Base on the figures I am seeing

• Base on the figures I am seeing

it seems like there will be decent economic growth for this quarter.

I hope I am not disappointed.

1% is projected as a possibility

With 9% growth so far in tourism. 12% increase in remittance in december, JDIP, production in agriculture, Falmouth Pier bringing in over 10000 visitors over the next month and a half, I would be surprise if it wasn't a decent growth for the quarter.

Growth in tourism..are you talking about a 9% increase in arrivals?? How does that translate in real economic growth?

9% growth means more money paid to Jamaican hoteliers and more money been spend at local businesses. It all count in GDP. More revenue for the government and hopefully more people employed in that sector.

as I said the projections published that I've seen are for 1% growth

Falmouth pier? LOL! you are so off track on how overall production in the entire economy is manifested that it defies belief

What are you suggesting 10,000 people visit and hopefully buy from local stores, are you telling me it have no impact on the economy? All the people who will be employed in the shops that they are building plus, other spin off. Are you saying that impact is so small it won't add to to growth. I have stated not one but three different industries that have shown huge growth and this can impact the GDP.

I am saying again that I have not seen any near term projections for GDP growth in Jamaica beyond 1% - 1.5% ... you get too excited about a few likkle developments too easily ... I know you are on a mission to project the positive...but juss chill nuh?

here is an IMF projection..

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/busin...-world_8046873

This projection was reaffirmed by the IMF in the last month or two...but mi nah spend time fi look fi dat... if yuh waan feel seh di economy aggo tek off near term...God bless yuh

I guess we have to wait for the offical number but I still think it will be bigger than that. If we could have .5 decline in the last quarter then.....

If we grow at 10% over the next 3 years we will be back to where we were in 2007

Well we have to start somewhere. How long will it take other countries to get back where they were in 2007?

did we have recession before then?

I guess we have to wait for the offical number but I still think it will be bigger than that. If we could have .5 decline in the last quarter then.....

I don't know about other countries....

Neither am I necessarily blaming this regime for the situation

Sass know dat Cuba expecting 3% growth?

nuf nuf werk fi you!! hehee