:
    The avarage tourist does not want to be shaddowed or peered at by the *natives. There is much training needed for the locals in tourist interaction.

* HL.........DUCK!!! hehehee

a nuh me seh suh! a dem seh suh!

snicker

So what you saying don't book the ships. HL I have spoke on here for the need for a lot of upgrade in the tourism industry. Nobody on this forum advocate that tourism must be a part of school curiculum execpt me. Again the port is not completed and it will not be before May or July but the numbers don't lie. The fact is these guys debate everything positive.

Yes there are negitives and the first picture I saw of the port I know it wasn't finish. This port however is an oppurtunity, not a White Elephant, we have enough. All we have to do is work and build it, just like any other business and it will be successful but if we keep on having the atttitude of certain forumites there is nothing to build on.

Certainly if the people of Trelawny don't treat the guests right it could end up like how Ochi going right now.

some realism setting in, Sass? careful!

that is the way it alway, the fact is tourism in Jamaica is growing and it is good for the economy whether unnu like it or not.

suh who don't like it, Sass?!?

well just take the good with the bad. a same way when you a work mi have you back yah so and anywhere else.

Mi si a man a work mi a go point it out, even if a nuh mi friend.

...pint it out yes 'ssasin! Pint it hout!!