Farmers Market (revisited)

• Farmers Market (revisited)

Just got the chance to read through the thread with the above topic.

As pointed out, Jamaica has been facing this SIMPLE distribution issue for as long as I know.

The irony is that while folks in Trelawny have lots of yellow yam...there is a scarcity in Westmoreland. St. Elizabeth have excess thyme and escellion...Trelawny has none.......

So the idea of plentifulness--is merely excess in one area. All that is procuced can be easily absorbed by the country. Exporting then, only makes sense when the local need is satisfied; and Jamaica with it's system of agri. production--lags far behind based on cultural practices.

I am just gobsmacked with the inability of all the PhD's (incl. the Agri Minister)--someone cannot develop a SIMPLE supply chain management solution.

HINT: for it to werk, the supply chain system must be privately owned and operated.

one thing unnu fail to realise is that until 3 years ago we were practically importing everything, from pepper, water, carrot, tomato, onions. We are still importing cassava.

The last two year has resulted in growth in argicultural production. Hopefully we can supply most of what we eat. HL we use to produce sugar and sell it to England and then import at a cheaper price from Guyana.

The farmers need to work with RADA to find out where there are demand and and what is best suited for the location. I know that organization such as the USAID had a few community projects.

The hotels say the farmers are too unreliable as sometimes they get the product and sometimes they don't. Storage and technology can help. If we can sell all the hotels and provide them with food then will be a huge market. The minister past stage one so let me see if he can lift is game and by the next two years grow Agriculture by 100% since he took office.

Unnu? Unnu who?

Nuh must you and the socialist crew him a talk bout.

You have to ask? LOL

Unnu disrespectful eh? Crew?

Saw your submission Exile. Very well said!

X-cuse me (I may have missed it) but what is the acronym RADA.

Thanks in advance.

Assasin I admire your HOPE.

http://www.rada.gov.jm/site_information.php?ID=150

thought you said you read all the post.

It is doable HL. The chinese buying sugar factory should be telling. Rice planting will result in some growth. The growth in green house technology and best practises by RADA all can go a long way.

mi nah pay you nuh mind

thankX 'ssasin!

Thanks.

I'm not too sure about the rice planting ESPECIALLY wth respect to the environmental effects due to the use of chemicals, short-term and long term effects on aquatic life and hence food chain proplems (us) and also hydrological effects. Where are the rice lands? Are we planting basic hard rice or gourmet products like basmati, jasmine and organic?
                        Jamaica has many failed rice projects - in the Black River Upper Morass, lower Clarendon etc. There are varieties they call highland rice that requires less water and supposedly give better yields.
                        The acreage being boasted about are miniscule. One farm in Guyana will produce that. Maybe this is one product we should stay from as well.

that is healthy speculation...

I hope yuh not wasting it just positing it on dis site..

they had riceland where they planted rice before. I think it is mostly in Westmoreland, Clarendon and a few other parishes. They tested 12 different brand with the help of jamaica broilers and got a rice reaping machine from China.

I heard that an entire speci of fish was destroyed because of drainage for rice production (in Westmoreland).

[When i was a kid, the river system in Little London, Big Bridge and adjoining areas-- in Westmoreland had a large amount of a little fish locall called gad-a-mi . The indians used to sell them to the folks in Sav-la mar. These fish are gone forever i was told]

Mangrove and other vital plants (useful) to that ecosystem have died off.....
                              Last edited by HL; January 20, 2011, 06:40 PM.