Bad experience made me more cautious, says Lightbourne

• Bad experience made me more cautious, says Lightbourne

Gary Spaulding, Senior Gleaner Writer Minister of Justice and Attorney General Dorothy Lightbourne told the Manatt-Dudus commission of enquiry yesterday that she was prompted to take great care with extradition requests, including that for Christopher 'Dudus' Coke, after an administrative fumble with a previous request.

Lightbourne also stood her ground as she refuted claims made by Solicitor General Douglas Leys, acting Director of Public Prosecutions Lisa Hamilton Palmer and Lieutenant Colonel Patrick Cole of the Jamaica Defence Force.

"I took a decision to be more painstaking after I was asked to sign an extradition request without being given enough information," Lightbourne declared in response to queries from her attorney Dr Lloyd Barnett.
    Lightbourne did not divulge who or which agency involved in the extradition procedure had fouled up.

She said the request was related to one 'Bingham', a clear reference to Presley Bingham, who was arrested July 12, 2009, on a extradition request from the United States.

The end result of that case was that Bingham was released from jail after Lightbourne refused to extradite him after learning that the request was the second sent by the US for the same crimes.

Previously, Bingham had been set free by the Court of Appeal on September 28, 2007, on a writ of habeas corpus filed on his behalf by his attorneys because he had not been extradited within the time prescribed by law.
    Last edited by Karl; March 5, 2011, 10:13 AM.

Its a friggin shame ... people are being ripped apart just because they saw the need to uphold Jamaican laws.

woiiee mi duodenum! Dudus wi seh! wat a friggin shame!

During her testimony yesterday she said it .... and I've had that view since all the fuss started ... its all down to politics. Termites saw an opportunity to cause a nightmare and they were successful.

suh Solicitor General Leys ah lie pon har

Lt. Colonel Cole ah lie pon har

Acting DPP Lisa Palmer ah lie pon har

an wen KD dem dun wid har nex week ...nuff more people she aggo seh lie pon har

Wat a way peeple love lie pon dat likkle puppet Dottie...LOL
          Last edited by Don1; March 4, 2011, 04:10 PM.

During her testimony yesterday she said it .... and I've had that view since all the fuss started ... its all down to politics. Termites saw an opportunity to cause a nightmare and they were successful.
            woiie mi fundus!

It's all di Termite's fault...

suh Solicitor General Leys ah lie pon har

Lt. Colonel Cole ah lie pon har

Acting Atty General Lisa Palmer ah lie pon har

an wen KD dem dun wid har nex week ...nuff more people she aggo seh lie pon har

Wat a way peeple love lie pon dat likkle puppet Dottie...LOL
              Lie .... thats the objective now ... to accuse her of lying? Well, Lisa and Cole admitted that she told one of them that she wants to follow protocol. But of course, drowning man grab at a straw .... no wonder yuh reaching.

really very weak..

even a tribalist like you must realize that Lighweight's statements have been contradicted by numerous other people Leys/Cole/Lisa Hamilton AND Lightweight CANNOT all be correct... you choose to believe the politician Dottie... others including me don't

ah suh di ting set

really very weak..

even a tribalist like you must realize that Lighweight's statements have been contradicted by numerous other people Leys/Cole/Lisa Hamilton AND Lightweight CANNOT all be correct... you choose to believe the politician Dottie... others including me don't

ah suh di ting set
                  Okay, she didn't speak to Cole, yuh sidestep the fact that Cole, di fat bredda (DPP) and Hamilton all said the Lightbourne said she wanted them to follow protocol, something Lightbourne said she told Cole?

I see it as insignificant but of course KD fighting a losing battle so of course him gonna hang onto it.

It is immaterial what Dottie said... what she DID or DID Not Do and her MOTIVATION in protecting a well known and genetically linked JLP Crime Lord... that's what is important

Nuh fret...dat soon get roast pon di witness stan...

Don't you just love Brown Man Time? LOL

Dorothy tried to get KD thrown out of the senate for dissing her. Its pay back time, KD going to rip her apart and try tio get her to resign. Only the threat of the March 14, 2011 deadline for Bruce to testify can save Dorothy. If I was KD I would let her go subject to recall and get the big fish Bruce on the stand. She is pawn, she did was she was told. I feet sorry for her.

i know, this is good! Some would do anything to uphold Jamaican laws so that others may not just break them but shower thousands with bullets!

This is good!

You have set yourself up for failure.. it is not wise to approach an argument from an extreme point of the spectrum of possibilities..

It fits your agenda but.. that's about all it fits so far.. and we are almost at the end of the 'Enquiry'...

Alas... I fear the Commission will not arrive at your 'conclusion'.. unfortunately they cannot subscribe to the vagaries of Propaganda...

Another PNP plot foiled.... When Drivah announce the real "Stimulus Package" at the right 'time' it will be all over but for the shouting..

Mi feel seh Drivah was tekking notes during the PJ Dynasty.. dah Man couldn guh Stadium widout dem boo him.. yet him win 4 election...

Timing is everything...

whatever...

But mi wi jine unnu...mi juss love Brown Man Time... mi ah stan firm fi di 2nd term.. ah lang time mi nuh laff like mi ah laff now..LOL

Braying would be a more appropriate term for you..