The MOU which saved Jamaica from Criminal Takeover

suh.. di Extradition request was invalid ?

"According to evidence previously given before the commission by Ambassador Evadne Coye, the permanent secretary in the foreign ministry, the delegation was in Washington to discuss Kingston's concerns with the extradition request. Chief among them was that Jamaica's Interception of Communication Act had been breached by the US when it obtained wiretap evidence against Coke.

The US, however, maintained that it did not breach any of Jamaica's laws and that it was relying on the evidence gathered under the MOUs."

"Section F of the document, identified yesterday as MOU 1, also forbids the intelligence being used in any affidavit and statement."

Say it ain't so...

the MOU does carry some weight. it is evidence of the understanding of the parties therefore some regard must be given to it at the extradition hearing (which never really took place).

the possible technicality i see, is whether the manner in which the information relied was obtained. if it was obtained illegally then that is a double whammy. if it was obtained legally, then the next issue would the the treaty itself and the MOU in respect of the treaty or which is meant to accompany the treaty. so there is a possible argument that wheras the information was obtained legally in JA, can it be used for the purposes of the extradition pursuant to the treaty. I would have wanted to see that issue ventilated before the courts. for the moment it is moot because dudus is where he is, but the issue in all likelihood, could arise again.

Suh wait.. dah mean seh if Dudus lawyah dem did have di MOU den dem could tek it tuh di hearing and Babylon woulda haffi wheel and come again ?

Suh wha now ? Law Suit against di Govt ?

ah wich part Dudus dem pon trial yuteman... King Street ...ar Foley Square?? LOL!

Thanks for the instruction learned Counselor...

I would submit though that this MOU issue is interesting but entirely moot re the instant case,,,since the Gelding regime caved and signed the extradition document surrendering the accused into Babylon's welcoming arms..

If Gelding had the order signed KNOWING the evidence used was illegally gained...he is guilty of gross dereliction of duty. However since it appears according to the Deputy AG that the extradition order was in order... im kool.... MOU or no MOU.. ongly MOUT mek fi talk..

I would say though that the apparantly murky and possibly conflicting terms of the MOU would give Gelding a LEGAL leg figleaf to defend his position of opposing the extradition....
            ...but then sensible people know that the Gelding regime was not so much interested in defending Jamaica's sovereignty and our individual freedoms... as he was in defending his Tribe and the interest of his close associate and Tribal Power Broker...one "Dudus" or "Chris" as he is known to his close friends ~snicker~

Makka juk Gelding whichever way im tun... das what gwaan wen yuh lie wid Fleas...an ave Termites fi deal wid tuh...LOL

Inna Babylon (a nation of laws rather than men.. Jah Bless Dem)... dem kall dis type ah ting "High Crimes & Misdemeanours"... an Gelding wudda impeach langlang time..
            Last edited by Don1; February 3, 2011, 11:27 AM.

But Bruce laawyer said they didnt know of it till 2009 and that it did not have cabinet approval.

We need a Governace General llike Christie to mek sure that our Ticians do things the right way. Sloppy work.

Wi mus hear fram Peter & Cohorts ow di whole ting roll out... but imho however it roll...it werk out goodgood inna di National Intress...strait & no doubt

Defending Dudus ?

Yuh joking.. dis extradition request was a blessing in disguise !

Yuh really tink Golding was gwine try prevent Dudus form being extradited ?

lol !!

That is being a bit naive.

Ongly issue was the.. timing.. and Drivah solve dat problem.. it was not pretty but den again pretty was out di door from the get go....

I waan feel seh Bruce is in a better position today as it pertains to Tivoli than when Dudus was 'in power'

Wheh yuh tink ?

Drivah is happy.. there can ongly be One Don...

i think i agree with you in respect of possible action that dudus may have ... judicial review is what would be required i believe as i think this is a constitutional rights issue.

i suggest though that there is some mootness .... babylon have dudus and naw give him up so the word pyrrhic springs to mind in the event dudus pursues judicial review (it is possible that the court might refuse to hear it because the issue is no longer "ripe" or put another way, the court would make a finding that does not have or cannot supply a remedy to the applicant (dudus is in prison in a foreign country over which the jamaican courts have no jurisdiction). i honestly don't know whether in a matter like that monetary compensation is available .....

One question I have and that is, Can Dudus attorney use this in court?

in the US?

Suh Driva defen di criminal fi 9 month ..all inna Parliament...all seh im wudda more resign dan resile fram im duty to "protect Jamaican freedoms"... den end up pon TV ah bawl yeye wata ah beg forgiveness??...anna strategy dat fi get rid ah Dudus..rite??

Whey mi tink?? ...mi tink yuh tek idolatry soaring to new heights...

yuh gwa'an laaf...jimmy swaggart still have him ministry?

and yet the facts are in evidence..

One Don..