If the GOJ believes the MOUs are illegal....

as mi seh yuh lost..

"Mr. Leys also stated that, under the Interception of Communications Act, there was no basis on which a judge could make an order which is “extra-territorial in effect”. In that it could not be shared with intelligence officers of a foreign state.

He said as the statue now stands it would have to be amended to permit such an occurrence."

fi mi post seh dat if unnu feel seh di MOU dem illegal...all unnu haffi duh ah rescind dat..... all now yuh cyaan tell mi why foolfool Gelding nuh tear up dat...yuh ah talk crap bout law ah modify

Leys also stated that "CHRIS" was monitored by a wiretap authorized by a Supreme Court judge...

time fi quit yuh yappin... mek foolfool Gelding an Lightweight tek dem seat inna di dock an testify...lol

hard talk wi seh

Nope just waan walk streets of Mobay late at nights again. Go carolling and watch night. Not asking for much there boss.

As I said.. yuh lost...

Mi cyaan help yuh...

yep...a simple, obvious question and you can't answer.. not surprising

If you go back in Time.. 1972 Election.. who would you vote for ?

Perhap you two should discuss the three main issues separately.

i) MOUs signed with foreign state agencies without Cabinet approval
                ii) Wire Taps without court order
                iii) Sharing taps with foreign agents without court order

All three are probably illegal but illegal acts are 'permissible' (permissible but still illegal') by the state whenever National Security is at stake and provided it is not used in a court of law.

Which of the three are being fixed with new laws?

wasn't there just one candidate?

I went to a good school..this might be the root of the problem..

"Mr. Leys also stated that, under the Interception of Communications Act, there was no basis on which a judge could make an order which is “extra-territorial in effect”. In that it could not be shared with intelligence officers of a foreign state.

He said as the statue now stands it would have to be amended to permit such an occurrence. The Solicitor General was further cross examined when the Commission met on Wednesday (February 9)."

You can lead a horse to water but.... well you know the rest.

You and Don are focused on slapping each other and cannot see the complete picture. You are focused on #3 and Don is focused on #1 which is the big picture. Its true that #3 needs to be fixed in order to fix #1 but fixing #1 does not guarantee the #1 is fixed. #1 is much more that #3. Signing a MOU without a cabinet approval may be still illegal and tapping people phones without court order is still illegal.

Originally posted by Time View Post
                        You and Don are focused on slapping each other and cannot see the complete picture. You are focused on #3 and Don is focused on #1 which is the big picture. Its true that #3 needs to be fixed in order to fix #1 but fixing #1 does not guarantee the #1 is fixed. #1 is much more that #3. Signing a MOU without a cabinet approval may be still illegal and tapping people phones without court order is still illegal.
                        Mi nuh si di complete pickcha?? Mi fi debate spin docta point by point?? Joke ting dat

Given the clear and present danger of the state being captured by criminal elements as we saw with the entire Gelding regime being intimidated by "Chris" and scrambling to protect that international criminal.... the entire episode has to be put in that perspective..

This was comparatively a FAR bigger crisis that say the US faced/faces with terrorists... the integrity of the US state is not threatened by terrorists... Jamaica's government was in danger of capture by narco terrorists

Once the criminal networks are being dismantled and the criminal links with political parties exposed... the minute details of law should not be too much of a shackle... if it's merely about MOUs not going thru Cabinet (although the PNP claims the procedures allow for this in the instant case) and listening to the phone calls of criminals...and and also the calls of their associates like some forumites who think certain criminals are humanitarians LOL.... I can support a bending of the law and having a few freedoms bruised...

It's certainly better than the Adams approach of wholesale slaughter.

Some will suddenly get sanctimonious and claim that all laws must be scrupulously observed at all times (at least the interpretation of the law they prefer) ... when their tribal interest is threatened.

Peter Phillips is to be congratulated... mebbe dem shudda name one airport afta im..
                        Last edited by Don1; February 14, 2011, 02:06 PM.

Mi nuh si di complete pickcha?? Mi fi debate spin docta point by point?? Joke ting dat

Given the clear and present danger of the state being captured by criminal elements as we saw with the entire Gelding regime being intimidated by "Chris" and scrambling to protect that international criminal.... the entire episode has to be put in that perspective..

This was comparatively a FAR bigger crisis that say the US faced/faces with terrorists... the integrity of the US state is not threatened by terrorists... Jamaica's government was in danger of capture by narco terrorists

Once the criminal networks are being dismantled and the criminal links with political parties exposed... the minute details of law should not be too much of a shackle... if it's merely about MOUs not going thru Cabinet (although the PNP claims the procedures allow for this in the instant case) and listening to the phone calls of criminals...and and also the calls of their associates like some forumites who think certain criminals are humanitarians LOL.... I can support a bending of the law and having a few freedoms bruised...

It's certainly better than the Adams approach of wholesale slaughter.

Some will suddenly get sanctimonious and claim that all laws must be scrupulously observed at all times (at least the interpretation of the law they prefer) ... when their tribal interest is threatened.

Peter Phillips is to be congratulated... mebbe dem shudda name one airport afta im..
                          I accept this. I wanted Maudid to see that changing the law to fix #3 does not make the MOUs legal therefore your orginal question is still valid.

ok boss..no worries

Tell dem Comrade !

Household Rules