• Real Heroes

Real heroes and privileges
    SHERMAN ESCOFFERY
    Saturday, February 19, 2011

I remember as a child living on North Avenue in Kingston and seeing a huge statue of Simon Bolivar near National Heroes Circle. I used to wonder who he was and why it was there. Later as a young teen, I read about Bolivar, his exile in Jamaica and Haiti, and his eventual return and liberation of most of Latin America. The statue was a gift from Venezuela to acknowledge the time Bolivar spent in Jamaica and the inspiration he got while here to write what is now known as "Letter from Jamaica". The letters were written over a period of four months and in them he outlined his reflections and vision for Latin America -- which he later proceeded to act upon in leading the charge for the Independence of several countries including Venezuela, Bolivia and Colombia. That was when I began to understand that Jamaica was indeed an inspirational place. Yet we still act like lumpish natives, marvelling at colourful trinkets as we trade away all our golden resources.

Nearly 50 years after Independence, we still need European or American validation to believe in the beauty of our country and the greatness of our people, instead of simply knowing these things. Marcus Garvey, Bob Marley and Claude McKay all had to be recognised abroad before we would acknowledge them, and even to this day we are still slightly ashamed of them because of their politics, belief and sense of place in this world. They would not conform to our outdated and brainwashed Anglo-Saxon illusion of role models and success. We are still very uncomfortable in fully embracing our own Reggae music. Is it because of the Rasta and African element in it that has shaped different cultures and lifestyles? Is it because it encourages a new way of thinking in terms of dissolving some of the shackles of mental slavery that many still cling to?
    (From left) MARCUS GARVEY, CLAUDE MCKAY, BOB MARLEY... had to be recognised abroad before we would acknowledge them.

#slideshowtoggler, #slideshowtoggler a, #slideshowtoggler img {filter:none !important;zoom:normal !important}
    1/1

Many Jamaicans still feign national pride in our athletes like Merlene Ottey and many others who should have defined us as a global superpower in track and field long before Usain Bolt struck the athletic world as a unique specimen. We still do not trumpet the work of Dr Thomas Lecky, who created three new breeds of cattle in Jamaica. Two of these breeds, the Jamaica Hope and the Jamaica Brahman, went on to change cattle farming not only in Jamaica but also the rest of the world.

We have failed to instil a real sense of pride in our children for Jamaican musical heroes, as they feel no real sense of connection to them. They would rather be a Jay-Z or Drake than a Shaggy or Sean Paul. They would rather be a Mr Biggs than Jimmy Cliff. They would rather do a foreign music that was birthed by Jamaican music than authentic Jamaican music. We have lost more than our musical pride. The name Jimmy Cliff or Perry Henzell will bring a look of puzzlement to their faces. The name Michael Lee Chin is just the "Chinese" man that owns the bank and the name Merlene Ottey or Mike McCallum carries an air of familiarity without any real weight.

This is why many of us have got it twisted in thinking it was a privilege for Jamaica to have had Ian Fleming live here, instead of the truth -- it was a privilege for Ian Fleming to have lived in Jamaica. Simply put, Jamaica is a magnificent country that many people know as an inspirational and beautiful place. It is the reason why many expatriates just can't seem to find their way back home after their tours of duty have ended.

This is not about race or even about being born in Jamaica.
    Would I question the Jamaican in Chris Blackwell, Edward Seaga, or even the late Dr George Phillip? No! It is about our collective failure to celebrate Jamaicans who have exemplified what it is to be a Jamaican by making this country a better place, instead of wealthy visitors who come to play and then we immortalise them like silly natives worshipping false gods.
    We need to instil a sense of pride in our children by highlighting Jamaica and Jamaicans in whom they can see themselves. This will let them know that they are from a great, beautiful and inspiring place of many real heroes. They will learn that they can accomplish anything or go out and conquer the world with their contribution in this life, and possibly be the next Jimmy Cliff, Michael Lee Chin or Dr Thomas Lecky.

The next time we decide to use a person's name on anything in our country, even if it is something as trivial as an aerodrome, remember that we have qualified citizens here who have made an impact for the better, and their life story will serve as a better example why people should visit Jamaica.
    Sherman Escoffery is a music consultant, music producer and host of Jamaican Musical Reasoning Interactive on E2onair.com. Blazetv@gmail.com

"The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

I have absolutely no issues with Sherman Escofferys' commentary:

The FACT that there is such a debate--is the complete fault of Jamaicans.

It is due to backwardness in thought process. Jamaicans pursue trivial issues with passion. They know everything!!. *"WE MAJOR IN THE MINOR"

Take a look (again) at Exiles' submission titled " Jamaica Burning".

Look too at Willi's thread titled: Why are we poor"

The question is: WHO IS BURNING JAMAICA and Who is making Jamaica Poor..........................?

Jamaicans are burning Jamaica!!!; and it's Jamaicans who are making themselves poor. DUH!!!

And one extremely sad thing is that this forum serves as an excellent case study of how the above is happening.

Ever notice the intractable battle lines that is drawn by supporters of both stupid local political parties!? How they apologize for their partys' recklessness...and how they explain things away in the name of the party they support.

Escofferys' piece is written based purely on pride and shame. Das why I have no issue with is commentary.

*(Willi's quote).

Well said HL!
      "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

I have absolutely no issues with Sherman Escofferys' commentary:

The FACT that there is such a debate--is the complete fault of Jamaicans.

It is due to backwardness in thought process. Jamaicans pursue trivial issues with passion. They know everything!!. *"WE MAJOR IN THE MINOR"

Take a look (again) at Exiles' submission titled " Jamaica Burning".

Look too at Willi's thread titled: Why are we poor"

The question is: WHO IS BURNING JAMAICA and Who is making Jamaica Poor..........................?

Jamaicans are burning Jamaica!!!; and it's Jamaicans who are making themselves poor. DUH!!!

And one extremely sad thing is that this forum serves as an excellent case study of how the above is happening.

Ever notice the intractable battle lines that is drawn by supporters of both stupid local political parties!? How they apologize for their partys' recklessness...and how they explain things away in the name of the party they support.

Escofferys' piece is written based purely on pride and shame. Das why I have no issue with is commentary.

*(Willi's quote).
        "can the church say amen!"

Nothing new....its been said for the past 30 years,what you think the circus enquiry on tv is about..the reafirmation of a bad political debt with socioeconomic consequences,the spectators or audience are mentally enslaved to the point of smiling and laughing

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Don't pass yuh place Yankee...

Well said HL.
              That has got to be the most disappointing aspect of our beloved forum. This is one of the media through which Jamaicans, of above average intelligence, can express their views, as a community, on a wide range of issues. Yet despite the plethora of well schooled men and woman/women, of trained eloquence, who post on this forum, we cant seem to get the political-party-activism ghost exorcised from some forumites. Unfortunately objectivity gives way to subjectivity, and party dogma gets in the way of reality. Of course some are more guilty than others. In fact, it is not difficult for the postings of some, let me stress the word some, posters to be misconstrued to be little more than cheap political advertisement. Quite depressing at times.