• Maroon and British Treaty

Where can I view a copy of this treaty?

Where in Africa does the Maroons came from?

ghana ... comorante/ashante/conakry. the features of the maroons i met up in maroon town are decidedly ashante!

So why they think they are better than the slaves the British took from Ghana?

you mean because of the terms of the treaty?

is this another "brown man Snydrome"?

Actually, if anything this would be the opposite of BMS.

But based on reasoning on the forum Black man nuh think them way deh unless them a roast breadfruit.

I have no idea whats in the Treaty, as I have never seen it, but based on stories such as this http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/weste...tonomy_8288186, and past stories.

I guess them think them "better" because they were brave enough to hold off the mighty British army.

Although I respect thier pride and history I have always had some issues with them. The main thing is how they would work for the British against other freedom fighters like Bogle.

Regarding thier autonomy, one of these days the govt should offer it to them with the condition that as non-citizens they will have to pay separate duties , taxes, etc to use the facilities that belong to the Jamaican taxpayers.

Originally posted by TDowl View Post
                    So why they think they are better than the slaves the British took from Ghana?
                    They make a deal with the British to return ex slaves who escaped after the treaty. That deal place them higher that slaves.

Most of us came from Ghana but we also came from other places in West Africa.