Democratic dictatorship part and parcel of mental slavery

• Democratic dictatorship part and parcel of mental slavery

Democratic dictatorship part and parcel of mental slavery.
    A Suh it set .

When Jamaica became independent in 1966 our constituion was written from a colonial mindset of the slave master freeing the slave.With that in mind given our nepotistic tendencies and brutal physical and mental scarring of 300 years of slavery and colonial rule , it can be argued that our constitution was written with terms to gaurantee that Jamaica would slip into tribalism.It can be argued that in most nations given independence from the U.K they have descended into tribal chaos because of this hole in our constituion.

The hole not obvious to our forefathers but plain as day for all to see today , is the absence of an arm of government that can check the guardians of the state from abusing its citizens.
    Our forefathers were handed a democratic dictatorship and it served the slave masters purpose of keeping the populations of its past colonies into mental slavery until the veil of ignorance has been lifted by its odious odour of lies , deciet , corruption and murder of its citizens in a post colonial constituion.The deal was closed and sold under the theme , good men will do the right thing.

Fast forward 50 years into Jamaica 2011 and what we have is a constitution that serves the elite , where bad men/women do bad things , good men and women are killed migrate and our only course of slavation is the fear of a forgien power extraditing our nationals.Failure to comply will elicit an invasion.The elitist are so embolden that they call for inquiries unto themselves when light has been shed on their misdeeds, with the obvious bold face bearings of truths and lies , the population has been beaten into the expected out come of nothing, with the typical phrase , nutting naaw come outta it , a suh it set.The salt in the wounds is the spending of the scare resource of said taxpayer dollars to give the circus impression the abuse of power is being dealt with.

Was this set intentionally by the slave master to keep us mentally enslaved by giving us a constitution which is a democratic dictatorship? …….A suh it set.

Democratic Dictatorship.

A form of government where the candidate is elected by popular vote but rarely or never actually enacts any policies that reflect the actual wishes of the constituency. The elected representative can either use subtle diplomacy to deflect criticsm, arrange for various forms of distraction to divert public attention, or be brazen in publicly declaring that policy will be different to popular opinion. Coined by Tim Francis in 2005.

Mental Slavery.

If you are trapped by a reaction despite the clear fact that there is a better way to act, you are a victim of mental slavery. We all are. Every one of us sometimes find ourselves saying or doing things that we later regret, and wondering why. Ignorance can be a factor, of course. We all can make straight-out mistakes based on a lack of knowledge. But what we're referring to here is those instances when we say, "I knew better than that," or "I should have known better than that."
    In those cases we followed the urges that arise in our minds. The programming there demands, for example, that we defend something we have previously said, even if we are wrong. We go along with this, a slave obeying the master we have made of that thought in our heads.
    In fact, we are barely able to be objective in cases that touch on the biggest slave-driver of all: the ego. This is why almost everyone can intellectually see that it is better to learn than to lie, yet few can choose at the moment of decision to admit ignorance or be corrected by others. At the crucial moment we want to be right rather than be better.
    Interestingly, though we spend a lot of mental energy flattering ourselves and trying to prove those flattering images and ideas correct, we also do the opposite. We are often ruthless in our judgment of ourselves. Again, this is a form of mental slavery. We get trapped in following the logic of a mind that insists we can correct ourselves by beating up on ourselves. We can see this when we listen to the dialog in our heads saying "I'm so stupid!" or "How could I have done that?!"

There is a lot of nonsense going on in our heads. We listen in on this internal dialog in the mistaken belief that it is who we are. Thus we obey like a slave under orders from his master. The results? Look around. People are under the influence of internal voices that say they must blame others and so hurt them - so we have wars. People defend their ideas before they even try to understand what another person is saying - certainly not a path to truth. We are not quite conscious of how much we play a slave to thinking that isn't really who we are and has no interest in what is good for us nor anyone else.Becoming aware of this process is the first step to getting beyond mental slavery.
    Last edited by Sir X; February 11, 2011, 02:19 PM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Constitutional Reform :

