• In my mind, this don't sound too good for Buju

Buju jury asks to see gun

2011-02-18 11:20:04 | with audio | (2 Comments)

Buju Banton outside a Florida courtroom- Daraine Luton/Photographer
    The jury considering the fate of Jamaica reggae artiste Buju Banton has reportedly requested to see the gun which was recovered from his former co-accused James Mack.

One of the four gun and cocaine charges Banton faces is knowingly and intentionally possessing a firearm in furtherance of and during the course of a drug-trafficking crime.

In his instructions to the members of the jury this morning, judge Jim Moody said that if they find the defendant guilty the cocaine charge, they may also find him guilty on the gun charge.

He also instructed that the jury could request to see the gun and the cocaine at any point during the deliberations.

Only photographs of the gun and the cocaine have been given to the jury in the jury room.

Jury deliberations are secret and therefore it is uncertain what would have resulted in the request to see the gun.

If convicted on any of the counts he could be sent to prison for life.

Judge Moody did warn the jury not to consider the issue of punishment if they believe Buju is guilty.

"If you find the defendant guilty the punishment is for the judge alone," he said.

I don't read much into that. If only one person wants to see the weapon, the jury foreman will send that request to the judge.

It is my conculsion that the US Court system do not rely too heavily on facts and evidence. It is more about postions the Judges and the juries reach based on "I believe" matters not what the facts of the case suggest or the evidence shows.

So...I am thinking Buju shall walk free or not based on that "I believe". In other words if subjective decisions say freedom, he walks; if put him in jail, that is it.

Hmm, I understand why if the cocaine trafficing charge stick then the gun charge would be relevant (if you brethen have a gun then you have it too) but I thought that the judge had already threw out the gun charge. If a charge is toss out then how can you convict on it?

I think that is generally true of Trial by Jury everywhere.

It is a flawed system but like democracy its the best one we have come up with so far.

During the first Buju trial I remember Gamma recommending the movie "Twelve Angry Men" on the forum, which I watched about a month ago. Damn good movie. Makes you wonder how close to reality it is in terms of how members of a jury think and what will influence them.

Apparently the judge did not throw it out. The report said that the judge's woords were that if they think he is guilty on the coke charge they can consider the gun charge. So if folks want to see the gun, in my mind, it means that those folks are beyond the coke charge and wanting to consider the gun charge. But maybe, just maybe, the reports are not all accurate.

During the first Buju trial I remember Gamma recommending the movie "Twelve Angry Men" on the forum, which I watched about a month ago. Damn good movie. Makes you wonder how close to reality it is in terms of how members of a jury think and what will influence them.

Yep, damn good movie. A professor had us watch it during a Leadership course.

Jurors are like the average man/woman. Some people have hidden agendas, some believe anyone who is charged with a crime is guilty of the offense, some do not trust the police etc.

I think that is generally true of Trial by Jury everywhere.

It is a flawed system but like democracy its the best one we have come up with so far.
                    You know, I always thought our (in Jamaica) system of justice relied primarily on facts and evidence?!

...mmmm?
                    Perhaps I am naive?????!!!!!!

Perhaps. I have a good bredren who was a prosecutor in JA and the things he said that would influence members of a jury to acquit was startling.

Like if you prosecuting a case in the country and come across like a big shot from town who want to send Miss Mattie bwoy go a jail, you can forget it. Evidence be damned. You better talk bout you granny down a Petersfield and what she woulda say bout the case.

Come now Karl, you are thinking about a utopia world that does not exist.

OK, looking like another hung jury.

Time for the govt to deploy thier resources elsewhere. You got a year and a few months of time from Buju, call it a day and move on.

Not necessarily. There are multiple counts to deliberate on.

excellent... now that you've seen 12 angry men, may i recommend gideon's trumphet... facinating book... the movie is excellent with henry fonda again... funny that both were a required part of a class i took...