fff' up justice system ah dem country yah, more like injustice ebrytime.
guilty ..thats the verdict!
Yuh mean when dem ah beat, shoot and brutalize wi dem get weh wid it nuff time. Ah nuff wicked tings dem get weh wid yahsuh doan eben get it twisted, an praise dem up. Kah if nuff ah wi wouldah at least stan up an call di spade an nuh hypocrite kah wi live yah, den di argument wouldah hold some watah yes.
You nuh! Clearly he believed he could beat the charge, as did most of his supporters up to about 30 minutes ago.
I always thought he did have some intent and probably got cold feet at the last minute. I really believe it was a case of entrapment though.
Man a tallk bout the great justice system in the US? Me nuh really see this case as an example of that."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
?. The lower price in Ja makes commiting crimes cheaper, hence more crimes, hence more victims, hence more corruption hence more ............... You can add the rest. Everything is cheaper in Jamaica; body bags, funeral homes, cemetary fees, mad house admission fees, support for fatherless children,......... You can add the rest.
As so we tan. If Buju got way the same ones who would rejoice, now he is found guilty them a go find ever info fi say him a drug dealer from when and dis and dat.
We defend the Don when them beat the law and when them found guilty them a the worst thing that ever happen, make you wonder if a the same person.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
I thought he had a trial, was duely represented by counsel, and the verdict was based on the weight of the evidence. Isn't that enough to justify rejoicing in ones innocence and equally justified in criticizing one for his guilt in the commission of a crime?. Assuming, of course, that one believes in obeying the law, and the vetues of a fair trial. Come on man, your argument is moot, at best. Sorry bredren, frame you argument likle betta dan dat.
A sad day for Buju and Jamaica...but a teachable moment for the youth.... fly straight and be careful of your company
God mercy & strength pon GargamelTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Originally posted by Hortical View PostHe should have accepted the plea bargain last September, and he would serve just another year in prison.
Hmm, If he is not a US citizen then that would wreck right to perform in the US. He did the right thing by contesting the charges. I thought that he had a good chance to beat the charges because he never knew that he was going to a drug deal.The same type of thinking that created a problem cannot be used to solve the problem.
Originally posted by Time View PostHmm, If he is not a US citizen then that would wreck right to perform in the US. He did the right thing by contesting the charges. I thought that he had a good chance to beat the charges because he never knew that he was going to a drug deal."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
A real legal system??? Give me a break! A country where most of the men in prison are blacks. Where convicted rapists, murders are afterwards found to be innocent???
Check this:
While many claim that the long tradition of racism in the united states ended with the Civil Rights Movement of the 1960s, the legacies of slavery and segregation continue to affect u.s. society on all levels. Today, African-Americans are disproportionately imprisoned by racist drug laws, denied access to the economic and educational benefits enjoyed by Anglo-Americans, and robbed of their civil rights and human dignity by a pervasive white supremacy that lurks just beneath the surface of our so-called democracy. This country’s criminal justice system has not escaped the influence of, and is frequently the direct tool for, this racism.
Our criminal
injustice system creates a situation in which African-American men have greater than a 1 in 4 chance of going to prison
(compared to 1 in 23 for a white man)1 and in which the violence and horror of lynching have been transformed and institutionalized into a new form: the racist death penalty.
1 Lifetime Likelihood of Going to State or Federal Prison. Bureau of Justice Statistics, 1997.
African-Americans represent
:
• 12.7%
of the US population
• 15%
of US drug users
(72% of all users are white)
• 36.8%
of those arrested for a
drug abuse violation
• 48.2%
of American adults in State
or Federal prisons and local jails
• 42.5%
of prisoners under
sentence of death
So Exile, tell me something, how many Chinese, Lebanese, Jews, Portuguese, St. Elizabeth whites in the prisons of Jamaica?.
Your argument is a well rehearsed and had been rather attractive one for the last 40 years. If only for its simplicity. For the sake of more nuanced 21st century discussions, it should be considered an excuse rather than an explanation. Most intelligent people have abandoned that nonsense nowadays, even the criminals of African extraction themselves.
true dat...TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE