• Good work Mr. Shaw

Shaw raises cheap US$400m through int'l capital market

Published: Tuesday | February 15, 2011 7 Comments

Shaw

Finance Minister Audley Shaw has announced the successful placement of a US$400-million eurobond at a record interest rate of 7.95 per cent, the lowest rate at which Jamaica has ever raised funds on the international capital market. The offer replaces a US$400-million eurobond that was issued in 2001 at 11.75 per cent and which matures in May. The lead managers for the transaction - Deutsche Bank Securities Inc and BNP Paribas Securities Inc - reported that the issue was three times oversubscribed, with more than US$1 billion in orders from several institutional accounts in the United States and Europe, as well as some [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]investors[/COLOR][/COLOR] from the Latin American and Caribbean region.
    "Importantly, today's offer met specific liquidity and structural requirements which now places it in the [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]Emerging [COLOR=blue !important]Market[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR] Bond Index, making it more attractive to investors," stated a release from the finance ministry yesterday.
    In reacting to the successful placement of the issue and its over-subscription, Shaw said: "Notwith-standing a tightening in the international market, I am very pleased that we were able to meet my original objective of staying within a seven to eight per cent band. It is an unmistakable endorsement in the direction Jamaica is taking, and I intend to press ahead with scheduled reforms to build further business confidence."
    The floating of yesterday's bond follows a series of meetings between Shaw and [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]institutional [COLOR=blue !important]investors[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR] across the US cities of New York, Los Angeles, and Boston last week, and with European [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]investors[/COLOR][/COLOR] in October 2010.
    In these meetings, the minister updated more than 100 investors on recent developments in the Jamaican economy and discussed the country's overall economic programme. The investor updates were held in anticipation of the offer.
    Shaw was accompanied by Financial Secretary Dr Wesley Hughes; Bank of Jamaica Governor Brian Wynter; Pamella McLaren, director of debt management; and Hillary Robertson, technical adviser.

Congrats to Shaw and his team. It is still pretty expensive, so there is a lot more work to be done.

Deeper & deeper in debt....

I don't think you understand what position Omar put the country in....

You think Shaw has a choice in this matter ?

I do not disagree with Omar's ghetto management of the economy. Maybe I missed it, but how are these funds going to be used to benefit the country?

They are going directly to debt repayment that will mature in a three months so. If we didn't get this our goose would be cooked. It was borrowed at 12 and replaced with 8. I don't love the borrowing but the bonds borrowed in 2001 will mature soon so.....

"The offer replaces a US$400-million eurobond that was issued in 2001 at 11.75 per cent and which matures in May."

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
              I do not disagree with Omar's ghetto management of the economy. Maybe I missed it, but how are these funds going to be used to benefit the country?
              It is reducing the Country's expense, hence providing more breathing room for the government.

Am I the only idiot on the forum. The MOF of a debt ridden country goes and borrows more money and its citizens say "Good job Mr
                Minister". We can and should become the laughing stock of the entire world

at 8%!!

whatever happened to the 2% loans!?!?

nutting.. summady tell yuh someting happen tuh dem ?

Yuh of all people nuh have nuh talk in these mattahs.. juss run guh comfort yuh hero Omar Davis who is looking more and more like the fool he is.. courtesy of Man A Yard....

Stap yuh yapping and mek serious people work...

They are going directly to debt repayment that will mature in a three months so. If we didn't get this our goose would be cooked. It was borrowed at 12 and replaced with 8. I don't love the borrowing but the bonds borrowed in 2001 will mature soon so.....

"The offer replaces a US$400-million eurobond that was issued in 2001 at 11.75 per cent and which matures in May."
                      What was the market for these type issues and what is the market now? Is it that money is cheaper now?

Just asking!

The climate is ripe to replace high cost financing with cheaper money. Our local businesses should also be in on the act of replacing high interest loans with cheaper money!

No special praise to the Minister. It would be criminal if the GOJ was not busy at this.

What was the Market for Multi-lateral loans ?

Omar Davis = FAIL.

The JPS deal alone.. FAIL.

Bettah yuh cool Comrade.

money is much cheaper & more available to governments since 2008... all the multilaterals have increased lending and softened terms to fight the global recession

it's common knowledge
                            Last edited by Don1; February 16, 2011, 09:17 AM.

Global Recession ?

What Global Recession ?

Tired of people using the Global Recession as some kind of scapegoat.