• These JLP supporters had no loved ones among the 73

JLP Supporters Get Bellyful
    Published: Thursday | March 3, 20110 Comments

Jamaica Labour Party supporters at the Manatt-Dudus commission of enquiry yesterday.
    1 2 >
    Laura Redpath, Senior Gleaner Writer

While wit and bravado were on full display, creating many chuckle-filled moments during the square-off between K.D. Knight and Karl Samuda, the big question mark was on the mystery identity (or identities).

By the end of yesterday's sitting of the Manatt-Dudus commission of enquiry, after being asked about the identity (or identities) multiple times in different ways, he still had not said who prompted Brady to engage the United States law firm, Manatt, Phelps & Phillips.

During the first break, Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) supporters gathered in informal group discussions.

"Samuda nah budge," a man mumbled from his perch on the wall just outside the Jamaica Conference Centre, downtown Kingston, where the enquiry is being held.

He was rubbing his arm feverishly.

"Mhmm," a woman responded.

By the second break, relief was all around and party supporters were ecstatic at what some said they would describe as a successful sitting.

Pleased with proceedings

Susan Senior, Area One council secretary, said she has been to every single sitting of the commission of enquiry and was pleased with the proceedings so far.

"I think this (enquiry) is a good thing because Jamaicans need the truth," she said, backed by other JLP supporters. "We need to move forward and this way we can see and understand."

It was not hard to identify who the JLP supporters were, all of whom showed up to watch Samuda take the witness stand.

Knight, dressed in an orange tie, at one point jokingly flicked his tie at a seated group of Labourites, all of whom laughed in response.

"We nuh want him tie," a woman said to the man sitting beside her.

Pockets of supporters turned up dressed in all shades of green, some with stains on their shirts, while others paired the green with other colours such as yellow.

However, there was one woman who stood in the hallway just outside the conference room.

"Me cah go in deh," the lonesome PNP supporter said, shaking her head emphatically. "Not when in deh suh so green. Ah no my colour dat!"

As Robert Pickersgill, opposition spokesman on transport and works, walked in, his face split by a grin, she said: "Yes, boss, gwaan in boss."

He had already made it to the other side of the room and she was still mumbling.

"Gwaan mash dem up, gwaan help di sheriff (Knight)," she said, her wide eyes glued to the proceedings.

Knight had just finished flipping excitedly through papers and his head was raised among a sea of lowered heads, as he waved his finger in the direction of where the commissioners sat.

Meanwhile, a mild disturbance was taking place in the hallway.

"Phone alright," a new arrival said to a policeman on guard.

"Yu wah search me, general?" the man challenged the policeman, who was ensuring that all phones were off.

"How yu say yu phone off?" the lawman asked another man. "Me nuh like liad, yu know."

Soon enough, when the hallway had cleared following the stern request made by a senior officer to keep the passage "sterile", the policeman on duty started thumbing away on his own cellphone.

Resembled Parliament sitting

Some JLP members were present, seated across from Samuda, as well as members of parliament including Transport and Works Minister Mike Henry, Agriculture Minister Dr Christopher Tufton, Labour Minister Pearnel Charles and National Security Minister Dwight Nelson.

With many politicians present, the enquiry resembled a sitting of Parliament as laughter and mumbling were frequent.

At one point, Knight turned in his seat and had a staring contest with the JLP members, all of whom were sitting together. As the muscles in Knight's mouth visibly worked, the politicians burst into giggles.

For one man, the PNP's legal adviser A.J. Nicholson created a sore spot.

In response to everything Nicholson said out loud, the man would mumble something along the lines of "shut up".

"Was it Dudus?" Nicholson speculated in response to the mystery identity (-ties) of the persons who approached Harold Brady.

"Shut yu mout," the man mumbled.

"How do you know that?"

"Shut yu mout."

laura.redpath@gleanerjm.com

Wait .... heard exerpts of the Coroners Inquest being read and ppl killed in the Tivoli incident came from as far as Hanover and Manchester. People trying to give the impression that "ONLY" law abiding citizens got killed in the incident.

I recall law enforcers being killed, I recall police stations being set on fire .. suh gwaan try spinning this thing Mosiah. As for you, when the thugs block off enter into Tivoli, you were here bitching bout where is the leadership. Well see it deh .. the state show dem hand ... now all the police affi duh is say a man wanted and now many of dem a turn demselves in.

Get things straight.

Who fire-bomb police station? What yuh expect police to do in retailiation? This was inevitable as the sun coming up in the morning.

I recall all the talk here bout how army and police wouldnt dare retaliate because bad man have gun name gorilla, etc.

I recall telling peeps here that army have earth moving ARTILLARY that can take out entire buildings ones the MINISTER OF DEFENSE SIGN DI PAPERS. Man and man pooh poohed di I, but mi dun know this from ages ago as a good fren inna di army gi mi di info over 20 years ago.

