• No. No me -Not taking the lie dector test - Nelson

Wo yoooooooooo... me belly

A WEEK after announcing his government's commitment to mandatory polygraph tests for all holders of sensitive posts in the public sector in the name of probity, National Security Minister Dwight Nelson seems unwilling to take the test himself.

In an interview with The Sunday Gleaner last Wednesday, Nelson said he was not averse to the idea of taking the test but shut down the proposal when our news team asked if he would lead by example and take a polygraph test.

"I'm not saying to you that it is my intention to do it, but I am saying to you that I would have no aversion," Nelson said.

When pressed for clarification and specifically whether he would do it, the national security minister, who conceded that his post was a sensitive one, went into evasive mode.

"No, you're going a little bit too far now. You asked me if I would have any aversion and I tell you no. That is where I stop. I am not going down that road with you. I am going to bring this conversation to an end," said an apparently irritated Nelson.

breach of rights
    In July last year, the issue of subjecting employees to lie-detector tests came to the fore after The Sunday Gleaner reported that senior officials from the Ministry of Labour had launched an investigation into claims that Bert's Auto Parts Limited was insisting that some of its employees take polygraph tests or face dismissal.

At that time, noted attorney-at-law Bert Samuels told our news team that if an employer forced an employee to take a lie-detector test, it would constitute a breach of the individual's constitutional rights.

"It is my view that where an employer forces an employee or seeks to force an employee to take a polygraph test, that is unlawful," Samuels said.
    Earlier in the five-minute telephone interview, Nelson also declined to commit to whether he would support a call for parlia-mentarians to take polygraph tests as a matter of course.

"By whom? Who is going to do that? Under whose auspices? The Government can, as the Govern-ment, take a policy decision that members of the public sector who hold sensitive posts should. Because the Government is responsible for the public sector, they can make such a decision that members of the public service who hold sensitive posts should be vetted, but in the case of parlia-mentarians, who is going make that decision?" he asked.

integrity important
    Nelson added: "Personally, as Dwight Nelson speaking for Dwight Nelson, I have no aversion to being subjected to vetting. As Dwight Nelson, I have no objection. I can't make that call for members of parliament on a general basis. That is not my remit."

Still, the minister said: "It is important that people who occupy sensitive posts are people with integrity (and) probity, and that is important."

In late January, the minister unveiled <span>the police's</span> new Polygraph Unit at the Police Academy in Twickenham Park, St Catherine. It was there the minister declared that "as a matter of course, this Government will ensure that all sensitive posts in the public sector should be subject to vetting to ensure the integrity of persons occupying these posts".

For years, Jamaica has performed poorly on the Corruption Perception Index. The new polygraph policy push announced by Nelson is part of a multi-pronged approach to weed out corrupt officials from the public sector.
    Last edited by Karl; February 7, 2011, 02:27 AM.

another weapon of Mass Distraction...

Full speed ahead wid di Polygraph amongst di Termites !

Tribalist dem cyaan afford dem polygraph test deh fi weed out corruption...yuh mad??

Nuhbaddy wudda leff fi run di JLPNP ... wussa wid di current Crime Syndicate in charge

Can you imagine One Liad taking a polygraph test That's bound to fry something down at Hunt's Bay Power Station!

I've got my candles ready!

Dwight has been an acquaintance from 1966...and I believe a very bright person.

I believe like Eddie Seaga and Bruce Golding being numbered among the power-brokers he has been so enveloped by past ability to 'do anything' that they do not realise that information gathering has so improved that the arrogance that was displayed in the past presents grave danger.

If it were not so...why would Seaga claim there were no dons is Tivoli, no tunnels and torture chambers or Golding even allowed the attempt at subterfuge...because attempt only it was and is...and friend Dwight open mouth without putting brain in gear?

The depth and scope of monitoring of their activities and activities within the society they just cannot wrap their minds around.

Golding in particular is in deep doo-doo...but I would suspect so do others of those around him.

This Commission of Inquiry put together to save Golding's skin, shall skin him! ...and others.

It has already confirmed to the Jamaican people what they long suspected about the relationships between politicians and dons...and the example is Golding, his party and Dudus.

Jawge rightly called it, Phipps is opening a can of worms. His questioning is providing fodder for the other Attorneys and further opening the eyes of the Jamaica citizens.

btw - I see nothing to change my mind that crimes were committed in the use of GOJ officials, civil servants, GOJ physical property (offices, stationary, telephones, etc. both in Jamaica and outside of Jamaica) on which to plan and carry out activities...GOJ funds (air tickets, hotel, per diem, etc.)...which PM Golding claims were on behalf of the private entity the JLP...all done at his direction.

...and if he changes tune and claims he made an error and was confused as to hat he was wearing...saying that he ordered the actions as PM and on the GOJ's behalf...still criminal as the activities on behalf of Dudus would underscore defense of someone who he knew scope of allegations against...additionally the delay and subsequent 'throwing in of the towel' and giving the the go-ahead to arrest or take into custody Dudus would bring questions on the deaths in Tivoli (civilian and members of the security forces) and destruction of property being as a result of pre-meditated criminal intent...criminal negligent actions.

...then there would be explanations to be given on the so-called injection of private funding to assist in carrying out some of the activities that were used to drive to fruition the terrible actions and results.

...it would not surprise in the least of recording and other physical material on who did what, when...etc. does not find its way in the public domain as a result of this public Commission of Inquiry.
          Last edited by Karl; February 7, 2011, 03:05 AM.

Can you imagine One Liad taking a polygraph test That's bound to fry something down at Hunt's Bay Power Station!

I've got my candles ready!
            mi belly!

Don't hold your breath for Golding & the Crime Syndicate to fry in this skillet

1. Jamaicans already know that the JLPNP Matrix is thoroughly corrupt...and accept it to a large extent... "ah suh di ting set" is most people's outlook.... even if this latest criminally inspired episode by the JLP is going too far. Jamaicans have short memories and are easily manipulated by our craven politicians....

2. It is not in the interest of the US to see the Gelding Crime Syndicate's crimes fully exposed. Since the GOJ is now cooperating, Gelding himself will get a bly... the US may be satisfied with a JLP Fall Guy or two to be sacrificed...but leave the rotten structure intact