• Stop treating schoolers like pros

Stop treating schoolers like pros

The case against the importation of youngsters into high school based on their sports ability

By Lascelve Graham (Part One)

Saturday, January 22, 2011

I hereby attempt to summarise the case against the importation of youngsters into high school for the purpose of influencing the outcome of sporting events. This practice is symptomatic of a larger problem which is rampant in the society — erosion, the attrition, the slow, silent, imperceptible but inexorable eating away of the integrity of our people and our systems.

1 The primary purpose of high school is to expand intellectual (academic) capacity, that is, to teach us to think critically, to teach us to analyse, to teach us to ask the right questions, to teach us to solve problems, even those that have not yet evolved. In a number of countries, this is all high schools do. Sports is taken care of elsewhere. High schools are specialised academic institutions. Hence, the admission criteria need to reflect this. Jamaican, like English high schools, believe that sports is one of the developmental tools (others include religion, music etc) that can help youngsters develop character, develop mental toughness.

Action from the Corporate Area Manning Cup football competition. (Photo: File)

#slideshowtoggler, #slideshowtoggler a, #slideshowtoggler img {filter:none !important;zoom:normal !important}
    1/1
    We believe that sports can play a key role in helping to teach values, attitudes and life skills to the youngsters who have satisfied the academic admission criteria and who deserve as shown by their demonstrated academic potential, to be in the school. Sports should therefore, in principle, minister to these youngsters, the great majority of whom come from poor, deprived communities.

These youngsters have sacrificed, some of them at times going hungry, reading under street lights etc, and have made the effort to be where they are. Sports must, in principle, give those youngsters every opportunity to succeed, every opportunity for exposure, every opportunity to be more rounded individuals, if sports is going to satisfy its purpose in the educational programme. The youngsters have earned it. If we go outside to bring sporting expertise into a given school, with the intention of influencing sporting events, it is warping, subverting, undermining and corrupting the educational framework in which sports should be operating. Sports is not performing its function in the education system. It is defeating the purpose for which it is in schools.

Sports must work with the children it has up to the high school level. This is what happens even in the USA, a country which we seem to ape in all things. It is even stronger in England on which our system is modelled.
    Sports in high school is a tool. It is like the anvil and hammer which are used to shape, forge and temper the steel that is to be made into a sword. It shapes what is put before it and does the best with what it has. Similarly, sports should be used to strengthen the mental toughness, the character of those who having satisfied the normal academic admission requirement are at the school and are intent on improving their academic standing.

2 High schools are specialised academic institutions. Their core function is expanding academic capacity. As such, they should be looking for academic talent, not sporting talent. They should be looking for children who show acumen (aptitude) in information technology, chemistry, physics or biology etc, but may not have appropriate laboratory facilities where they are. Let the high schools give those a second chance. Let them give the late academic bloomers a chance. In all of this we must not forget that there is only a limited number of spaces in our high schools.
    We do not have unlimited resources. High schools should be looking to import youngsters like these, not "sports stars" to fill these places since the required facilities will only be found in these specialised academic institutions. Schools are incubators that are set up to nourish and nurture the intellectual development of our youngsters. Schools must discover, facilitate, encourage, motivate, protect and develop the full intellectual capacity of our youngsters. Our only hope out of poverty, our ticket out of neediness (hardship) as a nation, is through academic education.

3 Importing a "sports star" into the team denies a "home grown" talent a place on the team. It marginalises poor people's children who have laboured, strained to earn a place in the school. This means that one of our poor, deprived youngsters who has struggled, sacrificed, delayed gratification, played by the rules to get himself into the position where he could experience the exhilaration, the gratification, the joy, the glory of representing his/her school will be denied this opportunity. Making his team and having it on his resume could perhaps help him to get some financial aid which would allow him to further his studies — his ticket out of poverty.

It may help him to get the Rhodes Scholarship. Denied, because some coach or some school wanted to win at all cost, because some school or some coach wanted a quick fix, wanted gratification now and was not prepared to delay gratification, something which they demand of their charges. This is institutionalised injustice. It is unfair. It is repugnant. It is reprehensible. Maybe, if my school were a subscriber to this practice when I was in school, few if any would have known of my talent as a footballer, since as a short, small, bowlegged youngster, I looked the part more of a jockey than a footballer. In fact, initially, my Manning Cup coach was reluctant to play me, saying that if one of the "tree" boys from JC fell on me I would die and he did not know what he would tell my father. Perhaps if he could have brought in a readymade star from outside who better fitted the role, I would have been sidelined and never heard of again. There are several similar stories that could be told.

4 If a coach can bring in a "star" from outside, why bother to look internally to unearth new talent? Why bother to expend the energy or effort to encourage the shy youngster to turn out for practice? Just bring in a central defender from outside if you need one. Hence the reason that intramural sports has died in many schools. Consequently, many youngsters who were for one reason or another a little too shy to come out on their own, just never got the push that they needed from the coach or the administration. They have regrets for the rest of their lives because a part of them has been lost which they cannot now recover. Importation undermines the purpose of sports in schools. It blocks and frustrates the hopes and aspirations of other students already in the school.

5 The raiding of schools and the snatching of their brightest stars who are then taken to the raiding school in order to influence the outcome of sporting events is despicable and should be stopped. It weakens the raided school making it more difficult for that school to do well and for the youngsters, the community, that area of Jamaica to experience the benefits, the confidence and joy of success. Consider Usain Bolt and William Knibb High School or Samardo Samuels and Muchette High School.

A number of schools lament that having discovered, nurtured and developed a youngster over several years, he/she is swiped away by a richer school, where oftentimes the youngster never fits in and feels out of place. Many youngsters focus on sports to the detriment of their school work, waiting and hoping to be "bought" by another school. We need to stop treating our youngsters in high schools like professional sports people.

Editor's Note: Dr Lascelve 'Muggy' Graham is a former Jamaica, St George's College Manning Cup, All Schools, All Manning Cup football captain, as well as St George's College cricketer and track athlete, and also House Captain, Prefect, Headboy, Headmaster Medallist, Student Council President and Valedictorian at St George's College.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport...#ixzz1BmEEQbvO

When does a debate on a sports or sports related topic...

...rise to the level of "Everything Jamaica Forum" importance?

I hope you believe that this topic and its importance to the development of our society and country...how we nurture the next generation to better propel our country onwards and upwards...warrants being in our "Everything Jamaica Forum".

Please do not hold back on sharing your thoughts on the topic under discussion and "Muggy's" 'take' on the matter.

Respek!

I jus think Muggy could make his point using a lot less words.

He has comprehensively outlined a long standing problem--and fail to list possible solutions:

I jus think Muggy could make his point using a lot less words.

He has comprehensively outlined a long standing problem--and fail to list possible solutions:
        ...but is it a problem?

He speaks of schoolboy athletes coming into a school and reducing opportunities for kids who were at that before...but what about the parity of an opportunity opening for another child at the school the athlete left?

He speaks about intra-school competitions being phased out because of the influx of athletes from other schools. ...but is that truth?

I think that it cannot be the 'whole truth'. In fact I am thinking that is a "nonsense statement". Intra-school competitions has to do with vision of the school and leadership from the teachers. It pointedly has to do with exuberance or mental vigor within the physical education department. It also has to do with receptiveness of the kids to engage in 'sports' within the school.

...and on and on Muggy makes claims that seem to be mere emotionalism...not fact based.

The guy definitely has a valid point imho...and I don't mind the number of words either,,,in fact we need more. We need some researchers to track and analyse, school by school, the extent of this "buying" practice and also track the academic performance of these transferees versus the general school populations. We hear enuff arredy bout dem sporting exploits...

Until there is scientific data...we can chat til we weak... it's speculative and anecdotal

Research mi seh...whey di Intellectual Ghetto deh?

Talented athletes should not be in traditional high schools to begin with...we need academies...by the way what happened to the JFF academy?

The guy definitely has a valid point imho...and I don't mind the number of words either,,,in fact we need more. We need some researchers to track and analyse, school by school, the extent of this "buying" practice and also track the academic performance of these transferees versus the general school populations. We hear enuff arredy bout dem sporting exploits...

Until there is scientific data...we can chat til we weak... it's speculative and anecdotal

Research mi seh...whey di Intellectual Ghetto deh?
              It would be really good to see such scientific data.

Karl it's fact based. The man has some solid points.

Fact: Ja's current high school leagues cannot compete with the youth club/academies of S.America and Europe (this also explains S.America and Europe's dominance at the WC). If you want to join the feel good process of having won the dcup/manning cup only to have your hopes dashed in INT'L football, well go ahead. Since RFK 97 when has Ja given the US a good run for their money? This thing doesn't need any form of research it's obvious as birds flying in the sky and fish swimming in the sea.

Karl it's fact based. The man has some solid points.

Fact: Ja's current high school leagues cannot compete with the youth club/academies of S.America and Europe (this also explains S.America and Europe's dominance at the WC). If you want to join the feel good process of having won the dcup/manning cup only to have your hopes dashed in INT'L football, well go ahead. Since RFK 97 when has Ja given the US a good run for their money? This thing doesn't need any form of research it's obvious as birds flying in the sky and fish swimming in the sea.
                  Spell out the facts, Jawge?

I hope you are not saying that lack of academies for young Jamaican footballers is the reason that Jamaica, which has not yet seriously tried to put its football on the path to TOP OF THE WORLD, is so low down on the totem pole that rates the football nations?

Cho Jawge man, mek wi si yuh facts dem?

Stop treating schoolers like pros

The case against the importation of youngsters into high school based on their sports ability

By Lascelve Graham (Part One)

Saturday, January 22, 2011

I hereby attempt to summarise the case against the importation of youngsters into high school for the purpose of influencing the outcome of sporting events. This practice is symptomatic of a larger problem which is rampant in the society — erosion, the attrition, the slow, silent, imperceptible but inexorable eating away of the integrity of our people and our systems.

1 The primary purpose of high school is to expand intellectual (academic) capacity, that is, to teach us to think critically, to teach us to analyse, to teach us to ask the right questions, to teach us to solve problems, even those that have not yet evolved. In a number of countries, this is all high schools do. Sports is taken care of elsewhere. High schools are specialised academic institutions. Hence, the admission criteria need to reflect this. Jamaican, like English high schools, believe that sports is one of the developmental tools (others include religion, music etc) that can help youngsters develop character, develop mental toughness.

#slideshowtoggler, #slideshowtoggler a, #slideshowtoggler img {filter:none !important;zoom:normal !important}
                    1/1

We believe that sports can play a key role in helping to teach values, attitudes and life skills to the youngsters who have satisfied the academic admission criteria and who deserve as shown by their demonstrated academic potential, to be in the school. Sports should therefore, in principle, minister to these youngsters, the great majority of whom come from poor, deprived communities.

These youngsters have sacrificed, some of them at times going hungry, reading under street lights etc, and have made the effort to be where they are. Sports must, in principle, give those youngsters every opportunity to succeed, every opportunity for exposure, every opportunity to be more rounded individuals, if sports is going to satisfy its purpose in the educational programme. The youngsters have earned it. If we go outside to bring sporting expertise into a given school, with the intention of influencing sporting events, it is warping, subverting, undermining and corrupting the educational framework in which sports should be operating. Sports is not performing its function in the education system. It is defeating the purpose for which it is in schools.

Sports must work with the children it has up to the high school level. This is what happens even in the USA, a country which we seem to ape in all things. It is even stronger in England on which our system is modelled.
                    Sports in high school is a tool. It is like the anvil and hammer which are used to shape, forge and temper the steel that is to be made into a sword. It shapes what is put before it and does the best with what it has. Similarly, sports should be used to strengthen the mental toughness, the character of those who having satisfied the normal academic admission requirement are at the school and are intent on improving their academic standing.

2 High schools are specialised academic institutions. Their core function is expanding academic capacity. As such, they should be looking for academic talent, not sporting talent. They should be looking for children who show acumen (aptitude) in information technology, chemistry, physics or biology etc, but may not have appropriate laboratory facilities where they are. Let the high schools give those a second chance. Let them give the late academic bloomers a chance. In all of this we must not forget that there is only a limited number of spaces in our high schools.
                    We do not have unlimited resources. High schools should be looking to import youngsters like these, not "sports stars" to fill these places since the required facilities will only be found in these specialised academic institutions. Schools are incubators that are set up to nourish and nurture the intellectual development of our youngsters. Schools must discover, facilitate, encourage, motivate, protect and develop the full intellectual capacity of our youngsters. Our only hope out of poverty, our ticket out of neediness (hardship) as a nation, is through academic education.

