• Smiley Culture died after incident with the police

Smiley Culture died after incident with the police

Smiley Culture.

Reggae musician Smiley Culture, who scored two chart hits in the eighties, died on Tuesday following an incident with police in England.
    The ‘Police Officer’ singer, real name David Emmanuel, is believed to have stabbed himself after officers raided his home in Warlingham, Surrey, earlier Tuesday.
    He was due to face trial after being charged with conspiracy to supply cocaine in September last year alongside four others.
    A spokesman for the Independent Police Complaints Commission confirmed they were now investigating a “death following police contact”.
    The 47-year-old, born and raised in south London, rose to fame as a DJ with the Saxon Studio sound system.

OMG...stabbed himself... what the heck happened to him... sounds as if he had problems... doesn't sound too good...

rip smiley culture... you did make a positive contribution to the dancehall... sad...

Story sound fishy.

japanese hari kiri?!! sounds fishy fi real...

If I remember correctly he did the original "Police inna England" that Peter Metro pirated later on.

Cruel irony.

He also did the origninal "cockney transulation".

Ah yes. That was a good tune.

For a while I used to listen to a lot of the English DJs. Puppa Levi did have a tune name "84-tion" or something like that dat me did really like. Me hear say Maxi Priest was a DJ on the same sound in the early days.

Them used to write good lyrics. Pato Banton was really good too.

yeah man Saxon is the name of the sound. Them dance use to sound nice fi real.