OCG protecting his "Value for Money"!

• OCG protecting his "Value for Money"!

CG recommends halting the sale of the Sandals Whithouse Hotel to GORSTEW Ltd.

Kingston; January 19, 2011; The Office of the Contractor General (OCG) has today written to Prime Minister,
    the Hon. Bruce Golding, and to the Permanent Secretary and Accounting Officer in the Office of the Prime
    Minister, Ms. Onika Miller, to formally recommend that urgent steps be taken to halt the Administration’s
    proposed sale of the Sandals Whitehouse Hotel to the Gordon ‘Butch’ Stewart owned and controlled Gorstew
    Limited. The OCG has also recommended that the Government should, thereafter, re-start the divestment
    process, and subject same to the transparent and structured scrutiny and supervision of the OCG.

The OCG’s recommendations have come on the heels of the completion of its evaluation of documentation,
    regarding the proposed sale, which was submitted to it by the Cabinet Secretary, on January 7, 2011, as well as
    its evaluation of the Statement on the matter which was made in Parliament by the Prime Minister on January 11,

The OCG, in its letter, has also formally advised the Prime Minister and the Permanent Secretary that the OCG
    would be commencing a Special Statutory Investigation into the circumstances which have so far attended the
    Government’s negotiations and discussions for the sale of the Hotel.

In giving its reasons for its considered recommendations and its decision to commence its Investigation,
    the OCG, in its 22-page letter, has outlined several issues which have raised serious questions and concerns
    of possible irregularity and impropriety in respect of the proposed deal. These include certain unexplained
    circumstances regarding the valuation of the Hotel, specified conditions precedent for the consummation of the
    proposed deal which were not satisfied although they were reported to have been dictated by the Prime Minister,
    as well as apparent opportunities which were presented to the Government to pursue alternate options for the sale
    or valuation of the hotel which were not acted upon. The OCG has also raised a number of issues and questions
    regarding the justifications which were given by the Prime Minister for the Government’s decision to proceed
    with the sale of the Hotel to Gorstew Limited.

The OCG is an Independent Anti-Corruption Commission of the Parliament of Jamaica, which has the exclusive
    statutory mandate, under Sections 4 (1) and 15 of the Contractor General Act, on behalf of the Parliament, to
    monitor and to investigate the award of Government contracts, inclusive of State asset divestment contracts, to
    ensure that they are awarded impartially and on merit, and in circumstances which do not involve impropriety or
    irregularity.

In the interest of public transparency, and acting under the special powers that are reserved to a Contractor
    General by Section 24 (1) (b) of the Contractor General Act, the OCG has also taken the decision to make its
    letter public.

Maudib? You have a response to this? Don1? There are some checks and balances it seems. How can the PM wriggle out of this one? Mosiah?

Originally posted by Exile View Post
      Maudib? You have a response to this? Don1? There are some checks and balances it seems. How can the PM wriggle out of this one? Mosiah?

"wriggle out " ... yuh serious Exile?

Originally posted by Exile View Post
        Mosiah?!?! Mi not coming back to Jamaica until Bruce gets his lying, corrupt self out of office. Das all me haffi say! Whitehouse a di least!

"Wriggle Out"? LOL! Is One Liad yuh ah talk?? Dat ah nuh nutten fi dat reprobate..

Please see Observer Editorial on the matter..

I did find the cost of building the hotel and the obvious genetic nature of the project and the attendant corruption, waste quite reprehensible..

I do not recall your thoughts on the matter...

"I trust Greg Christie and await his determinations an the Scandals Whitehouse issue" ...I recall words to that effect from you recently

Now yuh get Comrade Christie's initial & unfavorable determination...yuh default position woppy back to di Newsletta editorial...lol

Man fi fool...but nuh suh... yuh nuh tap trip up yuhself wid yuh fooliniss...yuh spin suh til yuh tun eediat...lol

I watched this man when he went after the PNP and at times thought he had an agenda. Now I see that he only believes in doing his job in a honest way (a rarity in JA). If JA had twenty as Christie in govt. this island would be a good place to live.

Mr.Christie I'm going to pray for you. Please make sure you have some security.

i hope yuh doan go back on your words. a same suh unnu use to cuss di JFJ when PNP was in power.

Nah go back pon Christie. Mi see him werk. If him call it mi ah back him. A very courageous man.

Yuh recollection is faulty...

I trust Christie to mek sure what happened during Black Man Time does not occur again.. wi cyaan allow di leggo beast behaviour...

So far so good..

Value for money..

What is faulty is your capacity for sense.... if you trust Christie as you claim you should fully support "the ventilation" of the secret dealings of One Liad ..not disingenuously refer to a self serving Newsletta editorial.

Mek Christie assure the public that more corruption is not occurring with public assets being transferred (sans tender) to powerful interests... with the public financing the giveaway..

Christie fi PM... One Liad ..retired..lol

What secret dealings are you talking bout ?

Secret from who ???

lol !!

secret til OCG buss it an put ah stoppage to dat...lol

Christie can recommend whatever him want..

Just like anybody else...

I hope a thorough investigation of the sale is conducted and any wrong doing or corruption punished to the fullest extend of the law and it is made manifest that said transaction was concluded in the best interest of the Jamaican Taxpayer..