3 Importing a "sports star" into the team denies a "home grown" talent a place on the team. It marginalises poor people's children who have laboured, strained to earn a place in the school. This means that one of our poor, deprived youngsters who has struggled, sacrificed, delayed gratification, played by the rules to get himself into the position where he could experience the exhilaration, the gratification, the joy, the glory of representing his/her school will be denied this opportunity. Making his team and having it on his resume could perhaps help him to get some financial aid which would allow him to further his studies — his ticket out of poverty.

It may help him to get the Rhodes Scholarship. Denied, because some coach or some school wanted to win at all cost, because some school or some coach wanted a quick fix, wanted gratification now and was not prepared to delay gratification, something which they demand of their charges. This is institutionalised injustice. It is unfair. It is repugnant. It is reprehensible. Maybe, if my school were a subscriber to this practice when I was in school, few if any would have known of my talent as a footballer, since as a short, small, bowlegged youngster, I looked the part more of a jockey than a footballer. In fact, initially, my Manning Cup coach was reluctant to play me, saying that if one of the "tree" boys from JC fell on me I would die and he did not know what he would tell my father. Perhaps if he could have brought in a readymade star from outside who better fitted the role, I would have been sidelined and never heard of again. There are several similar stories that could be told.

4 If a coach can bring in a "star" from outside, why bother to look internally to unearth new talent? Why bother to expend the energy or effort to encourage the shy youngster to turn out for practice? Just bring in a central defender from outside if you need one. Hence the reason that intramural sports has died in many schools. Consequently, many youngsters who were for one reason or another a little too shy to come out on their own, just never got the push that they needed from the coach or the administration. They have regrets for the rest of their lives because a part of them has been lost which they cannot now recover. Importation undermines the purpose of sports in schools. It blocks and frustrates the hopes and aspirations of other students already in the school.

5 The raiding of schools and the snatching of their brightest stars who are then taken to the raiding school in order to influence the outcome of sporting events is despicable and should be stopped. It weakens the raided school making it more difficult for that school to do well and for the youngsters, the community, that area of Jamaica to experience the benefits, the confidence and joy of success. Consider Usain Bolt and William Knibb High School or Samardo Samuels and Muchette High School.

A number of schools lament that having discovered, nurtured and developed a youngster over several years, he/she is swiped away by a richer school, where oftentimes the youngster never fits in and feels out of place. Many youngsters focus on sports to the detriment of their school work, waiting and hoping to be "bought" by another school. We need to stop treating our youngsters in high schools like professional sports people.

Editor's Note: Dr Lascelve 'Muggy' Graham is a former Jamaica, St George's College Manning Cup, All Schools, All Manning Cup football captain, as well as St George's College cricketer and track athlete, and also House Captain, Prefect, Headboy, Headmaster Medallist, Student Council President and Valedictorian at St George's College.

Some of those who can meet the minimum requirements should play. The question is how many? Should we say that no more than 3 persons who did not pass the govt entrance exam show play on a footal team? It would be unfair to import 11 balllers and leave the people who got in through the govt exam sitting on the bench.

The article is NOT about football development being stymied ... it's about football development affecting academics

mi tink dem set up one diffrant forum fi discuss football developments
                      Last edited by Don1; January 23, 2011, 07:23 AM.

they didn't pass the exam to play football did they?

In a way they did. They pass the exam to get the right to participate in all activities of high school. Furthermore is not just winning thats important. Team participation is important to self development ans also memories of high school activities last a lifetime.

How do you compare the relative success of the high schools when some schools will import an entire team in order to win while others like Wolmer's and Campion will not let anyone in the door unless they can meet elevated minimum standards?

I am not supporting an import policy....plus I'm happy to learn that Wolmers does not buy athletes ~snicker~

Wolmer's give athlectic scholarship but you must meet an elavated standard to get in. It not the fail four subject with F+ ISSA standard. You also need to know how to behave.