• Sangster cork

Jamaica breaks stop over visitor-arrival records

Published: Monday | February 21, 2011 1 Comment

Janet Silvera, Senior Gleaner Writer WESTERN BUREAU:
    [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]Jamaica[/COLOR][/COLOR] HAS broken all previous stopover visitor-arrival records for any single weekend with the Sangster [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]International [COLOR=blue !important]Airport[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR] welcoming some 20,695 [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]tourists[/COLOR][/COLOR] - 7,490 more than last year.
    The [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]airport[/COLOR][/COLOR] was packed with Americans and Canadians who capitalised on the long Presidents' Weekend in the United States.
    In fact, American actor Michael Manning Weatherly Jr, best known for his role as Special Agent Anthony DiNozzo on the television series NCIS, and Ivana Trump, former wife of billionaire Donald Trump, were among travellers reportedly delayed at the airport as a result of the long lines and the lengthy time to fill out the immigration and customs forms.
    Last Friday night, Tourism Minister Edmund Bartlett announced plans to abolish outgoing immigration as the country moves towards a comprehensive review of the process to enable hassle-free access for visitors and Jamaicans.
    Earnings implications
    On Saturday alone, 9,798 visitors were processed by immigration officers, the largest number of tourists to come through Sangster on any given day, Bartlett said.
    The earnings implications, Bartlett noted, were about US$22 million for the weekend, pumping much-needed funds into the island's number-one industry.
    "Tourism brings wealth to the country if we are able to maintain our numbers," said the tourism minister, asserting at the same time that the jump in arrivals and the flourishing winter tourist season had been predicted by him and his marketing team.
    "We put in place the infrastructure by ensuring one million airline seats were available to Jamaica," he stated, reiterating that it was important to continue the successful partnership with airline partners and tour operators.
    The summer and beyond is now the tourism minister's concern, and he argues that that period is at risk because the airlines are looking for greater partnership.
    janet.silvera@gleanerjm.com

You are still not addressing one fundamental question.

Positive!!

what is your question Jawge?

Given all these huge arrivals and based on the fact that these tourists will be staying in an AI hotel, how will the local economy benefit? Thanks.

Is only AI hotel lef inna Jamaica?

No, but that's where most guest (if not all ) will stay. Check if you don't believe me. Notice Sass silent? Ok then

It's either they come and stay in all-inclusives or they don't come at all. Thanks to the crime problem, those are the choices you have.

and thanks for amplifying my point (a cry I have been making on this site for some time now).

Money is being made off crime? Hmmmm

Black River Safari & YS Falls, Caliche River Rafting, Chukka Tours, Dunns River, Croydon Plantation, Dolphin Cove, Greenwood Greathouse, John's Hall Adventure Tour, Mystic Mountain, Ricks Cafe, Nine Miles etc...unless you are claiming that AI tourists don't go on excursions and that these tour companies are not Jamaican?
                    Last edited by Bricktop; February 21, 2011, 02:52 PM.

The trickle-down to the main economy is minimal...but it does exists.

Maybe 25% of that tourists number include Jamaicans who frequent A.I. because of the excellent deals. These Jamaicans travel outside the normal touristy spots to spend their money.....

Most important, the employment that these A.I. provide-- keep the surrounding communities afloat.
                      Last edited by HL; February 21, 2011, 04:46 PM.

Don't worry Jawge.. wi ah guh deal wid dat FULLY in the 2nd Term..First Term is stablize di Economy and put it back on track with a future...Di recession hold wi back likkle but ah suh it guh (bad luck wuss dan obeah) what yuh si so far re the Crime Reduction is juss a start.. by middle of 2nd Term murder rate should be back to pre "Black Man Time" levels..

Low Jawge. we agree it could be more but the fact is it is mostly poor Jamaican employed in the hotels in Jamaica who use these menial jobs however it is to lift their families out of poverty, some optaining undergrads and graduates degrees.

There is still a good amount of hotels in Jamaica that are not AI. You don't have to go to a AI if you don't want one. AI is good for the travelling family as you already have a budget. This don't mean you don't go out and do other things and even go to enjoy other meals but it means that you have a budget covered. He has two young kids, he will find out soon.
                          You know Jamaica but many family don't and would rather knowing their basic stuff is covered. That is not about crime.

The fact is when a port is open and the people who get employed there and who are employed in these stores, plus JUTA drivers, and the local storekeepers when people go wondering in the local town, are you telling me they do not benefit? Are the AI alone benefitting.

Sometimes we thend to blame everything and everyone for our shortfall. The fact is if we clean up our communities, provide cultural activities, know about our country and our history and treat people good(you notice I don't say treat tourist), teach tourism in schools and realise the potential we can succeed and benefit. Kingston is crime plagued and we still have hotel their that is not AI doing good business. Last time I checked Halfmoon, Round Hill, Tryall, and many others are not AI.

We have to believe in ourself. A former co-worker who is a manager at a local hotel started a tour company with a few friends and you know what?
                          She is doing real great. Yes we need to do our thing.

Money is being made off crime? Hmmmm
                            I think it's more the case of money being made in spite of crime, and thank god, tourism revenue has been Jamaica's saving grace whilst the rest of the economy was run into the ground.

MANY thanks the Yankees for the massive-kick-up-the-existing-government-royal -a$$...that resulted in the crime reduction you mentioned: