• Condoleezza Rice has Jamaican parents

<DIV>Condoleezza Rice

Born: 14-Nov-1954
    Birthplace: Birmingham, AL

Religion: Presbyterian
    Race or Ethnicity: Black
    Party Affiliation: Republican

Nationality: <SPAN id=lw_1169346621_0 style="BORDER-BOTTOM: #0066cc 1px dashed">United States</SPAN>
    Executive summary: US Secretary of State

Condoleezza Rice is the second woman to be U.S. Secretary of State, after Madeleine Albright during the Clinton administration. She is the first black woman to be Secretary of State, and the holds the highest position in a presidential cabinet that any black woman has held. Rice describes herself as a moderate Republican, and has never been identified with so-called "black issues", which has led some African-Americans to view her with suspicion. She says she became a Republican when she watched the 1984 Democratic Convention on TV, and decided that the Democrats' appeals to "women, minorities, and the poor" really meant "helpless people and the poor". Rice said, "I decided I'd rather be ignored than patronized".

Her parents were Jamaican immigrants, and both were college professors. Her unusual first name is derived from the Italian for an opera stage instruction, con dolcezza, meaning "with sweetness". Rice was raised in segregated <SPAN id=lw_1169346621_1 style="BORDER-BOTTOM: #0066cc 1px dashed">Birmingham</SPAN> during the civil rights movement. A childhood friend, 11-year-old Denise McNair, was one of the four young girls killed in the bombing of Birmingham's 16th Street Baptist Church in 1963. Rice never became involved in the civil rights movement, but she says, "My parents had me absolutely convinced that, well, you may not be able to have a hamburger at Woolworth's but you can be President of the United States".

In interviews she sounds perpetually flustered, nervous, and unsure of herself, but Rice is certified smart. She mastered the piano at three, and was told that she could have had a career as a concert pianist. She skipped first and seventh grades, entered college at 15, holds three degrees including a doctorate in political science, and earned her Master's in just one year's study.

Her area of expertise is the politics of the <SPAN id=lw_1169346621_2 style="BORDER-BOTTOM: #0066cc 1px dashed">Soviet Union</SPAN>, which, of course, ceased to exist in 1991. She presumably taught George W. Bush most of what he knows about international affairs, after joining his campaign for President in 1998.

She was a professor of poly sci at Stanford from 1981-99, and by all accounts she was a popular teacher. From 1993-99 she was Stanford's provost, meaning she was responsible for overseeing the school's budget and academic programs.

She served as a mid- to upper-level member of the National Security staff during the first Bush preidency, and as National Security Advisor

RE: Condoleezza Rice has Jamaican parents

News to me. How come we nuh celebrate her like how we celebrate Colin Powell. It must be a typo as we would have heard of this before.

Jamaicans are the most influential people per capita in the world. The other day I ran into a sistren who was head of legal services for a fortune 500 company in an Asian country. When she heard the smooth Jamaican accent, she told me her father is Jamaican!

Often times we do not realize the power of a small country like Jamaica.

Hortikal (1/20/2007)News to me. How come we nuh celebrate her like how we celebrate Colin Powell. It must be a typo as we would have heard of this before.

Jamaicans are the most influential people per capita in the world. The other day I ran into a sistren who was head of legal services for a fortune 500 company in an Asian country. When she heard the smooth Jamaican accent, she told me her father is Jamaican!

Often times we do not realize the power of a small country like Jamaica.
      ...and, some in football would like to disown...what is currently at least 50% of our people...and, considering the size of the rock and its capacity to hold our growing population...whatshall eventually become in excess of 75% of our peopel!

Daft they are!

[quote]Karl (1/21/2007)
        ...and, some in football would like to disown...what is currently at least 50% of our people...and, considering the size of the rock and its capacity to hold our growing population...whatshall eventually become in excess of 75% of our peopel!

Daft they are!
        Nonsense! Just because we want the UB40s to earn their spots doesn't mean we are disowning anybody.

<DIV>Isn't there some story about her parents hanging out a lot with Colin Powell's parents back in the day? Figures!</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Well, I guess we can't blame Americans alone for screwing up the world.</DIV>

Karl it's a misprint; Condi's father was

born in Louisiana and her mother ?? (well I haven't seen any info where she is born):P What should be noted is that there are many blacks of Jakan parents in corporate and political america. They just don't say it and you wouldn't know unless you ask them. Don't think for a minute that they don't love JA though, and that is why things will come full circle for those who think they can get away with oppressing the poor in JA. Be careful of the regular Joe on the streetsinJAbecause you don't know whohe/she has as a relative in the states. They may just pick up the cell and decide to make a rare call (how many times did Sol campbell come to Ja on vacation before we found out his parents were jakans?)

All in all I don't think Condi's parents are jakan (jury is still out on her mom).

only BenJ know them detail information deh.

Shame that she can't even mention the word Jamaican in her vocab.

[quote]Mosiah (1/21/2007)
                Karl (1/21/2007)

Daft they are!
                Nonsense! Just because we want the UB40s to earn their spots doesn't mean we are disowning anybody.
                ...and, you could not have said it clearer!

The implication that only the so-called UB40s must own their spots is extremely disappointing! (N)

...asI said above...and, umpteen times before the best Jamaican footballers MUST take the field for us....matters not where our...OUR Jamaicans were/are born!

We cannot in any sphere of our national lives ignore any section of the vast talent pool we have.

WE ARE ALL JAMAICANS! (Clap)(tup)(Clap)(tup)

How come we never hear this before that her parents are Jamaican. Any how, even wth Jamaican parentage datnah mek me like her!

I do not believe her parents were Jamaicans:

==================================

The son of slaves, Condi's grandfather, John W. Rice Sr., earned a degree from historically black Stillman College, partly with money he made picking cotton and partly with a scholarship in return for his promise to become a Presbyterian minister, which he did. In 1951 his son—Condi's father—took over his congregation in Birmingham. John Rice Jr. later became dean at Stillman, as well as assistant vice chancellor at the University of Denver. He passed away on Christmas Eve 2000—just six days after Bush chose Rice to be his national security advisor—with his daughter at his side.

Condi's mother, Angelena, who died of breast cancer in 1985, descended from slaves and slave owners, including an Italian émigré who came to America to buy slaves just five years before Emancipation. "That may give you a clue as to why so few of us have any business sense," Condi once quipped to me. After graduating from college, Angelena taught math, science, and oratory at a Birmingham high school where she met Condi's father, who was a football coach.

With plenty of money and no one better to spend it on, they indulged their only child, who inherited her taste for fancy clothes from her mother, who loved to shop. She joined the Girl Scouts, took private language lessons (French and Spanish), and read stacks of books. And there was her music: even while Birmingham was plunged into racial torment, she was taking advanced classical piano at the Birmingham Conservatory—a first for a black youngster—and practicing hours a day. Even back then her discipline was extraordinary. At St. Mary's Academy in Denver, the first integrated school Condi attended, she was a straight-A student and a competitive ice skater. Her typical day: up at 4:30 a.m., hit the rink at 5, practice until 7, then school, piano, back to the rink for an hour, then more piano.

Religion played a pivotal role in Condi's upbringing as well. Her grandmother Ray wouldn't let her children or grandchildren leave the house without reminding them to take the name of Jesus with them. "Her faith is absolutely fundamental to who she is," says Condi's close friend Randy Bean. "It's part of her fiber."

===================

[b]For several generations the Rice family has independently navigated a course toward freedom. Even while Condoleezza’s ancestors were captive to white slave owners, their captivity meant more of a physical limitation than a deprivation of will. During her family’s time spent as slaves their labor was done mostly in the house rather than out in the field, and because of their propinquity to resources they were able to pull themselves in the direction of upward mobility. Before Civil Rights laws could grant them access to prestigious universities or jobs with high paying salaries, the Rice family found it’s way up and out of the established norm of black subservience. Believing that education was the means to outward ascendancy, the Rice family seized every opportunity for learning as it came along. “I think that black Americans of my grandparents’ ilk had liberated themselves,” observes Condoleezza. “They had broken the code. They had figured out how to make an extraordinarily comfortabl

[quote]Karl (1/21/2007)
                      Mosiah (1/21/2007)
                      Karl (1/21/2007)

Daft they are!
                      ...and, you could not have said it clearer!

The implication that only the so-called UB40s must own their spots is extremely disappointing! (N)

...asI said above...and, umpteen times before the best Jamaican footballers MUST take the field for us....matters not where our...OUR Jamaicans were/are born!

We cannot in any sphere of our national lives ignore any section of the vast talent pool we have.

WE ARE ALL JAMAICANS! (Clap)(tup)(Clap)(tup)
                      Karl, I'm implying no such thing! The "only" exists only in your head!

The fact is UB40s have been selected in the past simply because of where they play football. No local player gets that "privilege". Of course they ALL must earn their spots. Don't be silly, Karl!

I knew the report could not be accurate, and it is a typo.

The fact is UB40s have been selected in the past simply because of where they play football. No local player gets that "privilege". Of course they ALL must earn their spots. Don't be silly, Karl!
                          You compound your mistakes/wrongs!

Stop! ...I am begging you!

Chosing players not on merit but "...simply because of where they play football"?

Not on the ability to provide help towards realising TEAM goals...but,"...simply because of where they play football"?

You realise you are saying Simoes, Clovis, CB and Laza are stupid?

You realise you are saying Simoes, Clovis, CB and Laza weregutless?

You realise you are saying Simoes, Clovis, CB and Lazawere *deliberately working against our i.e. Jamaicans',Jamaica's &amp; the national teams'best interest?

*Therefore corruptly and dishonestly?

Stop! ...mi a beg yuh?! (Pray)