JLP begging KD to ease off

true! When Samuda and other liads can just not answer questions posed to them, then it is indeed a waste of time!

$500 fine! a wha dat?!?

I dont subscribe to the Peter the Great BS, but I dont want to wholesale condemn him either. He is FARRRR from clean, but still better than a lot of the others and perhaps is more redeemable than most.

This thing mix up bad, but when you have a decent memory, things can make a certain sense. I recall his PC being stolen during a break-in, immediately after the last election. Was that linked in anyway to his shenanighans or Dudus shenanighans. It would be interesting to know what data was lost.

The internecine wars COULD have been dealt with far better than the "throwing the hands in the air" aproach. This was PNP feuds, so putting that on Dudus is a stretch. Dudus controlled the Black Roses crew?

As bad as MM was in his youthful days, I dont see this crap getting so out whack if he stuck around longer. Cant see Dudus getting so big under his watch.

True dat.

Mi luv di COEs, even without teeth. Keep the ticians on their toes!!!!

The price of freedom is eternal vigilance. We have been too lax for too long.

Nutten wrong wid di grilling!

You can't be so ignorant, or can you?!? So you think Dudus was only suppyling JLP posses? And even if he was, do you think these gangs operate down strict party lines, and that no guns ever change colour? Surely you are not that naive!

It is said and widely believed that Dudus controlled the wharf. Where did all those guns go, just to JLP gangs? How much gun Tivoli need suh!

Willi... lawks, some tings can't even talk pon dis forum, but yuh not dat ignorant. Try fool smaddy else!

yuh being nice!!! let me be nicer "t was "intuitively challenged"

I dont subscribe to the Peter the Great BS, but I dont want to wholesale condemn him either. He is FARRRR from clean, but still better than a lot of the others and perhaps is more redeemable than most.

This thing mix up bad, but when you have a decent memory, things can make a certain sense. I recall his PC being stolen during a break-in, immediately after the last election. Was that linked in anyway to his shenanighans or Dudus shenanighans. It would be interesting to know what data was lost.

The internecine wars COULD have been dealt with far better than the "throwing the hands in the air" aproach. This was PNP feuds, so putting that on Dudus is a stretch. Dudus controlled the Black Roses crew?

As bad as MM was in his youthful days, I dont see this crap getting so out whack if he stuck around longer. Cant see Dudus getting so big under his watch.
              What do you mean about the Peter the Great BS?

Are you saying working with the US and Britian to feret out the Dons was a terrible thing?

Even before you answer: I say it was a great thing and the proof of the pudding is in the eating - It forced Likle Brucie to get rid of Dudus and in his attempt to do so brought the criminality orginating in Tivoli to a virtual stand-still!

That was and still is a great outcome!

Did he suggest he be charged? Yuh think Samuda would have a hard time paying $500?

Yes KD did (see highlights in red), its not about money, its about a line that is not supposed to be crossed. Politicians protect politians agaisnst charges, police protect police against charges, gunman protect gunman against charges.
                Samuda refuses to reveal source of Manatt funds

Published: Thursday | March 3, 2011 2 Comments

Karl Samuda, former general secretary of the Jamaica Labour Party, testifies at the Manatt-Dudus commission of enquiry in downtown Kingston yesterday.

