Storm over airport name

Yess Masssr Sir Elitist , you know how fi spend taxpayer money , wi nuh ave nuh talk , unnuh a di smartest.

Straight !

Louise Bennett-Coverley
    From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
    Louise Simone Bennett-Coverley or Miss Lou, OM, OJ, MBE (September 7, 1919 – July 26, 2006) was a Jamaican folklorist, writer, and educator. She was born in Kingston, Jamaica and attended Ebenezer and Calabar Elementary Schools, St. Simon’s College, Excelsior College, and Friends College (Highgate, St Mary).
    Career
    Miss Lou was a resident artiste from 1945 to 1946 with the “Caribbean Carnival”. She appeared in leading humorous roles in several Jamaican Pantomimes and television shows. She traveled throughout the World promoting the culture of Jamaica by lecturing and performing. Although her popularity was International, she enjoyed a celebrity status in her native Jamaica, Canada and the United Kingdom. Her Poetry has been published several times, most notably Jamaica Labrish-1966, Anancy and Miss Lou-1979.
    Among her many recordings are: Jamaica Singing Games - 1953, Jamaican Folk Songs (Folkways Records, 1954), Children's Jamaican Songs and Games (Folkways, 1957) Miss Lou’s Views - 1967, Listen to Louise - 1968, Carifesta Ring Ding - 1976, The Honorable Miss Lou - 1981, Miss Lou Live-London - 1983 and Yes M' Dear -Island Records. She was married to Eric Winston Coverley on May 30, 1954 and has 1 adopted son Fabian Coverley.
    In 1974, she was appointed to the Order of Jamaica. On Jamaica’s Independence Day 2001, the Honorable Mrs. Louise Bennett-Coverley was appointed as a Member of the Jamaican Order of Merit for her invaluable and distinguished contribution to the development of the Arts and Culture. She wrote her poems in the language of the people known as Jamaican Patois or Creole, and helped to put this language on the map and to have it recognised as a language in its own right, thus influencing many poets to do similar things.
    In 1986, she appeared as Portia in the comedy film Club Paradise, starring Robin Williams, Jimmy Cliff and Peter O'Toole.
    She died in Toronto, Ontario, Canada on July 26, 2006.
    "Colonization in Reverse" (1966)
    "Wat a joyful news, Miss Mattie,
    I feel like me heart gwine burs
    Jamaica people colonizin
    Englan in reverse.
    By de hundred, by de tousan
    From country and from town,
    By de ship-load, by de plane-load
    Jamaica is Englan boun.
    Dem a pour out a Jamaica
    Everybody future plan
    Is fe get a big-time job
    An settle in de mother lan.
    What a islan! What a people!
    Man an woman, old an young
    Jus a pack dem bag an baggage
    An tun history upside dung!
    Some people doan like travel
    But fe show dem loyalty
    Dem all a open up cheap-fare-
    To-Englan agency.
    An week by week dem shippin off
    Dem countryman like fire,
    Fe immigrate an populate
    De seat a de Empire.
    Oonoo see how life is funny,
    Oonoo see de tunabout?
    Jamaica live fe box bread
    Out a English people mout'.
    For wen dem ketch a Englan,
    An start play dem different role,
    Some will settle down to work
    An some will settle fe de dole.
    Jane say de dole is not too bad
    Because dey payin she
    Two pounds a week fe seek a job
    Dat suit her dignity.
    Me say Jane will never fine work
    At de rate how she dah look,
    For all day she stay pon Aunt Fan couch
    An read love-story book.
    Wat a devilment a Englan!
    Dem face war an brave de worse,
    But me wonderin how dem gwine stan
    Colonizin in reverse."
    Cultural Significance
    Louise Bennett's poem, “Colonization in Reverse” (1966), provides a historical context for many minorities living in the UK in post-colonial time. Her portrayal of the Jamaican experience of dislocation and racial inequality parallels that of South Asian people living in London. Additionally, in both cases issues of cultural specificity and identity are salient. Both Jamaican and South Asian people shared a similar experience in their move to England for employment and a better life while also implying the complexities of assimilation and dual identity.
    Bennett pinpoints her concept of cultural disloyalty when she writes about Jamaicans on their quest for better job opportunities: “Dem a pour out a Jamaica/ Everybody future plan/ Is to get a big-time job/ An settle in de mother lan.” [1] Her reference to the “mother lan” here has an irony to it in that she is applying that England is the new mother land as opposed to Jamaica. By her referencing to England in this way it implies that her fellow Jamaicans are assimilating to England’s culture and leaving behind Jamaica, or the “mother lan.”
    A similar notion of assimilation is expressed by the South Asian hip hop group Hustlers HC through the lyrics in their song “Big Trouble in Little Asia”. Similar to Bennett, they combat the idea of colonization; only their music references it through the lens of India’s relation to Britain. They express the variety of oppressions experienced in Britain, yet refer to Britain as a land of opportunity. Additionally, they reveal the struggles of mindless “bum jobs” just as Bennett does. Throughout their music, Hustler HC struggle with their cultural history of oppression: “colonial displacement, capitalist work relations and racial oppression” (Sharma 46). [2] These struggles are shared by Jamaicans due to the similarities in their experience of colonization. Moreover, South Asian and Jamaican music aesthetic merged in many music scenes in the UK. In essence, Jamaicans and South Asians in London both struggled in similar ways to claim a culture and identity—music formed as a tool to achieve this.
    References
    ^ Bennett, Louise. “Colonization in Reverse.” 1966
    ^ Sharma, Sanjay. "Noisy Asians or 'Asian Noise'?" in Dis-Orienting Rhythms: The Politics of the New Asian Dance Music, ed. London: Zed Books, 1996.
    Jamaican Performing & Recording Artists (www.jamaicans.com)
    External links
    Official site
    Government of Jamaica obituary
    Biography at ChineseJamiacan.com
    Bennett Discography at Smithsonian Folkways
    Categories: 1919 births | 2006 deaths | Members of the Order of the British Empire | Jamaican women writers | Jamaican poets | Jamaican female singers | People from Kingston, Jamaica
    Miss Lou Intanational mi seh!!

