• Who are the Yardies?

UK

Who are the Yardies?

They drive top of the range BMWs, flaunt designer gold jewellery and carry automatic guns as a weapon of choice.

They are Yardies and in terms of a reputation for ruthless violence they could one day rival the Triads or Mafia.

A spate of violent killings in London's black community has raised fears that the capital is witnessing a renewed bout of Yardie gang warfare.

It would not be the first time. Almost 12 months ago similar predictions were being made after three murders appeared to be linked to gang activity.

<BR clear=all><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=4 width=158 align=left border=0><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=top></TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=top>A Yardie in Kingston, Jamaica, shows off his gun</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>That it failed to materialise was seized on by those who feel the Yardie phenomenon is more myth than reality.

Certainly the Metropolitan Police do not formally acknowledge the existence of Yardie gangs. They refuse to use the term publicly, although the Met's Operation Trident is widely seen as an effort to combat Yardie crime.

Trident, which started life in south London, has been compiling information on the crossover of gun and drug culture and investigating shootings in the area. It is currently being rolled-out across the capital.

Yardies is the term applied to Jamaican-born gangsters operating in Britain. The name refers to criminals from the impoverished back yards of Kingston, Jamaica.

Copy-cat criminals

Recently, their traits have begun to be mimicked by small numbers of British-born black youths drawn to the "glamorous" gun-toting image.

One reason for the police's reluctance to pigeonhole Yardies in the manner of other organised crime groups could be their lack of organisation.

There is no central control or brotherhood structure, so Yardies have few affiliations or loyalties. Gangs are very loose knit and often fall out with each other.

<BR clear=all><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=4 width=158 align=left border=0><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=top></TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=top>Smoking crack: The drug's rise is mirrored by that of Yardies</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>Members are mostly linked to drug and arms dealing as well as robbery. It is a lifestyle synonymous with violence - impulse shootings and gangland-style executions are used to sort out internal squabbles.

The Yardie phenomenon in the UK was first noted in the late 1980s and their rise is linked to that of crack-cocaine, in which many trade.

Since then their reputation for ruthless violence has grown with each shooting. In 1993 Yardies were blamed for the cold-blooded murder of PC Patrick Dunne, who was on patrol in Clapham when he stumbled across a shooting incident.

The gangsters hit the headlines again in 1997 when police tactics to infiltrate the underworld were exposed in a World in Action documentary.

Metropolitan Police overlooked a series of violent crimes carried out by two Yardie informers, Eaton Green and Delroy Denton, while they passed on intelligence to Scotland Yard. While an informer, Green was involved in the UK's largest armed robbery, when 150 people were held up at a blues party in Nottingham.

In the past six weeks alone, Yardie i

RE: Who are the Yardies?

<DIV>They are a disgrace to Jamaica and the Caribbean!</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>But you know what really makes no sense? I'll tell you what - the fact that other people try so hardto be like them.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>:P</DIV>

What is an even bigger disgrace is the 'system' that spawns them.. the factories.

Why have more factories been produced over the past 17 years ?

10 new factories by the last counting..

Independence and Leggo Beasts are a bad mix.

What is even more interesting is that the first recorded gangsters in the US and England was the shower posse and we all know where they came from.

Ben shame on you as this 'problem' has been around for longer than 17 years and you know this but you cant help but to stoop to try and score cheap political points.

political points? ask the head of the army if he gained political points when he mentioned the factories. stop being so defensive.

Political Points.

Just stating some interesting facts.

10 Garrisons created since 1989.. to what end ????

Calls for dismantling seem to be coming from one end... why ?

It appears the solution to the problem will not be found from the Silent Wing... too dependent on their existence.. oh what a Web.

I bet yours and Lazie's favorite 70s group was the Spinners feature the incomparable Felipe Wynn, music aside, I think the topic was the gangsters who were exported fomo Jamaica to the United States and England in the 1970 and 1980 and who started this whole yardies thing, maybe you both need to go back and do somne research.

The head of the army is actually an in-law, he is martried to my first cousin, but I can tell you of several soldiers who have seen the slaughter houses in Tivoli Gardens, window less concrete rooms with blood splattered all over the walls.

The Spinners was a group I did like. Since him is yuh in law ask him fi explain his statement about the factories. Then you'll see who is spinning.

hmmmm yes dont forget marked for death and predator 2 dat show u all off in hollywood.

BTW i dont think yard bad man run the route in the USA again as the 80's

Ahhh ... Marked for Death. They made alot of mistakes in that movie.
                    1. <LI>Paul Campbell would have been a much better screwface. That screwface always had a smile pon him face. Yuh waan see real screwface, watch PAul Campbell in Dancehall Queen.</LI><LI>No yard man ago capture him enemy and lay lay wid tie up and voodo.</LI><LI>During the fight scene in the mall, yaad man naah guh have gun and draw knife instead.</LI>

That said, one of my favourite quotes in a movie was from that movie, "Stop the blood....t crying! Everybody muss dead one day. Its your turn!" (Screwface).