Gary Spaulding, Senior Gleaner Writer The refusal of former [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]Jamaica[/COLOR][/COLOR] Labour Party (JLP) General Secretary Karl Samuda to reveal the identity of party supporters who provided US$49,000 to engage the services of [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]United [COLOR=blue !important]States[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR] law firm, Manatt, Phelps & Phillips, yesterday triggered an intriguing stand-off with the [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]attorney[/COLOR][/COLOR] representing the People's National Party, K.D. [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]Knight[/COLOR][/COLOR].
                This prompted Knight, who was cross-examining Samuda at the Manatt-Dudus commission of enquiry, to urge the commission to haul the minister before the courts because of his refusal to answer.
                "I am asking the commission to take the necessary step as provided in the (Commission of Enquiry Act) in the same way that it was not hesitant to take steps against Mr (Harold) Brady," suggested Knight.
                Brady has been hauled before the [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]Corporate[/COLOR][/COLOR] Area Resident Magistrate's Court for refusing to give evidence at the enquiry.
                But the threat of court action did not seem to faze Samuda.
                However, Knight later withdrew his demand.
                Under cross-examination from Knight, Samuda said persons had approached Brady, who is closely associated with the JLP, to initiate exploratory talks with Manatt.
                "I would not be prepared to answer … they are party people who have served well and I can't … ," Samuda said.
                But that is as far as he would go on the matter.
                Knight: "Who paid the money?"
                Samuda: "I have no intention of revealing those names."
                Knight: "Why."
                Samuda: "I do not intend to reveal internal party matters … ."
                Knight: "It's no longer a party matter … there are allegations and obfuscations every part of the way."
                Samuda: "I know you are frustrated … ."
                Knight: "Don't tell me about my frustration."
                Phipps' objection
                As the exchange reached fever pitch, Frank Phipps, the attorney representing the JLP, objected to the line of questions, arguing that they had nothing to do with the commission's terms of reference.
                However, Knight countered that the objection was without merit.
                "I am suggesting to you that this is a fabrication," declared Knight. "No one approached Mr Brady."
                But Samuda rebutted that he detected a level of frustration in the attorney.
                "All of this was a sham, there was a plot within the Jamaica Labour Party to prevent the extradition of Dudus," countered Knight.
                "I disagree vehemently," responded Samuda.
                The former JLP general secretary told the commission that he came into the picture when he was asked to investigate and bring about some resolution to an impasse between former JLP Deputy Treasurer Daryl Vaz and Brady which had gone public.
                "Would you agree that the investigations was nothing but a sham … ?" queried Knight.
                Samuda rejected the suggestion.
                The minister also denied knowledge that JLP leader Bruce Golding had committed US$100,000 per quarter to pay Manatt.
                Prodded samuda
                Patrick Atkinson, attorney for Dr Peter Phillips, took up where Knight left off as he prodded Samuda to say who approached Brady to engage the services of Manatt.
                Atkinson: "I am suggesting to you that Mr Coke was an important person to the Jamaica Labour Party, would you agree?"
                Samuda: "He was a supporter of the JLP."
                Atkinson: "Was he important to it (the party)?"
                Samuda: "We have never viewed him as a political operative."
                Atkinson: "I am suggesting to you that he was important to the election machinery of the JLP."
                Samuda: "Well, you are telling me something that I am not aware of."
                Atkinson: "I am suggesting to you that there would be a political backlash if Mr Coke was extradited."
                Samuda: "I don't agree with you."
                But Atkinson suggested that the JLP took the initiative for the extradition request to go away.
                "I suggest that the Government was stalling while the JLP negotiated behind the scenes to get the US government to withdraw."
                But Samuda rejected the suggestion.
                gary.spaulding@gleanerjm.com

Fine! So do you think KD should have withdrawn the request? I could pay that fine for Samuda! Several times! In US dollars too!

Oh, I know things cross the line, but i know Politics still plays a big part. How you think Tivoli wipe out NDM in Span Twn?

Yes, I know bout the wharf and do agree bout dat, but you neglect my main points.

I was talking bout the Knighthood campaign.

I dont like they way either the MOU or the incursion was done, but i agree BOTH wanted Dudus out for their own reasons and both will try to corner the credit. Neither fools me....but hey, mi glad the dollyhouse mash up!

Originally posted by Time View Post
                        Hmm, notice that KD withdrew the suggestion that Samuda be charged? Politicians don't get other politicians charged,.

And that my friend is he truth and the whole truth. At the end of this expensive circus, they will all be enjoying their cocktail hour.

Outside of Parliament, all these 'ticians support each other; and many of them are blood related, no matter what side of the party fence they are on.

Never in my wildest dream could I be that desperate and take these people seriously.

Yes, its a waste of time to charge him. The bigger issue is that it would be bangarang if Samuda answered that question truthfully.

well, come bangarang, come nightmare, is di truth wi a seek!

Did you see that Movie - "An Officer and a Gentleman" with Jack Nicholson, as Col. Jessep and his outburst "You want the truth, you can't handle the truth".

Can you handle?

that was not an officer and a gentleman ... mi figget di name now but ask maudib.