Jamaica’s Proposals.
    Jamaica’s Constitutional Commission submitted its report to parliament in 1995 and later that year parliament debated the report. All parties agree that:
    - Jamaica should become a Republic;
    - A new constitution should be enacted by the national parliament, with new oaths of office and written in simplified language;
    - An Electoral Commission should replace the Electoral Advisory Committee and be enshrined in the constitution; as well as the office of the Contractor General and a proposed Citizen’s Protection Bureau;
    - The constitution should expressly recognise political parties;
    - The constitution should expressly recognise the right to vote;
    - Officials should be subject to impeachment, such as members of parliament, senators, heads of statutory bodies, judges, civil servants, the chief electoral officer and others for non-performance, corruption and the abuse of power;
    - The constitution should more strongly protect fundamental rights and freedoms so that they are not subject to any act that can suspend them except during a public emergency or public disaster;
    - New rights should be added - the right to: vote and participate in free and fair elections; a healthy and productive environment; of every child to free primary education; to fair, humane and equal treatment; the right of every citizen to a passport.
    - The power of the Court in Judicial Review and as a guardian of the constitution be strengthened;
    - There should be a Citizen’s Protection Bureau that will ensure that complainants who allege that their constitutional rights have been infringed are provided with ready access to professional advice and legal protection and will have the power to enforce its decisions;
    - Local government should be enshrined in the constitution and the terms of elections to local government be specified in the constitution.

The Structure of Government.

http://gtuwi.tripod.com/moddem6.html

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

this speaks to a spiritual sickness... tweaking the constitution with a so called Special Prosecutor etc... will do little for that... look how otherwise intelligent people behave on this forum when their party is threatened... that's a spiritual disease

what we need is a total revamp... a Social Contract which I have laid out in detail in the past.. bringing the common man a place at the table and reducing the power of the JLPNP

Anything less is cosmetic and will be ineffective...

You are so wrong ! did you read the entire link ?

Maybe you are right a total revamp meaning what ? who is to do this ? a special prosecutour is a bonafide suggestion that could be a part of your so called total revamp or social contract.But if it doesnt have teeth in it forget it , let the inquiries of self continue , the expexctation of people to do the right thing continue.The democratic dictatorship continue with the part and parcel of mental slavery.

Link. It seems other constitutional scholars are thinking along my lines.

http://gtuwi.tripod.com/moddem6.html

I posted extensively...several times... on my concepts for reform

I am not against a special prosecutor...whatever you mean by that...I just don't think that represents the fundamental change Jamaica needs..

We can disagree...no worries

Cool.

Mi remember a breddah call Manley.. him did a bawl but fundamental reform..

It look like seh him did mean fundamental DEFORM...

We are barely able to be objective in cases that touch on the biggest slave-driver of all: the ego. This is why almost everyone can intellectually see that it is better to learn than to lie, yet few can choose at the moment of decision to admit ignorance or be corrected by others. At the crucial moment we want to be right rather than be better.

Interestingly, though we spend a lot of mental energy flattering ourselves and trying to prove those flattering images and ideas correct, we also do the opposite. We are often ruthless in our judgment of ourselves. Again, this is a form of mental slavery. We get trapped in following the logic of a mind that insists we can correct ourselves by beating up on ourselves. We can see this when we listen to the dialog in our heads saying "I'm so stupid!" or "How could I have done that?!"

There is a lot of nonsense going on in our heads. We listen in on this internal dialog in the mistaken belief that it is who we are. Thus we obey like a slave under orders from his master. The results? Look around. People are under the influence of internal voices that say they must blame others and so hurt them - so we have tribal wars. People defend their ideas before they even try to understand what another person is saying - certainly not a path to truth. no interestWe are not quite conscious of how much we play a slave to thinking that isn't really who we are and has in what is good for us nor anyone else.Becoming aware of this process is the first step to getting beyond mental slavery.

Not democratic dictatorship but a plantocracy. Both you and D1 are skirting the gateway to the truth. Ja's history shows that from the days of slavery the planter class fed off trough of the govt. This didn't stop because there was little or no human capital to push the island forward (save the special trading status given in Europe for agriculture). Tax payers felt the brunt of everything. At present Ja is approaching critical mass but guess why? (based on the above) Drum roll ............ one party was in for????......and the other was out for....???

Do I really need to say more? I think both arguments can be unified (that of D1 and yourself) Ja needs some serious reform.

Don1 nuh skirt... Don1 deal wid reality an den solutions

But I agree...there's no conflict between the X prescription and mine...his appears to be more tactical by suggesting individual reforms like a special prosecutor...while I am prescribing a strategic approach of reducing the power of the JLPNP Matrix and bringing more actors in the decision making process....via a formal Social Contract

The two are not mutually exclusive

Don't want to sound despereate, but anything than the present system.

the shituation in Jamaica is desperate...tribalism and disdain for poor Black people by the JLPNP & big business power elite is killing the country.. dis Dudus ting is juss di latest chapter... more to come

mi dun tell unnu dat fram Day1 yahsuh... needa JLP nor PNP as dem presently organize demself cyan manage dis...it bigga dan dem and failure is assured...

Reform thru a Social Contract is the only glimmer of a hope I see... we need a modern day Norman Manley to start that process of reform