Errr Lazie. When the head of the army was referring to "the mother of all garrisons" to whom was he referring? You and Ben should leave this one alone. No Brownie points to be scored here. I wonder why the posse phenomenon grew exponentially in the 80's along with the mother of all posses. Must have been the PNP setting up all those 80's garrisons. Your wilfull ignorance rivals the Klan sometimes. Well we can only hope that Mr. new and different (where is he MP for again?) will be at least different cause him no new.

Rudi (1/22/2007)Errr Lazie. When the head of the army was referring to "the mother of all garrisons" to whom was he referring? You and Ben should leave this one alone. No Brownie points to be scored here. I wonder why the posse phenomenon grew exponentially in the 80's along with the mother of all posses. Must have been the PNP setting up all those 80's garrisons. Your wilfull ignorance rivals the Klan sometimes. Well we can only hope that Mr. new and different (where is he MP for again?) will be at least different cause him no new.
                        How the garrison quote is relevant here? Weren't we talking about the factories that continues to put out this gangsters? Okay, lets play your little game.

Brownie points? I am not in that. Lazie keeps it real. That mi realize wid all a unuh, unuh only see Tivoli as garrison while the powers that be created about 1 dozen and unuh all turn a blind eye. How many garrisons did the JLP create? (Which we all know is wrong and we all condemn). How many garrisons the PNP create? Tek yuh hand from over yuh mouth and stop gwaan like yuh never know.

Lets talk about Brownie Points .... weren't you suppose to furnish us with a part 2 of a report that would address Bruce's credibility? Oh ... yuh think Lazie forget? Yuh gave a report and couldn't find a fault, suh yuh fling up smoke screen bout you'll be addressing his credibility in part 2. Laughable.

Just like Karl and the other hypocrites around here, what unuh have against the people of Tivoli? Aren't they Jamaicans too? Dem nuh entilted to the same rights and representations like me and you? Of ... dem wear green. What a pity. Unuh act like if I was born in that area I would be any less of a Jamaican than any of unuh. When unuh ago start treating everyone equally and stop stigmatize the people them? This getting tiresome now. Criminals deh a Tivoli, criminals deh a Arnett, criminals deh a Ochie, does that mean everybody that live in these areas are criminals? I can just imagine the uproar if some white man implied that all the people in a black area in AMerica or Canada were criminals. Creatures of the night.

Everybody on Bruce's case because he is the MP fi that area. Mr. Seaga retired leaving a vacant seat ... which part him should run then? Look at what is being proposed by the man, before yuh attempt to critcise about new and different. You people are amazing.

Lazie, Lazie, Lazie First of all the articles referred to Yardies. you and Ben attempted to spin it into factories from garrisons etc and which party created them etc.. I simply pointed out that the yardies/posse phenomenon reached its heights in the 80's with the Shower posse being the leaders in that sphere.So using your logic who was to blame then?

With regards to Bruce. I did give a favourable review of his speech in Toronto with a promise of Part 2. Your blinkers are showing when you assume that Part 2 didnt come because of some anti Bruce feeling. For the record it is my opinion that 17 years is long enough to go without substantial growth and the policies stated by Bruce are good sounding. His credibilty lies on the violence issue which he hastried to address given his record in Spanish Town. Given the changes he wants to make he should have chosen a different constituency. As someone who has family in TG (and I always visit my family when in JA.) I dont need to be told by you that people from TG are Jamaicans. As for dismantling garrisons..... please.

How you kn ow so much bout that fool fool movie..better Nyamdirt did talk bout the book Born fi dead

Is only garrison producing gangsters today? Which world you living in? Is Lime Hall in St. Ann a garrison? Comical. I'm not spinning anything. Many of these youths leave school and cannot find meaningful employment. A foo fault? Which entity closed the factories claiming the people were making monkey money? Mi know, fi sleep good a nite time the M.O. is blame Seaga.

Yes you did give a favourable review, but in closing you promised to return with a part 2 that will address his credibility. Do you remember the responses from Mosiah and his former side kick?

Again I asked. Which other constituency he should have chosen? How many vacant seats were available? ONE! Stop finding flimsy excuses Rudi. Come again.

Its amazing how unuh all have family and close friends a Tivoli, but when unuh come yahso unuh all talk bout dem as if dem is some outcast. When yuh guh back a Tivoli, ask yuh family about the events that lead to the creation of Tivoli. When yuh see Balla or Karl, ask dem what Tony Spaulings said about seeing the sea?

Dismantling of garrison? Unuh mek mi laugh when unuh say that. At this point is only Assasin and Hortikal me tek serious on that. Balla asked the question a while back, how would you go about dismantling a garrison and none and the self righteous people them could put forward anything substantial. I guess fi some people dismantling of garrison means the annihilation of Tivoli. (Right Karl?)

Finally, of all the MPs of garrisons, how many tried discussing the dismantling of garrisons? Of all of them, who has been MP for the least amount of time? A study was done about garrions, what has the gov't done with it? How many garrisons have been created by the PNP since? When yuh ready fi be objective, mek mi know.