Quite frankly, anyone with half a brain would have fled TG after the police station attack. Actions have consequences....as the politicians are now finding out. Look pon the twiting and turning over Mannat COE and how Omar and crew desperate to "ignore" the FINSAC debacle. Sins in darkness brought into di light.

Mek wi stop beat round the bush. Finsac was used for political retaliation purposes. Red-yeye and bad mind prevailed.

Get things straight.

Who fire-bomb police station? What yuh expect police to do in retailiation? This was inevitable as the sun coming up in the morning.

I recall all the talk here bout how army and police wouldnt dare retaliate because bad man have gun name gorilla, etc.

I recall telling peeps here that army have earth moving ARTILLARY that can take out entire buildings ones the MINISTER OF DEFENSE SIGN DI PAPERS. Man and man pooh poohed di I, but mi dun know this from ages ago as a good fren inna di army gi mi di info over 20 years ago.

Quite frankly, anyone with half a brain would have fled TG after the police station attack. Actions have consequences....as the politicians are now finding out. Look pon the twiting and turning over Mannat COE and how Omar and crew desperate to "ignore" the FINSAC debacle. Sins in darkness brought into di light.

Mek wi stop beat round the bush. Finsac was used for political retaliation purposes. Red-yeye and bad mind prevailed.
        Suh yuh know say Mosiah a fraud! He was the main one claiming who and who cyaan guh a Tivoli ... now things change him a complain.

Willi mi si yuh repeat nuff time dat stuff bout

I recall all the talk here bout how army and police wouldnt dare retaliate because bad man have gun name gorilla, etc
          Nuhbaddy neva seh dat ar nutten close to dat
          Common knowledge seh JDF ave armored vehicles, heavy weapons, aerial firepower etc... plus wi dun know seh General Saunders ave solid eddikation

. Mi memba wi did ah talk bout di Grizzly whey fire fram lang range an wi fi watch fi dat ... so said so done.. solja head get lick off clean clean fram one lang range sniper.. probly one grizzly

Tell im family an fren dem nuh fi fret bout dat
          Last edited by Don1; March 3, 2011, 10:23 AM.

I don't know but 73 killed and 4 guns found.

2 law enforcement officers killed.

when you add it all up, there is some splaining to do re the 73 killed! and we all know that is the number they have given us to hold!

Get things straight.

Utter nonsensical and insensitive remarks, Willi. I have good Christian friends who live in Tivoli. Luckily some could get out and go live somewhere else for the time being. How many people can do that? Or yuh have no understanding about these people's lives?!?

For the avoidance of doubt, I was all for the "invasion" of Tivoli when all this started, but it could never be a carpet bombing operation. Many decent people live in TG!

But how do you explain 73 killed and 4 guns? Who removed the other guns? How do you explain the reports, FIRST HAND REPORTS, from my friends who tell me about young men being removed from apartments and executed?!

Don't get me started. Unnu buiuld monument for 25 people some years ago, but somehow we are to believe that the 73 who died last year were deserving victims.

Please!

LoL

Yeah,
                Grizzly, not Gorilla.

However, man and man did seh dat soljah wouldah fraid. Well we see who ketch dem fraid.

Security forces die nearly every day on the job, unfortunately, with or without specific operations being in effect. However, it was always gonna be one result.

And YES, mi did have to argue with man dat the army was WAYYY more powerful. Dont draw my Search engine. LoL

Unfortunate, but I would give the same advice to Jews in Nazi Germany. it was ongly going to end up one way. Yuh haffi read the writing on the wall.

What being Christian have to do with anything???

I built no monument for any 25...a whey yuh tek mi fah?

Now, the execution thing would be barbaric, but that would be the vigilante police actions we all know about. Who you really blame for that?

So now its 4 guns?? 4 gunman responsible for the firebombing of station and the mass rally defying the police to come in. Gunman from all political stripes and geographies somehow managed to show up in Tivoli by magic? Is who was saying dem have tunnel to escape? Same tunnels to funnel out the guns.

Okay, so we have a lot of questions unanswered. Then let's have an enquiry with some teeth! People need fi go a jail!

Yes, call for an Enquiry makes sense ... but to act as if law enforcement shouldn't go in is hypocritical.

Who said law enforcement shouldn't go in?! You are the king of search. Go ahead and see what I said at the time. Or stop lying!

Dont draw my Search engine. LoL
                          Mi waan fi draw it, cause some people a say me did say all sorts of things dat, quite frankly, I cannot recall!

Who said law enforcement shouldn't go in?! You are the king of search. Go ahead and see what I said at the time. Or stop lying!
                            No ... yuh need to stop the bitching. If they didn't go in you'd be bitching, they went in yuh still ... well ... a you name Mosiah di Hypocrite.

I didnt call your name. Frankly, is not you mi did a talk bout.