• farmer's market!!!!

One-Day Farmers’ Market organized to ease glut

The Agriculture Ministry, in an effort to aid farmers faced with an oversupply of some crops, will be holding one-day markets, in several parishes.
    The ministry says the move should allow farmers to sell crops which they have in excess, to consumers.
    The One-Day Farmers’ Market will be held in six parishes, this Friday, January 21.
    The parishes are St. Ann, St. Mary, St. Catherine, St. Elizabeth, Clarendon, and Manchester.
    The Market will run from nine o’clock in the morning to five o’clock in the afternoon.
    At various centralized locations, farmers will provide members of the public with an opportunity to purchase a variety of crops such as sugar cane, yellow yam, sweet potato, plantain, escallion, thyme, pumpkin, carrot, lettuce, and tomato.
    Agriculture Minister, Dr. Christopher Tufton, says consumers will be able to purchase fresh, high-quality vegetables, at good prices.
    The One-Day Farmers’ Market is part of the ministry's initiative to encourage local consumption through the ‘Eat What We Grow and Grow What We Eat’ campaign.

i think this is a good idea... btw assasin, have you gone to the farmers market in ga... i usually go to the one in dekalb county... well thats the only one i've been to...

A short-term attempt at solution for a long term problem....production oriented marketing than the other way around...poor planning...poor distribution system...no or little value-added products....and the list goes on....
      Time to freeze, package, repackage and distribute the farm products...well some of them..

Look at the mentioned crops:
        sugar cane, yellow yam, sweet potato, plantain, escallion, thyme, pumpkin, carrot, lettuce, and tomato.

The short term solution does not imply the long term is not being implemented..

Looks like yuh too used tuh di PNP way...

Course change...

yeah, but still a good solution... those excesses should be heading to some plant for packaging...

btw, i just bought and ate aloe vera in a package... bwoy i neva know seh aloe vera cudda taste suh good... a dem ting deh jamaica fi get inna...

cant get enuff scotch bonnet pepper... mi hear seh it outta season... mi affi settle for the dried packaged scotch bonnet pepper... at least it was out of jamaica... we've got to find ways to increase our food production and be more efficient...

i do know that the long term solution is being implemented... it has been a little slow and i am not blaming the current govt... this has been something from the past admin...

nuh worry.. is Exile mi ah try heducate...

Him set pon nightmare mode....

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
                  i think this is a good idea... btw assasin, have you gone to the farmers market in ga... i usually go to the one in dekalb county... well thats the only one i've been to...

We live in that market - when I'm in Ga. Think there are 2 - original and a nedda one. what you doing in GA Baddaz

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
                    yeah, but still a good solution... those excesses should be heading to some plant for packaging...

btw, i just bought and ate aloe vera in a package... bwoy i neva know seh aloe vera cudda taste suh good... a dem ting deh jamaica fi get inna...

cant get enuff scotch bonnet pepper... mi hear seh it outta season... mi affi settle for the dried packaged scotch bonnet pepper... at least it was out of jamaica... we've got to find ways to increase our food production and be more efficient...
                    OK Baddaz - depending on my crop this year, I'll send you some scotch bonnet peppers. All you have to do is freeze them.

yeah man mi go a the dekalb one. The price right. More time a only there I can get ackee for 6.99 a can and them have jackfruit, breadfruit, good fish, yam and a whole heap more for very good price.

Them say the excess is because of the hurricane and the farmers replanted at the same time. I read where they say they are building processing plant to take care of some of the excess. We shoulda have more Ketup, jerk sause etc. Imagine we a import scotch bonnet and cassava.

Hope the farmers them make a money and the hotel them take some offa them. It is a good to see we can produce, now let us find use and more market.

maybe you can export some to Jamaica

Tell me when its all solved. Was there a PNP way?

Whoeeeeeeeeee

What is this long-term solution?