• PM urges Jamaicans to embrace new transport centre

PM urges Jamaicans to embrace new transport centre
    Opened in downtown Kingston this morning
    BY COREY ROBINSON Observer staff reporter robinsonc@jamaicaobserver.com
    Saturday, January 15, 2011

GOVERNMENT this morning officially opened the Downtown Municipal Transport Centre at Water Lane in Kingston, urging the cooperation of passengers utilising the facility.

“There are a lot of complaints and concerns regarding this centre; about distance, security, etc. But we Jamaicans tend to find a problem to every solution,” said Prime Minister Bruce Golfing, at this morning’s launch.

“What we are doing this morning is a significant advance in the rationalisation of public passenger transportation in downtown, Kingston. It is the first phase, and I want to stress that,” said Golding, urging public support in the venture.

Under the new transport system, only state-owned Jamaica Urban Transit Company (JUTC) buses will be allowed to terminate in Parade. The bus company's sub-franchise operators will terminate at Pechon Street, rural stage operators at Water Lane, Terminal 1, while route taxis will be accommodated at the Water Lane Taxi Park.

Eight shuttle buses will be provided to take passengers from the Transport Centre into the main commercial areas. These buses are scheduled to run every four minutes, Golding said.

He said special arrangements will also be made with the police to provide adequate security at the centre.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/lates...#ixzz1B8VA2QrG

Heh heh! The JLP's answer to the HWT Transport Centre

Maudib, what was the original completion date for this transport centre? This seems to have been almost 3 years late! That is about the time it took to plan and build the magnificent HWT Centre. Way to go, Bruce!

You need transport to take you to the transport centre!!! Can you imgaine going country and down there 7 pm..or after dark??? Remember when I use to have to go West Parade...after a while..it was plain stupid..so it was Half-way Tree and 3-mile (short time) then 6-mile.....student life was rough...who remember 'Penoverland' from KIN to Spanish Twn???

yuh mean the same HWT Centre that in problems because of incorrect power specifications ?

I would question the location tuh.. always second guess the PNP...

The JLP had ample to time to change the location. Not much work if any had begun when the JLP took office.

Is not ever Forumite live a farin, despite 5 flights!

What is wrong with the location ?

mi seh nutten wrang wid it? my problem was the construction schedule. unnu mek a big deal bout projects during the PNP years, so...

suh yuh tink di PNP termites dead suh easy ?

lol

JLP a di foolest RC dem jamaica eva see. Di man dem build a park wha cant even accommodate di big white pretty A/C JUTC bus dem. one a dem do a test drive inna di park nuh too long ago and it bend up, bend up like snake and nearly get stuck.