• Ragashanti ordered off air by Broadcasting Commission

Ragashanti ordered off air by Broadcasting Commission
    Follows public complaints and review of show
    Jamaica Observer
    Monday, March 14, 2011

THE Broadcasting Commission of Jamaica (BCJ) has directed the management of Nationwide News Network (NNN) Limited to immediately discontinue transmission of Kingsley 'Ragashanti' Stewart's popular call-in radio programme, 'Ragashanti Live'.
    In a statement this afternoon, the BCJ said that it had decided to take action following after receiving numerous public complaints over the last two months and after having conducted its own review of NNN's programming during the period February 7 to March 2. Transcripts of the offending programming was also supplied to the media.

Ragashanti Live was held to have breached regulations by transmitting material that includes: profanity; may be harmful to children; is likely to incite violence or criminal activity or lead to a breach of the peace; and that which is malicious, scandalous or defamatory matter. NNN was also held to violate part of its license agreement which requires its to encourage positive values and attitudes.
    "As a result, Nationwide News Network Limited has been cited by the Commission for at least 18 serious breaches of its licence and of the broadcasting regulations," said the BCJ.
    NNN has also been warned that it could have its license revoked should it fail to comply with its terms of license.
    The Broadcasting Commission has warned Nationwide News Network (NNN) Limited that if it fails to take the specified remedial measures and or fails as a station to maintain the required public broadcasting standards, it risks a recommendation by the Commission that its licence be suspended," said the BCJ.

I do not understand why this guy has to wallow in filth. He is a smart guy who got his Ph.D from UCONN and there is so much he could do to uplift black people in Jamaica.

U-CON is aptly named

I am not in support of him

but him can say in his defense, its just entertainment, and not everything u do have to be "uplifting"

plus he just bn a good capitalist by taking advantage of an opportunity he sees legally

Well its not legal to utter profanity on the airways.

There is an adage about taking people out of the Ghetto....

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
              Well its not legal to utter profanity on the airways.
              did that really happen

but even so the normal procedure is to have that particular radio/tv station run some apologies in the major newspapers n on the radio station for a certain period

it happens all the time, unless he is a 10 th offender,

but I hear he has secretes for the people at the broadcasting commission, ie the people in charge

go figure

While I am no supporter of Ragga, are these people mad?

If the show is not following how about fining them first and give them a warning? You can't just take people off the air because you nuh like their content and they are not violating any free speach law.

Who is next?

why not fine them and warn them?

Remind me of when Colin powell son took over the FCC.

While I am no supporter of Ragga, are these people mad?

If the show is not following how about fining them first and give them a warning? You can't just take people off the air because you nuh like their content and they are not violating any free speach law.

Who is next?
                    Just a simple question: Do you know this (what I highlighted) for a fact?

So because he got a PhD from a foreign school it means he is some how above filth?

This fellow has been warned many times but he thinks he is above the law, full time they pulled the plug on him

First degree = BS
                          Second = MS (more of the same)
                          Third PhD = Piled higher and Deeper

ahh bwooyyy

The point of the matter is he should know better.

Empirical evidence, (my own) says that a degree means diddly squat when it comes to "broughtupsy".