• Jamaica drops in global tourism rankings

Assasin, you missed this:

Jamaica drops in global tourism rankings
    Wednesday, March 16, 2011

JAMAICA lost its place among the world's top 60 travel destinations based on dropping five places in its ranking according to the Travel & Tourism Competitiveness Report 2011 issued this month by the World Economic Forum (WEF).

The island now ranks 65th out of 139 countries down from 60th in 2009. European nations topped the list led by Switzerland, Germany, France, Austria, Sweden and the US respectively.

The report highlighted four sub-indices of uncompetitive performance by the island including ranking 104th in the world for safety and security; 105th for cultural resources; 110th for natural resources, and 116th for environmental sustainability.

The report stated that ranking is highly related to a country's level of development.

"Advanced economies started earlier with their overall development, as well as with their tourism development, and have thus been wealthier over a longer time. They have had more time and more resources available to resolve basic issues, such as rules and regulation, safety and security, and health and hygiene; and to build infrastructure, to provide necessary services, and invest in the quality of their human capital," stated the report.

Regionally Jamaica ranks 12th in a group led by the US, Canada, Barbados, Mexico, Costa Rica and Puerto Rico. Other regional competitors, Dominican Republic, Trinidad & Tobago and Guyana ranked 14th,16th and 21st respectively. The Business Observer sought comments from the Jamaica Hotel and Tourism Association and the Ministry of Tourism but a response was not immediately available up to press time.

The first Travel & Tourism Competitiveness Report was done in 2007. The report quotes references to the World Travel & Tourism Council, which estimates that the Travel & Transport (T&T) sector now accounts for 9.2 per cent of global output, 4.8 per cent of world exports, and 9.2 per cent of world investment.

"The T&T sector thus clearly remains a critical one for the world economy, accounting for a significant share of global employment and also providing an important opportunity for developing countries to move up the value chain toward the production of higher value-added services. In this context, an analysis of the T&T competitiveness of individual economies around the world remains pertinent. This is the objective of this fourth edition of The Travel & Tourism Competitiveness Report," stated Robert Greenhill, chief business officer, World Economic Forum in the preface of the report.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/busin...#ixzz1Gljqqerz

Mr Ed soon fix dat... nuh fret

Ar is lie dem ah tell??

Mosiah you always seem eager to diss tourism in Jamaica. Granted, there is significant room to fully tap the market....but

I woke up late.

What so bad about that? We are still very competitive and still rated amongst the top in many surveys. Keep on looking for the news and don't downplay the good ones.

I woke up late.
          Is dropsy yuh ave?

not true at all! just trying to add some balance to Sass' posts.

tiyad fi say it - Jamaica's revenues should be 90% tourism-based!

you mussa drop pon yu head top if a dat you call balance to rhatid.

das true! know way could i balance out your swashbuckling propaganda machine!

yeah just come with facts and not feelings.

Where you get this from? Damn lies wait till Comical Ali sends in his figures...havent we been hearing that we have set many records since 2007

unnu a real joker. What that have to do with figures?

Go a Falmouth today, Big ship with 1600 visitors and crew members a come in today. You can go wave them in.
                      Last edited by Assasin; March 17, 2011, 01:02 PM.

And the town is ready for them, right?

Yuh talk to yuh bredren, HL, recently?

Falmouth is still in horrible condition and the pier is unfinished. Everybody down there thinks it is great. I am sure less than 1 % of the cruise passengers would recommend Falmouth based on what they have seen. By the way I love Falmouth more than I love anywhere else. But I have to tell the truth. I live in one of the top tourist towns in the world. I know what people will recommend and what they wont recommend.

We would welcome more posts of geriatric tourists distributing trinkets to the natives... duh yuh ting

FULLY AGREE Westman. Falmouth is not ready for tourism. It is an eyesore.

This project is following the Jamaican custom of living in a house before it is completely built.

Most tourist do not want to visit countries that is destitute in appearance. Well unless they are missionaries....

Even Ocho Rios could use a comprehensive face lift. Not really impressed wid Ochi from a tourism point of view.