• Prime Minister explains Brady’s involvement to Manatt Commis

Prime Minister explains Brady’s involvement to Manatt Commission

Prime Minister Bruce Golding has issued a statement to the Manatt/Dudus Commission of Enquiry on the series of events surrounding the engagement of Manatt, Phelps and Phillips.

It gives details about the Prime Minister's interactions with Harold Brady, the Justice Minister, and members of the Foreign Affairs Ministry.
    Mr. Golding stated that he became aware of the extradition request for Christopher Coke on August 24, 2009.

He notified Justice Minister and Attorney General Dorothy Lightbourne, who reported that her office received it the following day.

Minister Lightbourne according to Mr. Golding notified him that the documentation in support of the request was questionable and insufficient, so the request should not be authorised.

Mr. Golding explained that if his Government refused the request, it would be misinterpreted as being designed to protect Coke, so he engaged the Foreign Affairs Ministry to have discussions with the US Government.

Enter Harold Brady
    According to the Prime Minister, Harold Brady's involvement began on September 6, 2009 when the attorney along with then State Minister in the Foreign Affairs Ministry Dr. Ronald Robinson, met with him and proposed to meet with influential contacts in the US to assist.

He stated that he instructed Mr. Brady and Dr. Robinson to proceed with these plans on behalf of the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP), and not the Government.

To this end, he told JLP Deputy Treasurer Daryl Vaz to arrange payment from the JLP's accounts for trips to the US to facilitate this process.

Mr. Golding further explained that in September, Mr. Brady returned with news that he contacted Manatt, Phelps and Phillips which could help, but it needed a retainer fee of US$100,000 per quarter.

This is where Mr. Golding noted that he gave permission for the money to be paid on behalf of the JLP.

PM’s instruction
    According to Mr. Golding, Mr. Brady told him that the law firm believed it would be more effective if it acted for the Government, but Mr. Golding told them to terminate the arrangement if Manatt Phelps and Phillips insisted on this proposal.

His statement also explained that in December 2009, a delegation flew to Washington DC to meet with Justice Department officials.

This group comprised Solicitor General, the Deputy Solicitor General, and the Permanent Secretary in the Foreign Affairs Ministry.

Mr. Golding added that he learnt of another meeting in Washington shortly after this meeting, between Jamaican Government officials and representatives of the US State and Justice Departments, plus a representative from Manatt Phelps and Phillips.

He ended his statement by repeating his public stance that he has never met with anyone from the US law firm.
    Last edited by Karl; January 28, 2011, 01:34 AM.

The sweet smell of roses...

Apparantly the JLP leader didn't tell the PM what was happenning hence the big denials in parliament. Smells yes, but not of Roses.

Yeah well yuh a comrade suh yuh sense of smell is by definition non-existent.

Tut tut I seem to recall someone posting about name-calling and propaganda. Takes one to know one comrade. So there. LOL.

suh wait.. yuh neba 'grow up in a PNP household' ?

Originally posted by Rudi View Post
              Apparantly the JLP leader didn't tell the PM what was happenning hence the big denials in parliament. Smells yes, but not of Roses.

there goes the misinformation again .... what did the PM deny in Parliament Rudi?

Sorry to disappoint. Did you grow up inna Labourite houshold?

No sah.. I am a registered Democrat..

Wow and all this time I thought you were a tea party member. Surprising.

Not really.. you demonstrate poor judgement in general...

Me no so sure bout dat one. Think man no need to deny your tea Party street cred.

there goes the misinformation again .... what did the PM deny in Parliament Rudi?
                          He denied that the Gov't engaged Mannat. He neglected to mention that he as head of the JLP sanctioned that initiative. A little tid bit of information he didnt think was petinent to the discussion. I suppose if the JLP leader and the PM had better communication all of this would have been averted.

To help your cause you should avoid ueing the word 'misinformation' when discussing this matter. It doesn't help the PM.

I will give you a chance to explain yourself...

What Tea Party beliefs/position have I supported ?

The man ask yuh what he denied.

What did Peter Phillips accuse the Govt of ?