• UWI pick up the rake

UWI wants to create 200 millionaires annually
    BY STEVEN JACKSON Observer staff reporter jacksons@jamaicaobserver.com
    Tuesday, February 15, 2011

THE University of the West Indies (UWI) will aid students in developing 200 businesses annually via a new development unit aimed at transforming the university into a wealth creation centre.
    "We (at UWI) want to make millionaires instead of only boasting about producing prime ministers," stated Dr K'adamawe K'nife, lecturer in the UWI's Department of Management Studies.

Harold Davis (left), executive director at the Jamaica Business Development Corporation, addressing Observer reporters and editors at yesterday’s Monday Exchange. Beside him is Dr Densil Williams who heads the University of the West Indies’ Department in Management Studies. (Photos: Naphtali Junior)
    Professor Evan Duggan, executive director of the Mona School of Business, makes a point at the Observer Monday Exchange yesterday.

Harold Davis (left), executive director at the Jamaica Business Development Corporation, addressing Observer reporters and editors at yesterday’s Monday Exchange. Beside him is Dr Densil Williams who heads the University of the West Indies’ Department in Management Studies. (Photos: Naphtali Junior)

#slideshowtoggler, #slideshowtoggler a, #slideshowtoggler img {filter:none !important;zoom:normal !important}
    1/2

He was one of six guests at the Observer's weekly Monday Exchange held yesterday at the newspaper's Beechwood Avenue headquarters in Kingston.
    New business ventures will be facilitated through the Mona School of Business (MSB) in conjunction with the Jamaica Business Development Corporation (JBDC) — the state agency that has just set up a new office on the campus.
    The JBDC unit will offer small business services to students, particularly those enrolled in the 'New Ventures' course of the master's in business administration (MBA) programme in which students are required to develop a business plan. Most of these plans are never operationalised and the collaboration is aimed at transforming these concepts into companies, stated Dr Densil Williams who heads the Department in Management Studies.
    "We want to have about 100 ventures (per semester) and one major research project each year. We also want to have 45 bankable ideas per semester," stated Dr Williams.
    The targets are doable, added Dr K'nife, based on the roughly 60 group projects received each semester from the 250 students enrolled in New Ventures and Entrepreneurship courses. In addition, the JBDC centre is open to the general UWI campus.
    Funding can be sourced through various governmental and multilateral lending institutions, which when aggregated "total $9 billion", according to Dr Williams.
    The JBDC unit will benefit from the creativity of the student body whose ventures tend to be highly ranked, compared with ventures from US institutions, according to Professor Evan Duggan, executive director of MSB.
    Currently, the top MSB business venture receives the Vincent Hosang prize, which entitles the group to compete in the Opportunity Funding Corporation Venture Competition in Atlanta in the US.
    "It involves between 20 and 25 schools in the US. We have never won, but we have come close, between second and sixth place. Last year we were judged the best presenter and received third place overall," stated Duggan.
    The JBDC said those projects which cannot be operationalised will be "banked" for angel funding.
    "Given the business plans that the students are expected to deliver every semester some of these ideas are really out-of-the-box ideas and great ideas. But many of the ideas remain just that, because many of the students don't have the necessary capital or connections to get the business capitalised appropriately," stated Harold Davis, executive director at the JBDC. "So we have decided to establish a bank of these ideas in a form that can be marketed to potential investors. We will be the brokers for these ideas."
    This week, the MSB in collaboration with state-run EXIM Bank and the Jamaica Bankers Association will host Digicel founder Denis O'Brien in a forum entitled Secrets to Business Success.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz1E1mJbEb0

Yuh mean seh the Intellectual Ghetto not only sight di rake put dem ah guh try pick it up ?

Mi and Mutty haffi have a drink if it actually serious.. look like seh dem finally shame into action !

Mutty has no business with UWI except it seems it is a monkey on his back - did he get refused from the institution? Did he fail to matriculate? Never quite understood his hatred for all things UWI. You now are a basket case...you just mimic the cries.
      I think it's a laudible effort by UWI.

Mutty did not graduate from ANY tertiary institution... that's a large chip on his small shoulders.. an inferiority complex he has developed

If the guy had created some jobs or some enterprise... even written a book with his faux intellectualism... he could be excused as a productive person...but all he has produced over the years is Hot Air...

Mr Flatulence

Great news...better late than never..

UTECH is waay ahead with their business incubator..

I would love to see them relocate that settlement/ghetto facing the hospital named Mona Commons ...move the people to proper housing somewhere else..

That land would be perfect for a massive business development compound led by UWI ...in partnership with private sector interests

Dat is change I could believe in...
          Last edited by Don1; February 15, 2011, 10:25 AM.

It is a laudible effort by UWI. We can talk bout Mutty but the fact is UWI for too long wasn't even interested in business and entrepreneurship. They were more concerned about scientific, social and political aspect.

Never been there myself but I have alway thought they need to do more in the area of business and community development accross the island. More studies and research can be done by students.

Great move by them

That is true. UWI has made a number of positive changes in recent years, mostly I believe due to the increasing competition that they face from other degree granting institutions.

Good for them and for the country.

Your opinion of Mutty or Maudib has no bearing on the validity of his statements..

UWI is just now making steps to advance itself from being an Intellectual Ghetto..

Don't worry.. bright people can be produced by an Intellectual Ghetto..

If your theory were to hold any water Mutty would have to have this opinion of tertiary institutions in general...

Try again..

there's no theory here fellow...ongly fax... it seems you find the fax uncomfortable...hush

I posit the discomfort seems to be with you and certain others..

My advice is to counter the position with rational argument rather than try and seek motive...

lame...

Mutty graduate fram any university? No

In his 70+ years on the planet has Mutty created any business dat operate productively? None

Is chatter on the radio substantively all the little runt does?.. Yes

Is the fellow of any value to society? YES!! He has high entertainment value for fellow ignoramuses

Congrats to Mutty and supporters...

relevance to the status of UWI as an Intellectual Ghetto ?

None.

Relevance = Mutty is a comedian

I don't take such people seriously...you are free to do so

The statement still stands, whether you take the messenger seriously or not.

The dysfunction of UWI is a serious ting...