• Readers lambast critic of gift-bearing cruise ship couple

Tuesday, February 22, 2011

A retired American couple received the overwhelming backing of Jamaicans who lambasted a man who criticised them for handing out toys on arrival on Falmouth's first cruise ship last week.

George Watson found himself almost alone in his criticism of Carl and Gail Hileman of Flower Mound, Texas, which he posted after reading the story of their good deeds yesterday on the Observer website.
    Carl and Gail Hileman handing out gifts to students in Falmouth, Trelawny, last Wdnesday. (Photo: Alan Lewin)

#slideshowtoggler, #slideshowtoggler a, #slideshowtoggler img {filter:none !important;zoom:normal !important}
    1/1

The couple who came in on the historic Voyager of the Seas last Wednesday, gave out stuffed toys and words of encouragement to the large number of children, mostly from the Hope Basic School, who were on hand to greet the vessel.
    The wheel-chair bound Gail, a retired schoolteacher, reportedly gave the children each a souvenir bag with one US dollar and told them: "Keep this, don't spend it. And dream, dream big, dream that you have a million of these."
    Watson, in his comment, wrote: "I know it might sound ungrateful, but this all looks so patronising. And another thing, why do these Caucasian people go around the world giving white dolls to people in a black country? I recently saw where the wife of the head of TBN (Trinity Broadcasting Network) went to this African country giving away hundreds of white dolls to these children. Is it deliberate or am I too sensitive? I never gave white dolls to my girls and they in turn don't do it to their children. In fact, I think that giving dolls to girls encourages them to have children at a early age."
    Watson's words backfired as he was met with a barrage of criticism:
    Marie Morgan: I truly wish I hadn't read the comments after reading this article. Mr Watson, you are a disappointment to all who have hope for the country we love. Did you somehow miss the fact that she also handed "each" child a bag with a one dollar (US) bill and told them to "dream big"? Really sir, you leave me speechless. I pray to God that there are more people in the world like Mrs Gail and her husband than there are of people like you...
    Antonette W: Mr Watson, I'm not going to insult you. In fact, I get your point about the white dolls that were given to the African children. Your level of awareness is not to be minimised (wink, wink.) However, relative to the acts of kindness from this generous and considerate couple, your words do come across as ungrateful and insensitive and left me feeling troubled. You didn't really mean to be a Dreambreaker...did you?
    Noel Richards: Gail Hileman and her husband mean well. Take it that way.
    Mickey Evans: I'm not sure what article Mr Watson read but this one clearly states that Ms Gail removed a number of stuffed toys and presented them to the students. Where did he see di ppl dem give out white dollies....Yo, reading is FUNDAMENTAL!!
    Marie Morgan: Editor, I'm so upset that I'd like to report Mr Watson's comments as offensive and abusive and feel that it should be removed.
    Ann Johnson: I like the dollar gift with the message, that sounds good. Maybe she just loves children and those were the type of dolls she could find. I remember in the 60s and 70s though, when at Christmas the girls used to get their dolls and the boys would get a gun. Maybe that's what George remembers. We all see how things have turned out!
    Kevin Sanders: To George Watson, did you happen to see that this lady is in a wheelchair and did not let that handicap her from still trying to do a good deed? What's wrong with a person bringing a smile to a little child? Are you so cynical that everything has to have some sort of demonic meaning behind it?
    Isaac Riley Jr: Our greatest asset is our youth...Let's endeavour to give them an environment that maximises their potential.
    Jody Hyde: George Watson, you are jealous, you wanted those gifts for yourself, that's the only reason I could think of. I do not know you, but from your comments many a times, I can see that you are an attention seeker. Words of Advice, today February 21st, 2011 (Family Day in Ontario) -- Find a school, a hospital or some other organisation and do some volunteer work, then you will understanding the meaning of giving.
    Esmore Gillings: GW, you are a classic case of...It's amazing how you've overlooked the most important message: "Keep this; don't spend it, and dream, dream big, dream that you have a million of these," she urged. She also told the students to make use of their education and encouraged them to make a worthwhile contribution to Jamaica."
    David Crawford: Mr Watson, instead of just sitting and complaining, why don't you go to some of these communities and give something to these kids. They were obviously happy for the presents. If you do not have anything constructive to say then keep quiet and yes, you ungrateful.
    — Desmond Allen

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz1Eh9PPQQn

Ahh.. finally find out Don1 real name !

exposed to ********!

sigh

could it be that the children were dressed in shower green uniforms?

is he Carl? or him is Gail?

Xile yuh a start trouble so early in my morning, lets be diplomatic , its the thought that counts.

I hope some can get the sarcasm.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

When I visited a rural school in the Dominican Republic a few years ago, the teachers recommended that books, pencils & other educational gifts should be given directly to the educators who would distribute the items. The gifts would then be given to children of the highest needs....