Forum massive, I would like to speak about

• Forum massive, I would like to speak about

this forgotten Jakan genuis. This man helped shaped our music that is now INT'L. It just goes to show how creative the people of Ja are, and what they can accomplish if they put their minds to it.

Please pay attention because I will drop another thread will be related in some ways to this one http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kpqPK...eature=related

Let me now introduce none other than Mr.Don Drummond:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gTY8K-1pxks

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UJpgu...eature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9UULy...eature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mOAYG...eature=related

Sass, Gamma, Iman, Jangle and others I know you guys are music men. Tell me why the Chinese titles of the last two?

forgotten? a mussi yuh figget him!!!

Sorry I may have missed it when the JA media has remebernce on an annual basis (not even see nutten fi bob much less).

You do agree that these men and woman has created a brand of music; which is now INTL and is now infused with culture of the Jakan people?

boss just do a forum search ..... ef yuh think he is forgotten that is perhaps elsewhere but not on this forum!!!

one time X was all looking for a specific song .... nuh memba di name now.

Okay fine he's not forgotten here. Do you know why the chinese titles, and do you agree what I said about these guys and the music?

Ska music alive and well. We talk about the skatalite and all the players around here.

Them man deh a hero bass.

Jawge, Don Drummond got his props here quite a few times. And...the local papers (Gleaner and Observer) have done their part in bigging-up Don Drummond.

What I think we have been remiss on though, is that of giving more props to Don Drummond's alma mater (Alpha Boy's) which has produced some greats. The following is a list of some of the Alpha Boy's grads:
                King Yellow Man; Leroy Smart; Dr Leslie Thompson; Tommy McCook; Dizzy Moore; Rico Rodriguez; "Horsemouith" Wallace and Dean Fraser et. al.
                "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Okay I'm schooled, but we all agree they did wonderful things for the music which is now an INTL brand. Yes?

You are right and we should look into the reson why alpa boys isn't putting any quality in these times (it's needed badly) . I will leave that to be discussed in my education thread (coming soon

Yes, Historian's presence is well needed in this thread. We need to find if and why Alpha no longer produce the quality of yesteryears.
                      "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Could be lack of funding and support from various institutions.

True... or lack of quality teachers/Instructors!

True dat.Let me give a hint on what I will say on education.

Look at reggae, it's a brand bringing in millions to the island (granted the system in Ja isn't set up for the general populace to reap windfalls but that's different thread). Alpha boys a key institution to the evolution of this brand lies there and not at the forefront.

Do you see the US not paying attention to MIT and CALTECH (two of the top engineering schools in the land. Engineering brings in billions in terms of defence and consumer items) Yuh see where mi going now boss?

Ska alive and well but not in jamaica,i have questioned why a annual blues festival in jamaica and not a ska one

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.