Exile.. di Brown Man dem gone mad

• Exile.. di Brown Man dem gone mad

yuh need to send an urgent message to dem explaining the realities.. and the solutions..

"Tufton ruled out directly replacing the imported grains with local produce, noting that Jamaica does not possess the critical mass needed to grow corn and soybean.
    "The mass acreages that would be required is just not available to grow for commercial use - further processing for feedstock for example," stated Tufton, adding that "We'd have to grow corn on (land) the size of Jamaica to compete with those countries that grow the product...The challenge now becomes therefore whether we need to depend on corn so much for the basis of our feedstock."
    Tufton emphasisd that the latest development which threatens world food prices underscores the need for Jamaicans to embrace a "...more comprehensive food security programme where we can substitue on a wider scale imported food for local alternatives -- some direct replacement and (alternatives) in some instances."
    The agriculture minister said that Government has been doing alot over the last couple of years in this regards and has seen declines in the food import bill in terms of volumes. He noted that the administration in 2011 will focus on a number of crop areas where the country can have direct replacements both in terms of production and in terms of storage or value-added promotion.
    "For instance, we have a rice programme that we are very actively engaged in with a target of replacing 30 per cent of what we currently consume - we consume nearly 100,000 tonnes. That project is undergoing and we have secured along the value chain a number of the infrastructure, equipment, the rice growing lands, we have formed a rice growers association, we have a number of investors/farmers, we have the input suppliers and also the processors et al," said Tufton.
    Tufton said that rice is currently being grown on 500 to 600 acres of land, with the goal being 12,000 to 15,000 acres.
    He added that similar programmes are being employed with root crops, such as irish potato and onion."

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/busin...#ixzz1BU77TSWK

What are u talking about?? Did you really read my post???