Don1...seems you did not think this one through...

• Don1...seems you did not think this one through...

The Ian Fleming Airport renaming that is....

You have (and present many good and interesting thoughts) on this forum. You are very reasonable.

Seems to me... you are making personal feelings get in the way of thinking through the airport renaming.

A simple way to arrive at the best decision is to do pro/con on a piece of paper.

Fully understand the pride factor. Jamaica needs all the help it can get.

Yuh destroyed all your credibility in your 2nd and 3rd sentence...

"...and while we fight wan-anada--JAH Kingdom goes to waste..."

---me think iz Ernie Se-mit

The Ian Fleming Airport renaming that is....

You have (and present many good and interesting thoughts) on this forum. You are very reasonable.

Seems to me... you are making personal feelings get in the way of thinking through the airport renaming.

A simple way to arrive at the best decision is to do pro/con on a piece of paper.

Fully understand the pride factor. Jamaica needs all the help it can get.
        ok boss... understood

I just don't agree with the import others place on the naming of the airport for the foreigner. Some seem to think that it is a real coup...and we are "lucky" we didn't have to pay for it... which to me is ludicrous. The honour is bestowed on Fleming NOT on Jamaica...and this honor is more properly placed with a Jamaican of note imho.

Additionally I believe the naming of the facility will not lead to the bonanza that some are expecting.... as no one visits a region with an airport name as an incentive... that belief some have I find ludicrous as well

If that represents not thinking it through...I plead guilty as charged.

Selah

All the points you make are reasonable.

But I see some strategic thinking here. Name and brand recognition are important and carry value.

Ian Fleming (James Bond) is tropical , timeless, sexy...lots of economic spin-offs will be had from this simple renaming.

Your buddy Assasin was forward thinking when he suggested Pirates and Pirates of the caribbean theme can also be exploited.....
          Last edited by HL; January 27, 2011, 07:50 PM.

I have no problem with that branding... but extending that to a national asset like an airport, which is NOT a destination nor an attraction, adds no value from a marketing perspective.... so the naming seems craven to me...especially when Golding boasts that we didn't have to pay for it!

Such assets purchased with public money are best named in honour of a Jamaican of note.

What exercised me is the belief expressed on the forum that the people in the St Mary area who are opposed to the name are somehow "foolish" or "stopping progress" ...and should quit yapping. I didn't have much interest in the issue until I heard that crap.

What that viewpoint reflects is what ails Jamaica imho...a top down, plantation style of political governance which ignores the views of the people most affected by their actions. If we had good governors this would not be so bad...but unfortunately we DON'T!

Jamaica's problems don't stem from the people...they come from the head...that where the fish rot starts.
            Last edited by Don1; January 27, 2011, 08:05 PM.

Will the pirates be of African descent?

What that viewpoint reflects imho is what ails Jamaica imho...a top down, plantation style of political governance which ignores the views of the people most affected by their actions.
                In a democratic society you vote for a leader and trust that he serves your best interest...you don't have "mini elections" for every issue that comes up...how is this unique to Jamaica? Is this an indictment by you of the democratic process?

Well said Don1

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Manley did sound sweet tuh...

Lee Kuan Yew si through him after 1 short visit...

Lee seh he had SERIOUS work to do.. he had not time to be quixotic....

36 years later di same bankrupt mentality persists...

Dat damn Intellectual Ghetto....

"Name and brand recognition are important and carry value."

Hl I know that most times you aspire to be objective but think carefully about what you are saying in the above?

What if a Polo Ground in Ochi is named after Prince Charles or a Saudi Prince? Does this mean that the club members of that circuit or league will flock to Ochi to play Polo? I think the target market and branding argument is weak and doesn't really hold up under scrutiny.
                      Can Haiti rename their airport to a famous person of French nationality with the hopes of seeing increase in the arrival of tourists from Europe?

Let's not forget that the airport isn't open to general public (neither from home or abroad) and it's funded by tax payers' money.

Tax Payer ? Yuh mean di Tourist dem whe fly come yah ? Dem deh Tax Payer ?

Boss tek it easy nuh, memba say is juss three seat yuh squeeze in pon.

and unnuh been trying ever since fi tief dem back.. at ALL expense...

Mi nuh know wheh wuss pon di Taxpayer.. PNP in Power or PNP in Opposition...

Which denizen of Hell spawned yuh party ? (well.. di post 1970 version)

...one size does not fit all King Jawge.