Ragashanti ordered off air by Broadcasting Commission
We are not saying the option is not there to change the dial, but there are far too many important information that that needs to get out there, especially making Jamaica a more civil society.
Not because some people make a post you have to exercize your opposition to those individuals.
Now that you said you change the dial, was it because of the content or the commentator?
"Lets build a far better Jamaica."
Originally posted by Don1 View PostU-CON is aptly named
Funny as hell! Don1, yuh is the only one who could come up with something like that."Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
It would appear that if the broadcaster and the personality have violated the standards set by the Commission, it (the Commission) is in its right to sanction both the personality and the broadcaster.
Do we know if they had been given warning(s) before? hardly likely that that would have been made public.
In the face of incomplete information on our part, we might just have to give the commision the benefit. Raga and his station can always bring their case before an arbitrator if they feel they have been wrongly treated... I would think that that is possible, no?
And it is simply juvenile on the part of some posters to justify Raga's behaviour by citing perpetrators of other offensive type behaviour. The buck has to stop somewhere.Peter R
He who knows not and knows not that he knows not, He is a fool - shun him
He who knows not and knows he knows not, He is simple - teach him;
He who knows and knows not he knows, He is asleep - wake him;
He who knows and knows he knows, He is wise; follow him.
What's your position?
We have too many of the first category here fi true! and... way too many who THINK they are in the last categoryPeter R
Funny as hell! Don1, yuh is the only one who could come up with something like that.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Originally posted by Peter R View PostHe who knows not and knows not that he knows not, He is a fool - shun him
He who knows not and knows he knows not, He is simple - teach him;
He who knows and knows not he knows, He is asleep - wake him;
He who knows and knows he knows, He is wise; follow him.
What's your position?
We have too many of the first category here fi true! and... way too many who THINK they are in the last categoryTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Originally posted by Islandman View PostWell guess what, some would consider calling "******" people nasty and white liver on the air to be extreme. I certainly would.
What is your idea of extreme? When is the line crossed?TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Originally posted by Islandman View PostWell guess what, some would consider calling "******" people nasty and white liver on the air to be extreme. I certainly would.
What is your idea of extreme? When is the line crossed?
One nuh like dancehall music dem criticize who like it. One nuh like soca, dem mock who like it. Because I don't drink means I must insist that you don't drink? Live YOUR life and low others to live their. If yuh don't like the content of Raga show .... listen to smaddy else."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Nice sidestep I see you do not want to answer the question.
I will assume that calling ****** people nasty on the air is not enough for you to say its past the point of decency......so lets take it from there.
How about accusing Chiney people of selling dawg inna dem restaurant or ********ing in the water? Dat alright?
How about saying people from Jungle or TG smell bad and nuh like bathe and brush dem teeth?
How about calling out certain prominent people name who supposedly is **********man and saying how him know that?
Why not just say ANYTHING on the air then? Why have standards at all? You realise how ridiculous your position is?
I see you have a fundamental problem understanding what freedom of choice is all about. It does not mean you are free to do anything, anywhere even if others do not like it. When you are in public certain standards apply. For example I cannot get up one day and decide to walk down the street naked just because I want to and not expect some consequences.
But I doubt you will get it."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Originally posted by Islandman View PostNice sidestep I see you do not want to answer the question.
I will assume that calling ****** people nasty on the air is not enough for you to say its past the point of decency......so lets take it from there.
How about accusing Chiney people of selling dawg inna dem restaurant or ********ing in the water? Dat alright?
How about saying people from Jungle or TG smell bad and nuh like bathe and brush dem teeth?
How about calling out certain prominent people name who supposedly is **********man and saying how him know that?
Why not just say ANYTHING on the air then? Why have standards at all? You realise how ridiculous your position is?
I see you have a fundamental problem understanding what freedom of choice is all about. It does not mean you are free to do anything, anywhere even if others do not like it. When you are in public certain standards apply. For example I cannot get up one day and decide to walk down the street naked just because I want to and not expect some consequences.
But I doubt you will get it.
Chipa Sounds and Rosenberg have a show that toes the line. I see Raga as toeing the line. Do I like his show? NO .... but why deprive those that find it entertaining?
Thats the problem wid JA. unuh waan to dictate to others how them muss live them life."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Originally posted by Me View PostIf Ragga was in US him would get worst than Don Imus treatment."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)