Bwoy me woulda say something but me no want to fingerfere inna unuh biznizz.
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Elitist ??

The name of the airport fits in with the brand being created for that area.

Your 'passion' is misplaced... reminds of another fellow in the 70's... I am sure you have good intentions too..

Where is the Bob Marley Hotel? Universal have a Bob theme park? Did they name a Avenue after Bob in Brooklyn?

Who say it is limited to where you are born?
          ================================================

Bob Marley Boulevard - Brooklyn, NY

Marcus Garvey Boulevard, Brooklyn, NY

Marcus Garvey Park...Harlem

Prophets are indeed often not properly recognized in dem owna land... White/Brown Man Time Syndrome is a byitch...

Ignorance to the extreme.

This airport is for all Jamaica.

How many times farriners tief we IP? Recall the French Rock band whe call demself JAMAICA. This time we mekking use of local farriner fi free and di eediot dem a bawl!

One man waan name it after Horace Clarke...wahahahahhahah. MDYADWL

It think its a clever move.

How yuh think Blu munten kaffe tun big shot?

We fi find real issues fi discuss and gwaan kool.

you hear how much him do fi St.Mary?

"This airport is for all Jamaica".

Wiilivanwinkle, where have you been? Correction for all Jakans with Swiss accounts. have you not heard of "target marketing"? You get painted with a bulls eye if you have swiss account (that pretty much sums it up). The other plebs (regardless of race or nationality, either work there or peep through the fence to take pictures).

Well wikileaks is going to help out us poor jakans who only have a cell with web access (soon). This mean when they come on the campaign trail with their sad sack stories; wi ah go say "ah true man, muh worry yuhself"

No unnu come pon yah everyday talk bout "Niche" and "rich" tourist fi Portland etc. How quick unnu change unnu tune?

"Niche" and "rich" tourist fi Portland etc. How quick unnu change unnu tune?

Mi Jawge say dat? Yuh good to rhatid. Boss mi nuh haff nutten fi gain so do nuh mix mi up.

Ignorance to the extreme.

This airport is for all Jamaica.

How many times farriners tief we IP? Recall the French Rock band whe call demself JAMAICA. This time we mekking use of local farriner fi free and di eediot dem a bawl!

One man waan name it after Horace Clarke...wahahahahhahah. MDYADWL

What's in a name? Since we going to the Xtremes, dem could call it, this way it can have everbody name:

ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ

"This airport is for all Jamaica".

Wiilivanwinkle, where have you been? Correction for all Jakans with Swiss accounts. have you not heard of "target marketing"?
                            So who is the Errol Flynn Marina for? Fishermen? Yuh cannot be this dense Jawge? It is an airport for private planes what yuh waan dem do run Air Taxi wit a flying Kingfish for the residents of St Mary?

look like seh yuh new to di site...

you dare to question Jawge density ?

Mi hear seh is a 'White Man' instrumental in bringing him body yah suh and mek him National Hero..

It is 2011.. di black man bawling ting inna Jamaica is now beyond pitiful...unnuh nuh have nuh self-respect ?