True

Di Judge Gamma di judge...di one whe use fi play TT with the initials IM.
      "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Re: "Would Deika Morrison (sorry, only public Campion female I know) make it to Campion and beyond if she was born in a garrison community?"

Answer: YES! It happens more frequently that you may imagine.

Congrats to Campion College!
        "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Originally posted by Me View Post
          The miss Jamaica (also a Dr.) from few years ago did come from over Portmore.

"The academic record was fair, not outstanding. We didn't necessarily get the brightest students," Reid recalled of the school when he joined. But it was under the leadership of John Mackay that its performance changed. "There was a very deliberate move to improve the curriculum under John Mackay, who took over as principal in 1977," said Reid.

The perception persists that Campion is a school for the wealthy, but Reid says that is changing. "I will admit that a large number of our students come from the upper class," he said. "But the fact is the profession with the largest number among the parents is the teaching profession. There are also many civil servants, police and nurses - and, certainly, you would not call them upper class," said Reid.

He says efforts are made by alumni and other parents to assist children in need with books and lunch. "It's all done discreetly, so nobody knows who is being assisted."

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...del-of-success
          McKay didn't have a problem sending his son to a good school, however.

Originally posted by Me View Post
            Okay. There are still enough other students at the same level as campion's intake that at least a couple other institutions should be doing a lot better. Maybe there are some lessons to be learned from Campion and maybe there are a lot of simple things, separate an aside from your social intervention/analysis, that can be done to increase production.

I have noticed JC has risen its standard significantly over the past few years with better planning and discipline from its leaders and the efforts of the past students.

Oh, mi notice you skip over the Miss Jamaica from Portmore .. LOL
            I hear the person most responsible for the positive changes at JC went to a good school. Is true?

yes...he went to JC... Danny Williams im name..LOL!

Ruel Reid ah di bomb still... kudos... ar is dat kiddoes??

Another thing Jamaican schools need is aggressive involvement of Alumni...this has proved to be tremendous force multiplier to improve schools...

When alumni just sit and yap from the sidelines...they only multiply hot air..

present company excepted perhaps
                Last edited by Don1; January 13, 2011, 11:45 PM.

yuh rejoice inna di termite's donation??...LOL!

Funny stuff!

JC is an interesting example from a different perspective..

Far from what it was back in the day JC now mirrors Jamaican society... with maybe 70% of students from very poor and working class homes, 30% middle class..

JC's intake is markedly different from Campion's and has been for at least a generation....but the school was also victimized by poor leadership and the withdrawal of support by alumni because of the social changes to the student body.

About 30% of the boys come to school hungry and there has to be a huge effort to feed them daily ...plus that cohort has big social problems at home or in their neighbourhood... basically inner city ghettos ... so there is another huge mentoring & social intervention effort...sometimes with alumni having to employ students or their parents to create household income

In most of Jamaica if schools don't have programs to take the place of what's dysfunctional at home they will fail.... so adopting a "Campion Model" is a simplistic & unrealistic approach which doesn't address the real Jamaican problem which is socio-economic... I don't believe Campion students have those problems at a significant scale.... individuals maybe.. generally no.
                      Last edited by Don1; January 14, 2011, 06:32 AM.

jus' cool nuh man?

standards were too high at campion!

you know what? Ghetto youths and country youths who go a Campion end up been "No longer a ghetto youth". The Stigma is that a pure rich youth go a Campion. Then at some stage of that person will either be a "sell out" or "roast breadfruit". Big up Campion because years to year them a do them thing. Others need to "falla" and stop "holla".

Missa Miss di Point pon di scene

Once di argument guh below di superficial...worries fi yuh...yuh brain get swamped

like wen di news buss likkle while bout big improvement in test scoring... unnu nuh look beneath di headline an si wat a gwaan...unnu reddy fi anoint politician as doing "a good job"..ongly fi fine out lata seh di ting neva amount to nutten much

yuh nah learn?
                              Last edited by Don1; January 14, 2011, 10:05 AM.

yeah man gwaan look pon di big picture and stay deh wait.